We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Nearby Hotels
Loews Hollywood Hotel(Los Angeles)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $393/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
$345
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The LINE(Los Angeles)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$252
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $284/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Westin Los Angeles Airport(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
$159
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$151
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$124
$107
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $410/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$186
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $269/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,338)
Filter reviews
2,338 results
Traveler rating
1,326
847
132
24
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,326
847
132
24
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenbreakfast ladykodak theatregreat locationrooftop gardenchinese theatreseparate kitchenconverted apartment buildinguniversal studiosthe breakfast areasecure parkingdining tableminute walkking suitemetro stationcontinental breakfaststayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
1,272 - 1,277 of 2,338 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed at Hollywood Orchid Suites from 22-25 Dec 2012 (USD129 per night before taxes for a deluxe King suite with a kitchen). The location is very convenient for someone who did not drive - the metro (Hollywood/Highland) and bus station were close - 5 mins walk and it is at the back of the Hollywood and Highland Mall, so within walking distance to the touristy spots - El Capitan, Dolby Theatre, Hollywood Walk of fame etc.

The price for the room is very reasonable for the location, size of room with kitchen and continental breakfast.

However, you should be aware that the place is very, very dated. Room is pretty old and so are the amenities - items such as the stove, oven, bedding, towels, carpet etc are pretty much from a blast from the past (the kettle and cups in my room are kind of grimy). Bed and pillows are very soft but adequately OK for sleep.

Service is slightly above average and the lady whom does the breakfast is very friendly.
If you want good location and do not mind the quality, it is a good value for your $.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Location: a minute from Hollywood blvd, cut through the back of Lowe's for the fastest route to Hollywood blvd.
Room: We had a 2 double bed room. Spacious but very very dated. But we knew that going in. Two flat screens, huge kitchen that had fridge, microwave, stove, oven, and full range of cutlery. Basically a two room apartment.
Bathroom: Very old and dated. But clean and good house cleaning.
Amenities: Free wifi, breakfast buffet. Nothing special but a bagel and cream cheese for breakfast isn't bad.
Services: Conierge was helpful. To get into the hotel you have to go up a flight of steps, and there are no bellhops.

This place has a great location, it's cheap and it's clean. If that what you need (like us) then the place is perfect. Just be realistic with the price you're paying for the location you're getting. Don't expect this to be a flashy hotel. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank MGDL1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We have stayed in another hotel in Orchid avenue and decided to try this one instead, based on reviews. We weren't disappointed. This hotel has an excellent location. It's right behind Hollywood and Highland Centre as well as being close to buses on Hollywood Blvd and the Metro line. Staff are excellent and will help you with as much info as they can.
Rooms and clean and tidy. The breakfast supplied is very good with everything you need for your start to the day. The dining area is small but you can easily take your selection back to your room if you like.
Wireless access is good.
We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank makingmymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Staying on Orchid Ave was a very convenient location and the underground parking was a huge plus. The hotel breakfast was more than sufficient and the rooms (with a kitchen!) were great. I definitely recommend this for your stay in LA.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I will start with a positive. The location is fantastic! Right next to Hollywood Highland Shopping Centre (which was awesome!).

DO NOT stay in room 101. We stayed two nights and were kept awake all night by either loud people outside (granted, the hotel can't help loud people - but should maybe invest in double glazed windows for rooms on that side of the hotel) AND also there is a garage directly underneath where the door opens and closes basically every minute. Very loud and disturbing.

The bed was big, but very saggy.

The breakfast was OK. Only 3 or 4 tables though so you had to share a table with other guests at the hotel....

Probably wouldn't stay here again, it is fairly expensive for not much....

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 101, and try to avoid rooms at the front of the Hotel due to noise.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bazinga22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchidSuites_Manager, Manager at Hollywood Orchid Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Bazinga22,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.

As you mentioned, our location is fantastic being right next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center (shopping, restaurants, nightclubs, great view of the Hollywood sign) and sharing the block with the Dolby Theater (home of the Academy Awards & IRIS, Cirque Du Soleil), Grauman's Chinese Theater (where you can view the hand/footprints of Hollywood's legends), the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum, Hard Rock Hollywood Cafe (which has live music on the weekends), the Metro station, El Capitan Theater (which hosts Jimmy Kimmel Live). Also, we are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Magic Castle, Yamashiro's Restaurant, the Roosevelt Hotel and only one subway stop away from Universal Studios, City Walk and the Pantages Theater.

You are correct that we cannot control people who may be talking loudly on the sidewalk but we would have been happy to speak to them about disturbing you or to have moved you to another room had you asked and if one was available as our guest's comfort is paramount to us and we strive to insure that their stay is enjoyable. We have upgraded our rooms to double glazed windows already. We have just installed split air-condition/heating systems in the rooms facing the street for better soundproofing but at your suggestion will take a closer look to see if there are additional measures we can take. Furthermore, we have an ongoing replacement schedule for our mattresses and we appreciate your letting us know about room 101 as it is now on the list for the next replacement. For breakfast, you may not have been aware that we have additional seating on our front patio, pool side, and our rooftop garden and we provide trays so that you can take your selection back to your room which has a dining table.

We do hope that you will change your mind about staying with us again when you visit Hollywood as we offer the best value for the area and will be pleased to work with you to make sure you get a room that you will be happy with.

Warm regards,

Sandra Hausaman, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews