We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Definitely Return -- Great Location -- Charming place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Ranked #5 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I loved the location of this hotel, easy to get anywhere. Great open air 4 level shopping mall beside hotel & steps from Hollywood Blvd, which has lots of great restaurants. Breakfast was included and was adequate to start off your day. Front desk clerks very helpful. More of an "inn" than a hotel because it is small and quaint. I thought all rooms had a kitchenette, but ours didn't. We did have a little fridge & coffee maker though. The walls are thin, but the staff comes right up if there is a noise complaint (which we made on 2 nights) and the problem was resolved. There's a small pool but it was too cold outside to swim in when we were there. Would most definitely stay here again, no doubt about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a kitchenette specifically if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mermaid_22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

909 - 915 of 2,205 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

I arrived very late after major flight delays, so was cheered up by the welcome at check-in. My room was clean and spacious, the decor is dated but cleanliness is of much higher priority to me.

The location is perfect, especially for someone who knows the city and likes to use public transport, I felt safe around the area as it was well lit and there were always people around. I visited LA for a conference at the Dolby Theatre, and I'm sure I was the first person at the conference to get back to bed every night!

I've rated the sleep quality lower as I was on the ground floor and could hear a lot of noise from people walking around above me - it sounded like the occupants rearranged the room furniture every night at around midnight! So I would recommend a room on a higher floor. Also the bed was a little hard for my taste.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sapphire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I had gone to LA for a recent holiday and I really didn't know what to expect from Suites in Hollywood when me and my Girlfriend came to stay here. My first impression for the hotel was that it would be average as the price was decent keeping in mind the location it was in. But as we entered the lobby we were pleasantly surprised by what we found the receptionist , the staff were really friendly, the room that we stayed in looked a little old but was far more spacious than any average 3-star hotel room. The location is awesome given that the actual Hollywood hills were just closeby. Restaurants and attractions are really close. This hotel is great for anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HangoverPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Wondering why this 2 star accommodation is ranked #7 out of all the places in LA?

Simple. Location, staff and rooms.

This was our second stay here and the lovely lady at the desk remembered us from last time (2 years earlier)!

There is no better location in LA. The place is located right behind Hollywood Blvd yet is hidden away from the craziness. Walk through the Hollywood and Highland and you are instantly in the heart of the action.

The rooms are large and comfortable. We got an upgrade and had a full size kitchen, dining area, lounge, bathroom and 2 big beds!

All the staff here are lovely and helpful.
And there is an underground private, secure parking garage underneath.

Will definitely come back and stay here again. You should too!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. It is in a great location and I wasn't disappointed. Rooms are spacious and equipped with a kitchen, bathroom big enough and free wifi. Continental breakfast was included which had bagels, cereal, fruit, muffins, toast, coffee, juice more than enough to get you started. Staff are friendly and helpful. The main entrance has stairs to the foyer so you will need to carry your bags up a couple of steps and there is lift to access the floor of your room or if they are too heavy like mine they can be taken via the car park and in a lift. Hollywood boulevard is a couple of steps away, shops restaurants. This hotel may not be 5 stars or a modern hotel but I think it is one of the best places to stay in Hollywood. So give it a try you won't be disappointed after all you don't spend your holidays in the room.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Jackiesholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I am sooo happy we chose to stay here!! I was worried about trying to get a hotel close to the Walk of Fame and everything we wanted to see. I needed something not too expensive and clean and safe...parking was also important for my rental car. This hotel is everything I wanted and so much more! Sure it's not brand new, but it's clean! The staff is amazing, helpful friendly and attentive. From the front desk, to the maids to the wonderful woman who makes sure you have all you need during free breakfast. Breakfast included your choice of bagels, croissants, danish, oatmeal, yogurt. Orange juice, milk, hot tea and coffee! To those who complained about seating- they just added new tables and chairs outside. Really seating is not an issue at all...seating by the food, seating right outside, seating on the roof, seating by the pool and seating in your room!
When we first checked in (early) they accommodated us by giving us a room right away. We got room 309 which is at the end of a hallway...wonderfully quiet but not far from the elevator. Then the wonderful woman at the front desk showed us the quick path to the mall/hard rock cafe and straight out to Hollywood walk of fame....everything was amazing. Wasn't loud at all, and couldn't be happier with everything. I will be staying here again, wish I wasn't checking out tomorrow.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassysaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of a longer holiday on the west coast and agree with most other reviews that this hotel is fantastic value for money.

The breakfast was an added bonus and the location was excellent. Don't expect five star luxury, the rooms are a little dated and the walls really are very thin however the beds are comfortable, it's clean and the staff, especially the breakfast lady, are lovely.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiepWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,180 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,069 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,885 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#18 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $168 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing