We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Orchid Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Ranked #4 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I booked this accommodation based on the cost, location and the positive trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed, the location is excellent for all of the Hollywood attractions and just a short drive from Universal Studios. Secure parking is available at a reasonable rate. The rooms are a bit tired but are comfortable and a very decent size. We enjoyed using the pool which has some loungers around it for relaxing. Breakfast is supplied in a communal area and you can have it there or take it back to your own room if you would prefer, we enjoyed meeting some of the other guests. There is no noise from outside but you can hear the people in the next room and above you, I would recommend asking for a room on the top floor, that said the noise did not carry on late and we were up early to enjoy our visit. Have already recommended this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top level would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    722
    118
    23
    9
See reviews for
795
506
83
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Northern Territory
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently at the start and again at end of a trip to the USA. The hotel location is excellent for access to Grauman's, the Hollywood/Highland shopping centre and other major attractions. The rooms are clean and very spacious - both of the rooms we stayed in had two queen beds and a full kitchen. Staff are friendly and accommodating and the included breakfast (breads, pastries etc) was fine. It is possible to sometimes hear a little bit of noise from other rooms (so light very sleepers might like to bring ear plugs) but this mostly stopped in the evenings/night.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank hapitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just wanted to add a word..... we actually cancelled our original hotel reservations elsewhere so that we could stay here. After reading the reviews of others who have stayed before, we decided to try it out. Well, must say, we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very spacious, huge king size beds and a fully equipped kitchen. We totally agree and would echo saying that this is such a nice treat - to be so centrally located and yet 'quiet' enough to have a good night sleep, Will definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to visit Hollywood.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wyy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I picked the Hollywood Orchid due to it's location and the reviews I found online. I knew nothing else about it. When we pulled up, I was quite frankly uneasy and unhappy because this hotel looks BAD from the street. BUT, after our check-in things were great. The security is good, and the location could not be better. It appears to be an old apartment complex that has been converted into a hotel. Our room was extremely large and very clean, but it was a little dated. The staff was absolutely wonderful - friendly and helpful. The undergound parking was nice and secure. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LexKymom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Central location behind The Dolby Theater and half a block away from the Metro station. Easy access from LAX. We enjoyed staying right in Hollywood and doing all the kitschy tourist things. Pool is heated. Our suite was a former 1 BR apartment w/ king beds. Continental breakfast just so-so but enough to get your day started. Only drawback as others have pointed out is the noise. We had loud talking squealing girls next door at 3 am - called the office and they addressed it immediately. The apartment building next door had some loud tenants talking outside that woke us up a few times since we had the windows open - too bad because the hotel is in an otherwise quiet spot.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you're a first time visitor to LA and you want to do the Chinese Theatre, footprints, Hollywood Boulevard thing, you simply couldn't get a better location than here. All those are literally round the corner. The Hollywood Bowl is also walkable and so it makes a brilliant base if you're attending a concert. There are other more expensive hotels on the road to the Bowl, but this was just great. I think it was a 20 minute walk there - but perfectly doable. Staff were good - breakfast wasn't great - but the price was good and the location simply unbeatable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zippitydoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The location is very centrally located and right behind the Lowe's Convention Center/Hotel in Hollywood. The Orchid itself is very unattractive from the outside, but the convenience and security features compensate. Unfortunately, there is scant soundproofing. A family with small children checked into the room above us well after we were in bed and made a terrible racket, with children using the bed as a trampoline and jumping onto the floor. I called the manager at 1:30, and he called the room, to no avail. At 2 AM, I called again, and the manager said he would go up to the room. By 2:30, it was finally quiet, and I could get some sleep, but very little, since we had to leave for a conference at 7:30 AM. (This was another problem, as the breakfast room didn't open until 7:30, so we grabbed some food and ran.) The breakfast offerings were skimpy, and you won't find any protein. The addition of hard-boiled eggs would be most welcome. The staff was very helpful and courteous, and we did get a discount on checkout and apologies for the noise above our room, even though it was not the fault of the management. (We did suggest that families be put on the first floor in the future, as there is nothing to absorb noise in the walls or floors. We did find out that the family that checked in late at night flew in from Asia, which is why the children were so rambunctious that late in the night.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor if you want any peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WinstonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,805 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#15 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 1,900 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#16 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,288 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#42 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 2,068 reviews
Central L.A
Elan Hotel Los Angeles
Elan Hotel Los Angeles
#5 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Property: Hollywood Orchid Suites
Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#43 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing