We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,421)
Filter reviews
2,421 results
Traveler rating
1,383
869
135
25
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,383
869
135
25
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen breakfast lady dolby theatre great location rooftop garden chinese theatre separate kitchen converted apartment building universal studios the breakfast area secure parking dining table minute walk king suite metro station continental breakfast would definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 2,421 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2018 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Orchid Suites and it was perfect for our family. We had a room (more like a suite) on the third floor with a large living area, TV, dining table, open plan kitchen and king size bed. There was a separate bedroom with another king bed and TV, lots of wardrobe space, good aircon if needed or could keep windows open all night for fresh air. Rooms all very spacious which was great for life with teens.

Hot June days so it was great to come back to the sparkling pool. Also a nice rooftop garden which we didn’t use.

Handy ice dispenser in the building as well as $1.50 washing machine and dryer.

Special mention to Patricia who was a bright start to the day cheerily over-feeding us croissants & jam, coffee, fresh fruit and yogurt. A hit with the teens.

Everything so clean, yes a little dated, but authentic Hollywood. Super comfy beds and pillows. Super location for all the Hollywood stuff and easy to get metro to Santa Monica to hire bikes to ride to Venice ($7/hr) or quick 780 bus to Farmers Market, LACMA, Petersen Auto Museum etc. Patricia great on the transport tips. We needed an extra night - getting around LA takes time!

If you find chain hotels a bit soulless and samey - you’ll appreciate the personality and great customer service of Orchid Suites.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018

what this hotel lacks in grandeur and restaurant/ bar facilities it more than makes up for in a great location a minutes walk from hollywood boulevard plus very helpful staff and a great continental breakfast. the suites are a bit dated but clean and spacious and we're glad we picked this budget hotel over a supposedly superior hotel in a downtown location.

Room tip: all rooms overlook the pool and its very quiet there.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018

When I first saw the hotel I had some apprehension. From the looks of it, it doesn't look like a typical hotel. And it isn't. It's a converted apartment complex where the empty units were rented out for hotel use. The good thing is that they did a really good job at the conversion. The rooms are spacious and clean and have a kitchen and refrigerator. The continental breakfast has fresh items. And the staff are pretty friendly and nice. If you can get over the decor of the hotel, this is a great place to stay.

Pros: Conveniently located near Universal Studios.
Near restaurants and other tourist attractions.
Price

Cons: Dated decor.
Parking

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plana2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2018

The hotel staff was incredible friendly and helpful with us! They even remember our names.
The location is great, with lots of shops walking distance, and the Hollywood Boulevard just in the corner
The room has full equipped kitchen if you want to cook something home made, 2 comfortable King beds and one bathroom.
We want to make a special mention to the lady in charge of the breakfast, Patricia, really nice and worried that we were ok during our four nights stay. Bravo Patricia!!!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Silvina80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2018

Wonderful place, great staff, excellent location. The suite we were in was huge and clean and the kitchenette was well equipped. The AC units (it was quite warm that week) worked well. Adjacent to all the tourist spots in Hollywood, it is also convenient to the rest of LA by public transportation. We did not have a car the week we were there but had no problems walking (to Ralph's grocery store for example, .5 miles, or to Paramount Studios, about 2.5 miles) or taking the under-appreciated subway from the Hollywood/Highland stop and the extensive bus system. Also, a very nice breakfast is included. They even provide Vegemite for their Aussie guests. I tried it. An acquired taste for sure!

Date of stay: May 2018
3  Thank Ben13224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews