We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Price and Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Orchid Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Ranked #3 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Price and Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Feb. We were greeted by pleasant staff and the check in was efficient and fast. The room was large and clean. It was very dated and the beds are not the best. The showers barely worked and took about 5 minutes to heat up and almost no water came out. The hotel is in a great location with a lot of dining options close by. The breakfast was a great surprise. It was basic with bagels, muffins cereal and fresh fruit. It was perfect after eating so many heavy american breakfasts. Overall for the price it is excellent value and the owners obviously pride themselves on their customer service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmess_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    748
    120
    23
    9
See reviews for
860
545
86
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
239 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I chose this hotel after reading the reviews and I have to say, I was not disappointed. Booked a deluxe suite and almost got a sizeable apartment with a living room (consisting of a sofa bed), kitchen and a master bedroom with king size bed. The hotel is a bit dated and has a motel like feel with most rooms opening into a central balcony, overlooking a pool. But everything is neat and clean. The staff make you feel very welcome. They have a modest breakfast included in the price (cereals, croissants, muffins, bagels, fruit). The lady who attends on the patron during breakfast is very good and goes out of her way to make sure you have everything you need. Although the breakfast area is small and occupies the mezzanine over the reception, you can simply take the tray back to our room and have it there, which is also quite convenient. The best part of the hotel is the location. Located exactly behind Kodak Theatre and Chinese Theatre, it is in a quiet cul-de-sac. If you just walk through the Hollywood Highland Centre, you are in the centre of the hustle and bustle of Hollywood Boulevard but at the same time, away from the noise of the street when in your room. For the price, we got a great deal and so would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tushar_pai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus, AM
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel ir great because of the location. Many restaurants and attractions in a walking distance. The breakfast do not have a large variety of food, but what they offer is good. There are only four tables and the service is nice. We were charged $10/day for the parking, but it is very safe and organized. The room is clean, spacious and confortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palomass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
198 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a remarkable hotel nestled in behind the Dolby Theatre. The staff are fantastic. They are friendly, informative and helpful to make you feel special. Everyone that works there is great including all the front desk staff and especially the lady that prepares the breakfast (which has everything you need to start your day.The rooms are surprisingly large with comfortable beds. The pool was warm and clean. There is a nice rooftop terrace for sun tanning. I would highly recomend this hotel if you want to be very close but not on Hollywood boulevard.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are more quiet but all are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caml77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at this great hotel in December 2012 for 6 nights. We were a family of 5 so we needed a room big enough for all of us. We had a family room on the second floor which gave us three bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen and a kitchenette and enough room for all of us to move around. The breakfast that they offer is quite basic with cereal, bagels, toast, jam and cream cheese, fruit juice and tea and coffee. You have the option of eating in the breakfast area which is quite small and only has a few tables but we met some other lovely travellers who were more than happy to share their table with you. You could also take your breakfast upstairs to the top level where there was a rooftop garden with tables or take the food back to your room. Patricia, the lovely lady who looked after breakfast was very nice and even offered to cook your toast for you and bring it to the table. Nothing was too much trouble for her.

The staff that worked behind the Reception desk were fantastic and so knowledgable about the area. It was no trouble for them to organise tours and to give you information how to get around.

The hotel is located in Orchid Ave and is right behind the Dolby Theatre where the Oscars are held and just a few steps to The Chinese Theatre. We walked through an alley way into the back of a shopping arcade with little stalls and some restaurants and down the steps onto Hollywood Bvd and The Walk of Fame with all of the Stars. A fantastic location and so close to all of the action.

We went to Universal Studios from here and caught the train which has a station on Hollywood Bvd. It cost us $1.50 each way and $1.00 to buy our tap card. Universal is only one stop away from where we were staying and then you walk across the road to the shuttle bus which takes you to the front gate.

We hired a car from the Budget car rental shop on Hollywood Bvd which alowed us to have a bit more freedom which is handy in Hollywood so you can get out to see the other sights of the area.

This hotel is not a 5 star hotel but is clean and comfortable, in a fantastic location, good value for money and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone travelling to Hollywood.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SampaiJumpaLagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville, ky
Level Contributor
153 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

My daughter and I spent 2 nights at Orchid Suites and were extremely satisfied with this property. I'm not sure about all of the rooms, but ours was huge, came with a complete kitchen, and a terrace. The complimentary breakfast was simple, but a nice start to the day. The location was excellent, right off of Highland and Hollywood, near the Grauman Chinese Theater, with the metro less than 1/2 block away. The best part: the room rate was so reasonable!
The staff was awesome, very friendly and helpful. They all went out of their way, ie. googling directions, asking my daughter if she wanted chocolate muffins and making a special trip to get them...and all with smiles on their faces like it was a pleasure to be of service! Ali, front desk rep., definitely stood out! He went above and beyond to be of assistance to me; what a great guy!
Note to hotel management: Where did you find such a great staff? Make sure that you hang on to them!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

My mum and I shared an apartment at the Orchid Suites in June 2012 and we really liked the amenities and proximity of this hotel to everything Hollywood for the price we paid. The rooms were large and cleaned daily, the swimming is a bonus for hot days and the breakfast gives a good start to the day. The hotel staff were also very friendly and assisted with our tour reservations and made life much easier for out of towners like us. One of the best things is the convenience of this hotel to the Hollywood attraction - located right behind the Dolby Theatre (former Kodak Theatre) it is easy to catch public transport, walk the hollywood walk of fame and see local attractions such as the wax museum, hop on hop off bus, the Grauman's theatres and so much more. We looked at a lot of hotels in Hollywood before settling on Orchid Suites - glad we found it. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExpatinIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#45 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Property: Hollywood Orchid Suites
Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#42 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing