We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Ranked #5 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is well located for public transport although there is a small garage if driving. It is just around the corner from the subway station which links the area to the main LA train station in Union Square and really close to a number of bus stops to get to places such as the Getty Centre, Santa Monica etc if like us you decide not to drive while on holiday. The lovely lady on reception had a cold glass of water for us when we arrived and arranged for the air conditioning to be on in our room as temperatures were over 100f (40c) and she could not be more helpful with information about how to get places, opening times etc.The room set out was perfect for us as we walked into a sitting room with kitchen area and dining table and chairs. It was a fully equipped kitchen with crockery, cutlery, glasses etc and good sized fridge/freezer, cooker and microwave. So much better than the usual microwave only. The bedroom was at the back separated by a hallway with cupboards. and the bathroom was separate again. This meant when one of us was tired they could go to bed without being disturbed by the other in the sitting room. The pool is very small but at least there is a pool and there is a rooftop terrace which has no real view but is available to relax in and eat. The breakfast was limited but perfectly edible although the dining area is small however you can also eat in your room, on the roof top or at the small patio at the front. The area is not an attractive part of town but it feels fairly safe and the hotel is close to the Dolby Theatre (think Oscars), the viewing area for the Hollywood sign, Graumans Chinese theatre (actually a cinema where many of the Hollywood films are premiered) Hollywood walk of fame etc. It is very busy even quite late at night. Having said that the hotel is tucked around the corner so it does not suffer from noise from street activity. This is not a pretty building.. The décor inside the hotel is really quite old fashioned and dated which at first sight can be a bit off putting considering the rave reviews the hotel gets but the beds are comfortable, the water pressure for the shower is good, the staff are lovely and one gets an awful lot of space and facilities for the price. If you want to stay somewhere luxurious and pretty in a lovely part of LA this is not the place but for someone wanting to be in the heart of Hollywood action, near public transport with comfort and good facilities this hotel is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanB5119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 2,298 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in september 2013 in was really happy with this hotel,
it's location is really great, right at hollywood, behind the dolby theatre and next to the subway station. excellent place.

The rooms are super cheat and you get so much,
huge bedroom, a lot of place for you things and clothes, a full kitchen with a fridge, microwave, freezer, toaster, dishwasher and kitchen tables and chairs - just amazing what you get at 100$ for a night.

oh and there is a pool too, though I didn't had time to you use it, I was always out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evyatar Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hollywood Orchid Suites on Aug. 21 through the 24th, 2013.
I chose it from reviews on Tripadvisor and Hotels.com. It may look a little dated and be a little threadbare around the edges but it is very clean, secure and quiet with a pleasant and helpful staff.
We arrived at about 11:15 AM way before check in and Marlo at the desk was very courteous and efficient helping us to stash our bags behind the desk, getting us tap cards,( Transit Access Passes), for the bus and subway and telling us where a tourist info booth and grocery store were on Hollywood Blvd. so we could get a bus map and supplies for our room.
To kill time till check in we went to the Water Grill downtown on Grand between 6th and 5th. If you like oysters and beer you gotta check it out, a little pricey but A-one quality. Because of the Orchid Suites location it is dead easy to get around by public transport. To get to the Water Grill you just go to the Hollywood/Highland subway stop around the corner and with your newly minted from the front desk tap card hop on the red line about 4 stops to 7th St. Metro Center then another 3min. walk and you're there.
We did not take advantage of the complimentary breakfast as we were usually up and out before they started serving which is why the kitchen was key for us. The grocery store is in a sunken mini mall on Hollywood between N. Orange Dr. and N. Sycamore Ave.just past Madam Tussauds, to avoid fighting your way through the crowds on Hollywood Blvd. take the shortcut from the hotel. Go out the front door turn right and follow the driveway/ally to N. Orange then left to Hollywood and then right halfway down the block. Don't take the shortcut at night it is probably too dark to be safe. The store is called Fresh and Easy and one of the added bonuses is that the courtyard of the mini mall is where the photo hustlers from in front of the Chinese Theater take their breaks. So you could see Jack Sparrow and Snow white having a cup of coffee with a Transformer dude and Spiderman.
Our room, a Deluxe King Suite, was #103, the first room past the lobby by the pool. The main room has a large living room area w/wide screen TV, a smallish,( small for 4 good for 2 ), dinning table and a good size galley style kitchen with a open pass through counter to the living room. The appliances are full size, clean and worked without a hitch, except for the iron, don't use it, it just spit water all over, no steam.
The bedroom with king bed has miles of closet space and room to walk around the bed. The bathroom is a little tight and dated but everything worked well, was clean and there was plenty of hot water.
On our last night there we stayed in, had leftovers, (from the Sky Bar in W. Hollywood, pretty good, pricey, Off Vine, off Vine St. below Sunset, you gotta have the dessert souffle's and Musso and Frank Grill, a short walk or bus ride down Hollywood Blvd., Fantastic! ), and made sandwiches in the kitchen out of our steaks from Musso's for the next days plane ride and airport layovers. A cutting board is supplied with the other kitchen supplies but unfortunately no dish towels and the large kitchen knives were as dull as a stick.
Pay attention to the laundry machines. When we were there the washer on the right hand side that we set for cold washed our clothes in screaming hot water, fortunately nothing shrank. The dryers however were controllable and worked fine.
Now that you've slogged through this review the bottom line is:
If you want to be able to cook some of your own meals.
Be able to pack clean clothes in your bag when you leave.
Be centrally located with public transport and a Hop On Hop Off right around the corner.
Have a clean quiet place to relax after the Dodger game even with kids enjoying the pool right outside.
Be able to check in and print up boarding passes on the house computer and printer for the next leg of your journey.
All without paying an arm and a leg.
Even with the glitches I mentioned The Orchid Suites Hotel is a great spot to stay in LA.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oepinusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here in August with two 9 year olds. Felt very safe even though just off the main block. Kids had a blast in the pool and we the location is so convenient to everything. We did not need to drive anywhere.
Staff was helpful, rooms were large. Having the second room made it nice for the kids to go to bed and Mom and Dad to stay up for awhile to unwind. A little dated but for the price, convenience and location it can't be beat. I did alot of research having never been to Hollywood and was very happy with our choice. Beds were comfortable. Room was clean. Might be nice to have a little different choice on a few mornings in the breakfast choices-it was exactly the same each day. After 3 mornings of it it was pretty boring and even though free we ate out for breakfast the last day. But everything was fresh and good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robinblev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel has everything you could want, great location next to Hollywood Highland, close to public transport, free continental breakfast and wifi, coin operated laundry, big rooms, full kitchen, safe and secure, quiet, heated pool, helpful staff, very clean and reasonably priced what more could you want!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherelleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I, along with our children and grand children, stayed at the Orchid Suites in late August. We had two suites and while they were older style, they had plenty of room and some really good amenities, such as the self-catering kitchen area with a full size fridge available to the guests and, in our case, a small dining area. The breakfast area was small but the continental-style breakfast was set out in a very practical way and if there were not enough tables and chairs in the area, you could take things back to your own room.
One major benefit for us was the undercroft parking for our medium-size SUV, the ease of access from a quiet street but with immediate access to the freeway network and all major roads in the area.
We can only agree with other comments relating to the great location of the suites and the frindliness and helpfullness of the staff. We will stay at the Hollywood Orchid Suites again and would thoroughly recommend them for a family holiday in Hollywood.

Room Tip: Our room faced the road at the front but was quiet and had excellent natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fresco09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We were upgraded to a King Suite in the Hollywood Orchid Suites and were delighted with our room. Everything was spotless and it was great having a kitchen and living room to chill out in after a hectic day.

The staff were great. The man who checked us in was very nice and helpful and congratulated us on our marriage. The hotel had left a bottle of wine and a card in our room too which was so thoughtful. The woman at breakfast was hilarious, the selection was of a few pastries and cereal which we normally wouldn't get up for but since she was such good fun we made the effort every day.

Location wise it is fantastic if you're in LA to visit Hollywood. The rear of the Dolby theatre is literally right in front the hotel and all the hotspots of Hollywood Boulevard are minutes away. We didn't realise how tacky Hollywood would be so if we were to visit LA again I think we'd stay in Venice or Los Feliz but I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Hollywood!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funyoungIrishcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 358 in Los Angeles
2,199 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#3 of 358 in Los Angeles
3,184 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 358 in Los Angeles
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#21 of 358 in Los Angeles
3,963 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Kimpton Everly Hotel
Kimpton Everly Hotel
#1 of 358 in Los Angeles
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $187 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing