We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location & the most fantastic people.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Ranked #3 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location & the most fantastic people.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

This place is in a quiet street located right next to Hollywood and Highland centre.

The people here are the greatest staff members I have ever come across in my years of travelling. They actually really try and help you with any questions you have and will talk to you like you are family.

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in a King executive suite. Bed was extremely comfortable and had a kitchen. We stayed on the 3rd floor and felt very safe.
The place is not flashy to look at, but the staff here are phenominal.
I accidently left my Ipad in the room and only realized when we reached the airport to fly out.
I called up reception and there was no hesitation to check the room for me. On return message that they had found my Ipad, they shipped with a tracking number the very next day, home for me (at my expense of course, which I had absolutely no problem with) I actually received it yesterday back in Sydney, Australi all in one piece, cover and all.

I will recommend Hollywood Orchid Suites to anyone I know travelling to Hollywood.
I's located right next door to the train station which we rode the 1 stop to Universal Studio's and 8 stops to Staples Center for a whopping $1.50pp each way :)

If we every make it back to Hollywood, I will stay here in a heart beat.

If you want people to care about your experience and stay out of the huscle and buscle of big hotels, this is the place for you.

Free continental breaky with the most awesome lady Patricia. She was lovely.

Thank you Grace for sending me my Ipad back. I appreciate it more than you can understand.

This place for us Aussies was perfect in every way!!

Room Tip: A high floor room, not near the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Relaxer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    778
    124
    23
    9
See reviews for
937
568
94
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Bus and metro station are close by and very doable for getting around. So close to Dolby theatre and the Hollywood/Highland complex. The suites are clean, large, with a full kitchen and a balcony or patio. Free continental breakfast in morning and there is a pool. The only downside was loud footfalls from the floor above. I was on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Devon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I loved the location of this hotel, easy to get anywhere. Great open air 4 level shopping mall beside hotel & steps from Hollywood Blvd, which has lots of great restaurants. Breakfast was included and was adequate to start off your day. Front desk clerks very helpful. More of an "inn" than a hotel because it is small and quaint. I thought all rooms had a kitchenette, but ours didn't. We did have a little fridge & coffee maker though. The walls are thin, but the staff comes right up if there is a noise complaint (which we made on 2 nights) and the problem was resolved. There's a small pool but it was too cold outside to swim in when we were there. Would most definitely stay here again, no doubt about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a kitchenette specifically if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mermaid_22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

I arrived very late after major flight delays, so was cheered up by the welcome at check-in. My room was clean and spacious, the decor is dated but cleanliness is of much higher priority to me.

The location is perfect, especially for someone who knows the city and likes to use public transport, I felt safe around the area as it was well lit and there were always people around. I visited LA for a conference at the Dolby Theatre, and I'm sure I was the first person at the conference to get back to bed every night!

I've rated the sleep quality lower as I was on the ground floor and could hear a lot of noise from people walking around above me - it sounded like the occupants rearranged the room furniture every night at around midnight! So I would recommend a room on a higher floor. Also the bed was a little hard for my taste.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sapphire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I had gone to LA for a recent holiday and I really didn't know what to expect from Suites in Hollywood when me and my Girlfriend came to stay here. My first impression for the hotel was that it would be average as the price was decent keeping in mind the location it was in. But as we entered the lobby we were pleasantly surprised by what we found the receptionist , the staff were really friendly, the room that we stayed in looked a little old but was far more spacious than any average 3-star hotel room. The location is awesome given that the actual Hollywood hills were just closeby. Restaurants and attractions are really close. This hotel is great for anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HangoverPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Wondering why this 2 star accommodation is ranked #7 out of all the places in LA?

Simple. Location, staff and rooms.

This was our second stay here and the lovely lady at the desk remembered us from last time (2 years earlier)!

There is no better location in LA. The place is located right behind Hollywood Blvd yet is hidden away from the craziness. Walk through the Hollywood and Highland and you are instantly in the heart of the action.

The rooms are large and comfortable. We got an upgrade and had a full size kitchen, dining area, lounge, bathroom and 2 big beds!

All the staff here are lovely and helpful.
And there is an underground private, secure parking garage underneath.

Will definitely come back and stay here again. You should too!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. It is in a great location and I wasn't disappointed. Rooms are spacious and equipped with a kitchen, bathroom big enough and free wifi. Continental breakfast was included which had bagels, cereal, fruit, muffins, toast, coffee, juice more than enough to get you started. Staff are friendly and helpful. The main entrance has stairs to the foyer so you will need to carry your bags up a couple of steps and there is lift to access the floor of your room or if they are too heavy like mine they can be taken via the car park and in a lift. Hollywood boulevard is a couple of steps away, shops restaurants. This hotel may not be 5 stars or a modern hotel but I think it is one of the best places to stay in Hollywood. So give it a try you won't be disappointed after all you don't spend your holidays in the room.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackiesholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#1 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#10 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Property: Hollywood Orchid Suites
Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#18 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#42 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing