We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Ranked #4 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2011

For anyone who has watched Fawlty Towers you know exactly what I'm talking about. If not then YouTube it! Rooms are very average, however you can't beat the location. If you expect the worst then you will be pleasantly surprised. The lady on the front desk is Marlo and she's just the best. So friendly and helpful. My mum and I just Adored her. If your used to staying in 4 and 5 star hotels (like my mum and I) it will be a culture shock, make sure you bring along your sense of humor....

Our toilet got blocked with feoces floating in it (neither of us had done a number two) we were told by front desk to come collect the plunger and attend to it ourselves. Mum was disgusted however I thought this was just hilarious. They finally sent a plain clothed man to fix it who looked like someone they pulled off the street.

On our second last day here the front desk man got drunk on the job. Some guests weren't impressed but mum and I were so used to the abnormalities of the hotel by then. This really made our stay at orchid suites, I've never laughed so hard in my life.

Overall I highly reccommend this hotel and have friends who can't wait to stay here to have this experience. Do yourself a favor and only stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellinglolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amos803, Owner at Hollywood Orchid Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

This guest seems to like out hotel but reports a couple of occurrences which I do not find funny at all. A backed up toilet of coarse can occur in any hotel 2 stars or 5. However it is not the guest's job to clear the problem. We are a small hotel and after hours the maintenance men are on call but not on hand. The front desk clerks are supposed to take care of this kind of minor issue. This review alerted me to the fact that they are not. I have taken measures to remind them of this part of their job and am giving each a brief training to make sure they know the procedure. We were thoroughly shocked and upset about the young front desk person that was drunk on the job. He was fired as this is not something we tolerate. It was a loss to the hotel as he has been with us for 10 years without any incident, is quite good at what he does and is very good with our guests. He has since asked for another chance to prove himself and has asked to apologize to the guests he offended and mistreated. After considerable thought we have reinstated him on a trial basis. If there is any further issues please contact me directly at info@orchidsuites.com. The comparison to the hotel portrayed on "Faulty Towers" is really way off. That hotel's staff and management spend all their time hiding the faults of the hotel from inspectors and guests. The owners of the Hollywood Orchid Suites take the care, safety and comfort of their guests very seriously and try to imbue this care in the staff as well. The hotel is a converted apartment building rated 2 diamonds. We are embarked on making many improvements and upgrades but as we are small with a high occupancy we choose not to shut down the hotel or complete floors but rather continue to make the improvements as we operate, taking care not to disturb out guests. This week as an example we are completing a new roof and have replaced 35 dressers and our courtesy computer/printer station. If a 4 or 5 star hotel is your cup of tea we are probably not for you. However most of our guests appreciate our efforts, our cleanliness, safety, value, staff and location and choose to come back and recommend us. Sincerely Joseph Blum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,403 - 1,409 of 2,194 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2011

This hotel was in the best location with only a short walk to Hollywood Boulevard where the stars are on the footpath. The hotel is not 5 star but it is very close to it with LCD TV screens, free parking, a full kitchen with full sized fridge and oven. Even though the hotel is a little older than others, our room was very clean and would rate the cleanliness 5 star! There is a heated outdoor pool and apparently a great view from the very top level where there is a garden - I didn't get a chance to see it but hopefully next time! They also have a computer to access the internet for free and there is free wi-fi in the hotel. The continental breakfast had a fair bit of variety (no hot food because it is 'continental') which included pastries, bagels, cream cheese, cereals and fruit (no sliced bread though). We loved our stay and would definately go back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

If you're spending a few days in LA, that's a good hotel stay in. Walking distance to Hollywood's main restaurants, bars and clubs so that you dont need to worry about drinking&driving or else parking, but still in a quiet little street behind the Kodak Theater.

The rooms are pretty big, so you'll have space for the shopping bags and clothes, they have free parking, vending machines, laundry room and a very nice staff 24/7. And it has a good price too!
Just a little headsup though: the wifi wont work in macs or iPads! Maybe they'll fix it, but we had that inconvinience.


Great tip we got from TripAdvisor, I'd be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anaik v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We booked this hotel from reviews regarding the location and the inclusions of free wifi. The accomodation was clean however very basic, worn and tired looking and needs a makeover. We had paid for internet however couldnt get it and after going to the front counter on 3 occassions to enquire i finally got an answer that it didnt work and they had to contact an IT person to have it fixed. So if you have paid for it make sure you get what you pay for.

The office staff were helpful and there are a lot of restaurants and shops around the area.

The room itself was comfortable and clean. We didnt use the kitchen at all.

The location of the hotel is really what would encourage us to return to this hotel as It is located the street behind Hollywood Boulevarde.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kruzein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Cant get a better position next door to the chinese theatre.
We had 1 king, seperate bedroom,+lounge with sofa bed. Kitchen
Good garage parking. Nice big suites, with real kitchen. Usual continental breakfast, croisant, bagels, philly cheese, jams, juice, coffee...took everything up to room......just right to start the day.
The problems we had were broken bedsofa, no sheets for bedsofa, dripping tap and roof renovations that started before 9am.
All hotels have problems at some time but I think what makes a good hotel is how they address these problems.
The staff at Orchid were great. All problems were fixed in a happy manner.
Grace, the manager even took off one nights fee to compensate.
Thankyou for this and will definately stay here again.
We came to visit Universal studios and Holly wood Bld.
We made the right choice by staying close to H.Bld, and driving the 10 minutes to Universal, than by staying in Universal City and driving over to H.Bld.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wifeshagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amos803, Owner at Hollywood Orchid Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

I am glad we resolved or tried to resolve the issues this guest had and that at the end their experience was a good one. I want to elaborate on some of the things mentioned. Our Deluxe Suites have a pull out sofa in the living room. Both on our web site and in person we explain that it is not very comfortable sleeping and that only one should sleep on it. In summer however often these rooms which we slate for 3 people end up with 4 or even 5. We add a roll-away bed but the sofas still get used heavily. Eventually they may have an issue or even break. We try to be prepared for this and keep 2 complete spare sofa mechanisms as well as other parts. We keep a set of linen, blanket and pillows for the sofa bed in the Deluxe Suite hall closet. It is possible that housekeeping overlooked it or that a new clerk was not aware that they are there. When we hold one of these we also ask the guest whether they want it set up when they arrive.
We did have a roof replacement this month. We planned it for September after the busy season, but required the alley between us and the Kodak Theater to take debris off the roof and to place the crane needed to load the material onto the roof. The operators of the Hollywood & Highland Center and the Kodak Theater insisted that we do the work right now before Cirque du Soleil opens on July 21. We had to oblige as the roof upgrade was part of our larger upgrade program for this year. It was a bit noisy on the first day and a half during the removal of the old roofing material but most or our guests were out during the day and we asked to roofer not to start before 9am.
The leaky faucet I am sure was fixed once we knew about it. Our maintenance program is quite good and conscientious as you can see in most reviews and we have replaced many faucets this year as well. Again I am glad that my staff and my assistant Grace were on it quickly and to also that this guest will come to visit us again. Joseph Blum (owner/operator)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

As mentioned by others this is an old apartment block converted into a hotel. Overall I would stay here again as the location is FANTASTIC.

The Good: location (right behind Kodak Theatre), very close to red metro line stop, good basic breakfast included in price (cereal, bagels, croissants, fruit, juice, muffins), laundry facilities, good pool, reasonably priced vending machine (eg. 1$ water), 24hr reception, friendly staff.

The Bad: the hotel is older (60s maybe) which is fine for the price, however the air conditioner was older and very loud and positioned 3 feet from the bed at the same height as the bed so I either had to chose between no air conditioning (a bit hot and stuffy with 3 people in the room) or near arctic conditions blowing on my back all night. There was a strong smell of air freshener which was overpowering when we arrived. The carpet felt dampish, and I thought it must have been cleaned prior to our arrival, however I noticed that after walking on the carpet in bare feet there was a black film all over the soles of my feet-a little off-putting. We also had to keep asking for an extra towel as we had booked the room for 3 and only 2 were replaced each day, which was not a big deal but a bit annoying.

Overall, I would return based on the great location and other positive points I noted above.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate4578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amos803, Owner at Hollywood Orchid Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

I am sorry to hear about the issues we had in this room. Again I would like to comment on some of the issues.
The carpets issue comes with our popularity. We have open walkways and are in a very popular and busy are, hence sometimes dusty. We wash our walk ways and have a strong carpet steaming program and our own equipment. However during the busy season we just have not been able to get into the rooms as often as we would like. So much so that we constantly looked for rooms that were open for a couple of days so that we could steam them. We even brought in an outside company to assist us. This caused a some rooms to get occupied before the carpet was completely dry and possibly not completely clean. We are aware of the issue and trying to work with it as best we can.
The towel issue occurred on a weekend that we not only packed but our linen company shorted us by a few hundred towels. We are monitoring this better now.
Most of our air conditioner have been recently replaced or are being replaced with models that have a digital display so the guest can set the temperature and leave them to cycle on and off. We also leave the AC's on so that when you arrive the room is cool. Once however the guest is in the room we leave the control up to the guest and as it has been very warm here I can see the issues this guest was having. Once we are aware of an issue we act on it promptly so please let us know of any issue you have when you are having it. We even keep spare air conditioners on hand to replace them the next morning if they fail. I am sorry for the issues this guest had and have contacted him also. I am glad to hear that his overall experience was good enough for him to recommend us to others. Joseph Blum (owner/operator)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We had tickets to the Star Wars In Concert show at the Hollywood Bowl and decided to spend a little time in Hollywood at the same time, since we haven't been there in about 20 years. First, we couldn't have picked a better location for our trip. The shuttles to the Bowl were about a 2-3 minute walk from our hotel. The mall at Highland Ave is about 100 feet from the hotel. Hollywood Blvd is maybe another 100-150 feet or so, through the mall. Right next door to the mall, sort of part of it actually, is the Kodak and Chinese Theaters. Ripleys, Guinness Book and both wax museums are within one block. The El Capitan Theater is right across the street. Any little shop you might want to visit is pretty much right there, as are many night clubs (within a couple blocks) and places to eat. It seems all of the bus tours start from Highland as well. So location is just awesome. We parked our car on Saturday afternoon and didn't need it till we left the next afternoon. As for the hotel itself, it appears that it was possibly an apartment building way back in the day, probably the 60's? And at some point it was converted into a hotel. So the rooms are pretty old, sure. But everything we saw was very clean and well kept. We're fairly picky with that stuff (though willing to take chances) but we had no complaints at all. The rooms are very good size, including bathroom and kitchen. It's plain style but "cute". The hotel is the same, neat little layout and felt comfortable. It was interesting to walk up to the roof to see the patio area. The pool area is small but seems nice. The parking garage is underneath the building and there are plenty of easy-to-get-into parking spaces. The garage and the hotel itself are locked, you have to use your key to enter. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I stayed here just with my wife but we're planning on taking the kids with us to sight-see and we're definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruxpin951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,173 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,039 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,147 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 355 in Los Angeles
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Orchid Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Orchid Suites

Address: 1753 Orchid Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $171 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Orchid Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollywood Orchid Suites owes its success to a superior location and a commitment to security, friendly service and value. We are next door to the Hollywood & Highland Center which includes TCL Chinese Theatre (formerly Grauman's Chinese Theatre), the Dolby Theatre (home of the Academy Awards), the Loew's Hotel Hollywood, the METRO station, Madame Tussauds Wax Museum, Walk of Fame, movie theaters, restaurants, clubs, bowling lanes and shopping. We are within close walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl, the Roosevelt Hotel, The Magic Castle and Yamashiro. Universal Studios and Pantages Theatre at Hollywood & Vine is just one subway stop away. Most of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens and a dining area. We offer a complimentary, light continental breakfast, free WIFI and free local calls. Our cancellation policy is 72 hours; check in is at 3 p.M. And check out at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hollywood Orchid Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Orchid Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Orchid Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing