We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value in LA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Ranked #4 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Bacchus Marsh, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Value in LA”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at Hollywood Orchid Suites and could not be happier with the value and location. Situated just behind the Chinese Theatre, Kodak Theatre, Madame Tussauds and the Hard Rock Cafe the location cannot be beaten. You can access the apartments through the spectacular Hollywood & Highland Shopping Centre which gives you direct access to Hollywood Blvd and all it's attractions which span this block and the next couple of blocks. There is a subway station in the same block which was great because we caught the well run and beautifully clean trains everywhere - one stop from Universal Studios - and only $21 for a 7 day Tap & Go pass. Also the Hop on Hop Off Bus stops just out the front in Hollywood Blvd which is great for orientation. The staff at Orchid Suites are extremely helpful and friendly. A special thanks to Marlo who came to our rescue when we got lost, well over and above the call of duty. Orchid Suites is an old apartment building so don't expect brand new 5 star rooms, they are a bit dated. However, they are spacious, very well appointed with excellent heating and cooling and are very kept very clean. We stayed in a deluxe suite which had a separate bedroom and a full kitchen with oven, fridge, coffee machine and microwave as well as crockery and cutlery all in very good condition. The lounge room had a large LCD TV and the bedroom LCD was not much smaller. The free breakfast is an absolute bonus. It's a continental breakfast, meaning of course, no hot stuff, but a great selection - muffins, bagels, croissant, cereal, toast, fruit and juice (see pics). The kitchen area is a bit tight and there are only three tables, but you can load up a tray and take it back to your room, which we preferred anyway.There is free secure parking which we didn't need but is yet another bonus if you do have a car. We paid $129 (before tax of course - never quite got used to that!) which we felt was amazing value for what we got. We did have one night of thoughtless girls giggling quite late into the night but that's not the hotels fault, I have stayed in much more expensive and newer hotels where the noise tends to travel. I would definitely stay there again if we ever go back to LA and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for great value in a top location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DenialRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    801
    127
    23
    9
See reviews for
984
590
97
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here, in a room for three. It is great for budget travelers. The location is perfect...just behind the Chinese Theater, but quiet. The room was great, spacious with a handy kitchenette and a normal bathroom (nothing to rave about). The room was clean and they gave us an extra bed. The staff is very nice and while the breakfast isn't great, it is free, as is use of the lobby computer. We will definitely stay here again. There is on site parking and you can't beat the cost, convenience, and quality.

Room Tip: Even though our room overlooked the pool, there was very little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFbmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I think this is the best hotel we stayed at during our February'11 2-week holidays in USA. It's not fancy like some other hotels in Hollywood area, but for money payed we really got more then we expected. The night before we've stayed in a tiny room in a fancy historical hotel for double value, so we were more than happy to move to the spacious and inexpensive place where we had kitchenette, living-room, bedroom and bathroom. The suite was really big!

It's really close to main Hollywood attractions: Kodak theater and Hollywood blvd are just couple of minutes away, very close to metro station, Hertz car rent is in next building, LA city tours across the street, which is very helpful. Plus, there are a lot of stores and restaurants in the area.

Very friendly staff helped us to book our next hotel in Grand Canyon, and give all directions on how to get to Disneyland. In fact, we could even go on a bus right from our hotel, but we asked too late when that bus already left.

If I ever come to Hollywood again, I have no doubts I'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Executive Suite on 2nd (or 3rd?) floor with a door facing pool is really nice and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaZ182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I recently stayed at the Hollywood Orchid Suites and it's a terrific hotel.

Firstly, the position is A1 for Hollywood - just metres from the main bit of Hollywood Blvd and a couple of miles from Universal Studios.

The front desk is very organised and had us checked in with tons of info within minutes. Secure underground parking is all part of the price.

The rooms are a little dated, but bright, clean and well serviced. We had a very spacious apartment, with comfortable beds, safe, cooking facilities and more.

Throw in free WIFI, free breakfast (bagels, pastry, coffee, OJ and lots more), pool and a very professional front office team and you're on a winner with terrific value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBugged2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

What a great hotel!!! If you're thinking of visiting Hollywood you must stay here. We landed in LA at 6am and the hotel staff were great. They checked us in, took our bags and even though check-in is 3pm - they said to come back at 11am and our room was ready. The staff on the desk are so friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. We travelled with our 13yr old son - the room was huge with a full kitchen. Our son was on a fold out sofa which he said was satisfactory and there was still plenty of room without having to fold it away each day. There were two TV's one in the lounge and one in main bedroom. Because we had a kitchen we ate in as there is a supermarket about 5-6 min walk up the road on Hollywood Blvd. My only criticism about our whole stay, were the family staying above us. You could here them walking/jumping in their room and at 1am in the morning, this was annoying but certainly not the hotels fault. (just disrespectful from other people). The breakfast provided each day was basic but certainly enough. Cereals/toast/muffins and pastries with juice, tea and coffee. Free internet access either in your room if you have your own computer, or they have one set up. Overall it was very pleasant and would absolutely, with no hesitation, stay here again.
If you are thinking of booking trips before you leave home (as we did), don't - they are much cheaper either from the hotel or on the street.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor for sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Speegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We have just spent one night at the Hollywood Orchid suites. We hired a car at LAX and drove, it wasn't difficult to find but glad we took the satnav option! the free parking was great and it's right next to a shopping mall for a quick feed. The room was clean and just about big enough for the 5 of us, but my 17 year old slept on a rollaway and I have to say it was the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever seen in a hotel - like sleeping on the wire fence around a tennis court!! The breakfast is really just a few bagels and croissant, but it was fine for an early start. All in all a perfectly good place for a one or two night stop but I wouldn't want to be there for any longer than that and I would definitely avoid the rollaway beds!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lg13865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Hollywood Orchid Suites is the perfect location to visit the main tourist areas on Hollywood Blvd. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the wax museum, walk of fame, the Kodak theater and the hand prints at the Chinese theater. You can also visit the El Capitan theatre and many other attractions from here.

The hotel staff are very helpful and there is free secure parking available. We have a room at the front of the hotel near reception and it was fine...slightly dated but fine. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable, we were concerned about noise in the foyer, but there was none for the 2 nights we stayed.

There is also a free continental breakfast available and free WiFi.

Overall value for money here is exceptional. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james_is_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,657 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,056 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,130 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#45 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,482 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 350 in Los Angeles
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Property: Hollywood Orchid Suites
Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing