We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location for a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Ranked #4 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic location for a great price”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our family of four (two adults, two late teenagers) spent a week here in two rooms on the top floor (of three floors). This was our base for sightseeing LA, after a few days at Annaheim and a day trip to San Deigo. The location is perfect for Universal Studios, Hollywood boulevard, and is close enough to downtown LA, Beverly Hills and Santa Monica, Getty Museum for trips further afield (we had a hire car for our time in LA, which we would recommend).

The suites were clean, very roomy and well appointed, if a little dated, with good sized kitchens if you want to prepare your own food. The walls are thin, and you'll probably hear your neighbours from time to time. The wifi is a little irregular in the rooms and in some spots you couldn't connect. Car parking is underground (access via a lift from your floor) and was US$10 per day. Check-in and service during our stay was outstanding - very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is great: croissants, bagels, spreads, fresh fruit, coffee, juices, cereals and came with very friendly service.

The hotel is two minutes walk from the Chinese Theatre, Dolby Theatre, Hard Rock Cafe, and everything the Boulevard has to offer (which might not be as glamorous as you expect Hollywood to be, compared to Rodeo Drive and Santa Monica).

We would definitely recommend Orchid Suites for those wanting a base in central Hollywood.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwisInCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,190
    801
    127
    23
    9
See reviews for
985
591
97
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Upon arrival the room was not ready, but for good reason as they were changing all of the drapes and that gave the room a nice fresh feel.

The rooms are spacious and well appointed, this is not a ritzy 5 star place, its just very comfortable and very clean.

The staff are very friendly and very helpful, the location is as close to the tourist sites as you would want to be. We had a car, so our trip to Universal Studios was easy and fast.

The breakfast is basic, but that's all you want.

Overall I would say this is the place to stay, no exceptions. The price, the rooms, the location is a good mix of value and quality.

Room Tip: Perhaps try the rooms on top, as the footsteps on the walkway tends to echo down below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, it is a very secure hotel as you have to be buzzed in like a apartment building when returning to hotel and you are always greeted by staff, This hotel is close to shopping, dining and hollywood blvd, it is very quiet and the most noise I heard was from the trucks that are delivering to the loading docks adjacent to the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Hollywood as the rooms were huge, free breakfest etc

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We paid roughly 1000 for 6 nights (Feb. '13).

You CAN NOT get that anywhere unless you're stuck in the boonies. On top of that, the large suite was fresh, clean, albeit, not blessed with great sight lines. That's okay, unless you fancy being stuck in your suite all day long.

People, save the money you'd ordinarily pay and put it in your child's college fund - or that next trip.

Orchid Suites? You truly surprised me!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank m66m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Arrived just after 3pm to be informed that they'd given us a free room upgrade. I still have no idea why we received this upgrade but it was a fantastic surprise! The room was huge! It had its own kitchen and living area, bathroom and bedroom. It was very comfortable.
Initially I wasn't sure how to get to Hollywood Boulevard so I asked the staff for directions. It was so close you could actually see it from the hotel! It was right next to the Hollywood and Highland Shopping Centre too. Absolutely perfect.
Breakfast was small but adequate. It was enough to get us started for the day. Another bonus was that the hotel was very close to the train and bus stations. The staff at the reception were fantastic. They were always more than happy to help us out with directions. They made it very easy to catch the train to Universal Studios and the bus to The Grove.
The hotel also has washing machines and vending machines down stairs which is very helpful for people on long holidays.
All of this for a very affordable price. This is the perfect hotel for people looking for location over luxury. Rooms are still perfect to stay in and the location and price is perfect. Would absolutely stay here again the next time I come to Hollywood. Thankyou!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniellemonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is without doubt the best value for money hotel in Hollywood for a family of 4 including 2 teenage daughters. The rooms are large with full kitchen facilities, the free breakfast is a great way to start the day and the location is as close to all Hollywood has to offer as any hotel in the area. Don't let the age of the hotel set you off as they are comfortable enough to enjoy and you don't spend all day in the room anyway. Thanks again to all the staff for a great stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ont
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A week back from a 5 day trip to Hollywood and our stay at the Hollywood Orchid Suites hotel. From the moment we arrived, we were treated with well organized, extremely polite staff, very clean rooms and a delicious continental breakfast. If you are traveling to Hollywood and want the most affordable, clean and convenient location, we recommend a stay at the Hollywood Orchid Suites Hotel. Big thanks to the desk staff (especially Adam) for all their recommendations on places to eat, sites to see, how to travel around Hollywood and the best place to shop and get groceries. Your made our stay safe and memorable. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarshe62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,674 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,056 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,132 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#46 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,485 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 350 in Los Angeles
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Property: Hollywood Orchid Suites
Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing