We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect Hollywood location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Ranked #4 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“perfect Hollywood location”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This seems to be the place we stay in Hollywood. We pick it because of the price, the two bedroom rooms and the location.
Price : great for what you get. The only issue for us is the noise here. We only stayed one night this time so we could handle the early morning garbage trucks and neighbours, but for a longer stay we would be very tired and grumpy. The rooms are nothing flash but that doesn't worry us.
Location : Great in the heart of Hollywood. Close to all touristy things and metro.
Breakfast is nothing flash but enough so you can get on the go.
And finally a word about the staff, they are incredibly helpful, lovely people and could very well be the reason we keep returning here. Customer service counts a lot for us and these guys are good at it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMuggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    793
    126
    23
    9
See reviews for
968
585
97
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at Orchid Suites five nights and found the hotel staff extremely helpful and friendly. They helped us with advise on transport, tours and attractions. this is an older hotel but is well maintained, well equipped (we had a large room with a full kitchen) and the location could not be better, just a short walk to Hollywood Blvd.,and the Walk of Fame, Grauman's Chinese Theatre and the home of the Academy Awards, Dolby Theatre.
The Hollywood and Highland Mall is just through the car park next door.
The complementary breakfast was adequate and better than expected. We would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel, great value for money.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank LanieG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had a great stay here literally in the heart of Hollywood. Right next to the mall, theatres and the metro station. Staff were extremely helpful and lovely. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful for a typical American continental. Rooms are huge and fully self contained. King bed very comfortable. Only negative things could say is that the smoking outside the rooms wafts directly into your nonsmoking room. And it is not quiet with trucks delivering all hours to the mall. Having said that we def recommend this place and would stay again if returning.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2TravellingAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and upon arrival were upgraded to a suite at no extra cost. Our room was clean and spacious with a fully equipped kitchen. We also had a coffee machine in our room. It was mostly quiet except for the odd garbage truck early in the morning. The bed was huge and very comfortable. This hotel is right next to Hollywood Boulevard - you just walk through the mall to reach it. Everything is at your fingertips. The staff are very friendly and helped out with any tours we needed. Breakfast consisted of bagels, muffins, cereals, yogurts, juices, tea and coffee. There is limited secure parking under the hotel and only costs $10 p/n. I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay again if we return to LA.

Room Tip: If you want complete silence, maybe ask for a room at the rear of the motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandiC930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have just returned from my second stay at the Hollywood Orchid Suites. The location of the hotel is fantastic, just behind Hollywood & Highland Shopping Complex and the dolby theare. The staff could not have been more helpful always on hand to help with any queries we had. The rooms are a great size, as we were here for 10 nights it was great to have such a big space. I would highly recommend the Hollywood Orchid Suites to anyone looking to stay in the centre of Hollywood.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Had such an amazing stay at the Orchid Suites, great price, spacious rooms, friendly staff, great breakfast and a location that you cannot beat! Best thing about this hotel is Patricia, the lady who serves breakfast... what a friendly face to wake up to in the mornings :)

I would most definitely stay here again if I ever find myself in Los Angeles again (holding thumbs).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The staff is extremely friendly and really caters to the guests. I was most impressed by the lovely complimentary breakfast. It has everything you need to start your day and coffee and hot water for tea or hot chocolate is available all day.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, but could use an update. Water pressure was a little low which made washing the shampoo out of your hair a bit of a challenge. The plus side to the rooms are that they are apartment style. It is nice to have a large refrigerator, breakfast bar, and a table to eat on plus plenty of additional space.

Other reviewers have commented on the thin walls and this is very true! I thought it couldn't be as bad as some reviewers described, but it was on one night out of our 3 night stay. Be prepared for thin walls and pray for a quiet neighbor.

However, for the cost of the hotel and the phenomenal location the Orchid Suites cannot be beat. You are a 2 minute walk to the red line metro and the middle of Hollywood Blvd. You can count on a clean room, friendly service, and an easy walk to Hollywood Blvd. I would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor so you don't hear anyone above you walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hayley724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,040 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,574 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#21 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,112 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#43 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,449 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Property: Hollywood Orchid Suites
Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#18 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing