We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Ranked #124 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cheap hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great location with free parking, and less than 1 block from a metro station. It's a cheap hotel so it's run down and dirty. Beds are ok, and the sheets were clean and there were no bedbugs so at least you could get a decent night's sleep and spend the day sightseeing. Free wifi (but slow), and a very basic breakfast buffet to boot. Fridge, microwave and coffeemaker in the room, which is more than some of the higher end hotels offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxxMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    396
    346
    71
    56
See reviews for
228
370
80
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The guy on the counter was lovely and helpful with giving us directions. The room was nice... The only small issue we had was we never got a wake up call when we asked for one. But the ladies cleaning the room automatically changed the clock over for the end of daylight savings, so we weren't put out too much. Definitely recommending this place to other people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amzairly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jüri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hotel is with good location. Metro station is just 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Only thing that there is many hospitals around the hotel so on Friday night you could hear lots of sirens and helicopters.
Room was nice and comfortable and clean.
Breakfast was usual continental breakfast but good coffee and orange juice :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela_Aule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COOLUM BEACH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights, first time in LA, good location to Universal, hard to get to Disneyland, good location to Metro and Hollywood attractions, rooms where aged but spacious and clean, very comfortable for myself and 2 teenagers. Bathroom was large. Only downside was the hospital across the road, the Emergency is directly across the road and the sirens where constant some times, stopping just as they got to the ER. We didn't mind too much and it was kind of fun to time when they would stop. It did not stop us sleeping. Being in West Hollywood there are a lot of homeless people which was upsetting. One guy screamed at us one afternoon and this was very disturbing. Metro seems safe enough as is the bus but be prepared for all types of weirdo's especially down Sunset Blvd, I advise no walking down there at night. We caught the metro back about 8.30 from Universal and that was ok. Staff where friendly and help full.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank LEIGH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

First off we booked through Priceline, thought $63 for a 2 star hotel wasn't too bad,even though it said it was only a 14% savings. Once we got there though they refused to give us two beds without paying a $25 'upgrade' fee. Funny thing is that put the hotel price above the regular price. I've used priceline several times and never had a hotel refuse to give us two beds. At this point though I had two very hungry and tired newborns in the car and couldnt get a refund from priceline so I paid it. The room was very small, it smelled of bug spray and the beds were full size, instead of queen like most hotels but at least it seemed cleaned. We were exhausted so just crashed (as soon as the babies let us). That night we found a baby roach in the bathroom, but it was just one so wasn't a big deal but the next day we went to use the microwave and when we opened the door about 20 baby roaches scattered. Was completely disgusted and then when I looked down at my food they were crawling on it. We were going to stay till about 10 so that we could skip the traffic but about 8 the room started filling with cigarette smoke, I opened the door and no one was smoking outside so I'm guessing it came from next door. We started packing up and left asap, as I'm allergic to smoke and didnt want the girls to be exposed to it either. I spoke to the manager who just blew me off and made a complaint through priceline, who contacted them but they refused to give us a refund or even apologize.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank azbtrfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#44 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 2,059 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#113 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Saharan Motor Hotel
Saharan Motor Hotel
#187 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#73 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Hollywood
Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset

Property: Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Address: 1401 North Vermont Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90027-6023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset Hotel Los Angeles
Travelodge Los Angeles
Travel Lodge Los Angeles
Los Angeles Travelodge
Los Angeles Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing