We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a makeover, not a bad Hilton property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood
Ranked #66 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Hilton obviously took over an existing property to make this a Hilton Garden Inn. They've done pretty well with it. The $32 valet parking fee bites. The rooms have had a makeover and are clean with good amenities with Wi-Fi and LED TVs. One annoyance was the mattress sits on a wooden box. The box extends beyond the mattress, and I kept knocking my knees walking near the end of the bed on the corners that stuck out. I had a room overlooking the pool and it was quiet. The housekeeping staff does a great job. I didn't eat there.
Turning left out of the parking lot is impossible with the traffic so near Hollywood Blvd. Ask the front desk or the valet guys how to make U-turns at Camrose Rd. or the Valero gas station to get onto northbound Highland Ave toward West Cahuengo and on to Burbank airport or back to the hotel from points south. This is within easy walking distance to Hollywood Blvd. and the Walk of the Stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is NOT facing Highland Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 802 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

I honeslty love this hotel. By the time we arrived in L.A my friend and I had been travelling for 5 weeks and never did we experience customer like what we did at this hotel! They are beyond fantastic, I am so pleased with their service. How informtative they are in regardes to the hotel facilites, tours, airport shuttles. How friendly and welcoming they made us feel.
A special shout out to Joseph at the front desk who was so friendly and kind to us! (I hope you've been enjoying the tennis Joseph!)

The hotel itself is very nice, plenty of seating, a library, bar and restaurant. We ate breakfast and dinner in the resturant and it was delicious! We stayed on level 7 so it was very quite and the room was very clean and a nice size for the two of us. Although LA is very large, the location of the hotel is very good too. It is a short walk to hollywood blvd and other attractions and is very close to shops and restaurants. The hotel staff where also kind enough to help us book a tour to Universal Studios. Many tours can be booked from the hotel front desk and shuttles to and from places like Universal Studios and Disnley Land can be arranged so don't worry if you're not close to every thing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureTime3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenInnManager, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

AdventureTime3,

We are delighted to hear Joseph made a positive impact during your stay at our hotel! We are also glad you were satisfied with the amenities our hotel has to offer. We take pride in our hotel as we strive to exceed all of our guest’s expectations. Thank you for staying with us and it is our hope that we will have the pleasure of accommodating you on your future trips to Hollywood.

Warm Regards,

Sylvia Erika Benavidez
Front Desk Agent
2005 N. Highland Avenue Hollywood,
CA 90068
Ph: 323-876-8600 l Fax: 323-876-3272
http://www.hgihollywoodpromotions.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed a week on our first visit to LA. I always try to stay at a Hilton Hotel unless the hotel is more than just a place to crash and, this trip, we were on the go. This Hilton was well place for visiting LA's top museums and was close to friends.
The hotel is largely what one would expect from a Garden Inn. Comfortable, good service, quiet (we always request a quite room away from the elevators and on a high floor), and quite reasonably priced, which could have been because it was in January.
The hotel is a very easy walk to Hollywood blvd and Grauman's and the Walk of Fame. That made it a bit on the touristy side, but as we had hoped, it was easy to get onto freeways and major surface roads from the hotel.
Two driving-related comments: while the cost of the room was quite reasonable, parking was valet only (not a problem) and $32 per night. I felt this was too high, but given the good price of the room, I accepted it. The valets themselves were terrific. Quick, polite and helpful.
The other problem is turning into the lot coming from the south and leaving the lot heading north. Highland ave is 6 lanes wide at the hotel (with a 7th turn lane, thankfully, in the middle) and there is usually a LOT of traffic. This is not for the timid nor for cars with no pickup.
I was surprised that quite often we encountered courteous motorists who helped us navigate, but timing is everything - do NOT attempt either turn unless traffic is backed up to the hotel and you aren't slowing anyone down by making the turn.
A close walk from the hotel is a small strip mall with a Starbucks (breakfast), an odd market (which had almost anything we needed in the way of snacks, water, etc), and a quite good sushi restaurant (that received wildly inconsistent reviews on Yelp. We had two very good dinners there). A two block walk takes you to a new, large mall with a lot of mall-type restaurants. To get to anything else, you've got to drive.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side face a hillside; those on the front face those 6 lanes of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newmarket2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel was great quality for what we paid. There were 4 of us in the room with 2 double beds and it did turn out to be a bit claustrophobic, however if there were 2 of you in that room it would be just perfect. The bathroom is great and the tv also. It is close to the chinese theatre and walk of fame etc. approx 10 mins. Just overall best quality service from the staff they were the best and friendly and bubbly. They also had laundry facilities for you to use and the laundery powder down in the pantry is only $1. Really great service, great position, cleanliness of the rooms is ok and location is awesome!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieGirl212192324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenInnManager, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

AussieGirl212192,

We are glad you were satisfied with the service of our staff and the amenities of our hotel. We take pride in our hotel as we strive to exceed all of our guest’s expectations. Thank you for staying with us and it is our hope that we will have the pleasure of accommodating you on your future trips to Hollywood.

Warm Regards,

Sylvia Erika Benavidez
Front Desk Agent
2005 N. Highland Avenue Hollywood,
CA 90068
Ph: 323-876-8600 l Fax: 323-876-3272
http://www.hgihollywoodpromotions.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and i stayed here on the first leg of our honeymoon and we were extremely happy with the hotel and the service.

We arrived into LA at 6:30am and our early check in was not a problem for the staff.

the rooms were a great size and the hotel was very clean.

Bonus was there was a coin operated washing machine and dryer located next to the well equipped gym which meant we didn't have to drag our laundry to a laundromat somewhere or pay through the roof for somebody to collect.

Located very close to Hollywood Boulevard.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danipatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Booked 3 rooms and stayed for 4 nights with friends. A great hotel - nothing fancy but fantastic value for the money you pay. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, complimentary coffee/tea in the lobby, coffee/tea making machine in the room, no minibar in the room however a huge range was available downstairs in the lobby at reasonable prices. 3 course dinner at the hotel restaurant was $20! And breakfast was reasonably priced at $16.95 for a continental breakfast. Good location - very close to Hollywood Blvd and rooms were very clean and comfortable.

No complaints, this hotel far exceeded our expectations. Would highly recommend. Well done!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThanhN832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

When we checked in we were greeted with such warmth and a welcoming attitude! When we got to the room we had a special note from the direct or of rooms welcoming us!

We enjoyed breakfast everyday in the restaurant, and truly the staff there was exceptional, they were so accommodating, and really wanted to take care of us, and make sure we were happy!

it was truly a special touch. This is a great Hotel! Highly recommended! A+ service!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Triman2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Central L.A
Best Western Hollywood Plaza Inn
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#88 of 354 in Los Angeles
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,160 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,003 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 354 in Los Angeles
3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood

Address: 2005 North Highland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90068-3238 (Formerly Hollywood Heights Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#44 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#60 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $163 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Hollywood within the city of Los Angeles is the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood hotel; a short walk, drive or commuter trek to many prominent corporations & local attractions; this Los Angeles hotel is the ideal location for business & leisure travelers. If you find yourself in Los Angeles for a convention at the Los Angeles Convention Center, a business meeting "Downtown" or a movie deal in Hollywood, the Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood has every amenity plus great location the on-the-go traveler needs to pull it all together. The Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood is centrally located near Disney/Dreamworks Studios, Sony Corporation, Capitol Records, Warner Brothers, Eastman Kodak, Deliotte and Touche and Coca Cola. Located within walking distance to the world famous Hollywood Walk of Fame, the Grauman's Chinese Theatre or one metro stop to Universal Studios, The Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood is in the perfect "IT" location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Heights Los Angeles
Hotel Hollywood Heights
Holiday Inn Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing