We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Option in LA! (price & value)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Ranked #3 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Option in LA! (price & value)”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Orchid is one of the best option (in term of price & value) to stay in LA in Hollywood Blvd Zone. Great location, near Dolby Theatre and the walk of fame. The hotel staff is warm and friendly. The Orchid Include free wifi, a generous continental breakfast. and indoor parking. (3 facilities not so common in Los angeles). The rooms are large and spacious. (some include a complete kitchen). I recommend it and would return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guille253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    793
    127
    23
    9
See reviews for
969
585
97
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The lack of a real lobby took us by surprise, but we were not disappointed. Huge and comfy king sized beds (one in a separate bedroom). Complete kitchen (microwave, toaster, oven).

Free continental breakfast every morning to start our day. We loved the croissants, the nutty chocolate muffin, apples, fruit juices, and the mexican lady who pampered us. The front desk people were very friendly and helpful.

And the location can't be beat--just a few minutes walk to the most touristy part of Hollywood--the Chinese theater/Dolby Theater/the walk of fame area which is the starting point of most LA tours.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budget T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The staff was by far the friendliest that I have met among hotel staff anywhere, constantly offering their assistance in any which way. I had some problems with the wifi though, but the manager told me that they are in the process of improving that too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you're choosing a hotel right next to Hollywood Blvd, you're not expecting too much and especially not good service. Boy, we were wrong...

If you arrive by car, the location looks a bit awkward as the hotel entrance is right next to the service entrance of the Kodak Theatre. The hotel is quite old but very well kept.

We travelled through California for 3 weeks and the staff at Hollywood Orchid Suites was by far the most friendly and helpful of all the hotels we stayed at, not something you would expect from a location like that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithaca,ny
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was my fourth year in a row visiting Hollywood for the TCM Film Fest, again staying at Orchid Suites.
As before, the rooms are comfortable, large and VERY well-kept. I can't say enough good things about the staff. From Front Desk reception to housekeeping, all seem happy with their jobs and that makes for a good atmosphere. Everyone is very helpful and accommodating. My only tiny complaint: At booking (four months advance), I asked for a specific room. On arrival, that room was not available. I was given a room that was fine, but not quite what I was expecting.
A plus: The desk attendant recognized me upon entry and greeted me by name. It felt nice to be recognized.
You can't get a better location in Hollywood....literally steps from the Hollywood and Highland Center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gotarheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very rarely do you come across accommodation that is the whole package. Hollywood Orchid Suites is one of those rare places that has location,quality and outstanding service. From our experience all the positive comments on TripAdvisor are thoroughly deserved.
From check in to check out our stay could not be faulted.
Everyone at reception was professional. friendly and helpful. Adam in particular was very forthcoming with good advice and assistance to make sure our stay was a pleasant one.
While unassuming from the outside the interior of the Orchid Suites is homely and well maintained. Our room was very spacious, spotlessly clean and well appointed. It was great having an apartment rather than just a hotel room. While we ate at the many restaurants nearby it was good

to have the extra space . Breakfast was exactly as described - a light continental - more than adequate.
The facilities like the pool ,rooftop garden and laundry were excellent. The whole place felt cared for and as guests we felt the same way.
As for the location you can't get any better than this. Famous landmarks, the hop on/hop off bus,shopping,liquor store,restaurants and eateries ,taxi rank, metro station all just a short walk away. We experienced all the glitz and glamour of Hollywood but at the end of the day we could retire to a quiet, restful home away from home. Couldn't have wished for a better stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoonyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I come to Hollywood every year and have stayed at this hotel for four years in a row. When I arrived, the front desk person called out "welcome back Mr. H....." even before I got to the desk. It is this kind of attention to detail. If you have any issue, someone is right on the scene. The rooms are large, very clean and a joy to visit. Full kitchens, comfortable beds and cable TV. And an incredibly close location to all the attractions, theaters, restaurants. Very nice breakfast is included and one can bring either to your room or have it on their roof top garden.

Room Tip: It is an old structure, evidetly a converted apartment house, so the walls are thin. I have never ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveMartin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,040 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,577 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,113 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#43 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,449 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Property: Hollywood Orchid Suites
Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#18 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing