We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Ranked #131 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Great location, great rooms, staff very helpful and friendly and a great price.

Only problem I had was the use of paper plates and cups provided every morning for the breakfast- this is totally environmentally unfriendly and so wasteful.

I did see that they try to be environmentally friendly with the bedding , but hopefully they could re think for the future about not using paper plates.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexisonfire_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Hello;

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable accommodations for a great value to all our guests. We work constantly to improve the quality of our product and services, and to ensure that every experience with us is warm and enjoyable. We are constantly doing our best to improve our property and to be environmentally friendly; it is only taking us a little longer because of the age of our hotel but we hope to make all these changes very soon. Thanks again.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Hollywood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 1,491 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for the first 3 nights of our US holiday. The check in was simple and quick although the guy that did our check in certainly couldn't be called friendly or helpful. The room we got was at the back so was nice and quiet, the room itself was clean and comfortable but not overly big. The bathroom was small and cramped but functional, and well appointed. The Queen size bed was very comfortable one of the better ones I've had anywhere.
Free WiFi in the rooms was advertised but I think our room was too far away as the signal stopped as soon as we walked into the room, I spoke to reception everyday and they promised to get it sorted out but it never happened.
All in all a nice clean and comfortable place to stay that's only 5 minutes walk to Hollywood Boulevard and the 'Walk of Fame'. The hotel name infers it is close to Universal Studios, it certainly ISN'T. Not a huge distance but a $15.00 cab ride and 10 to 15 minutes can't be called close. Would we stay here again? Yes but it wouldn't be our first pick.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet but have no views, Rooms around the pool looked great and the pool close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mundo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Hello;

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable accommodations for a great value to all our guests. We work constantly to improve the quality of our product and services, and to ensure that every experience with us is warm and enjoyable.
We are sorry to hear you were not greeted appropriately and we will address your concerns to the corresponding agent on duty as we will also check with our IT department to correct the Internet connection. Thank you so much for bringing this up to our attention.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Hollywood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Rooms are aged but clean and the beds are comfortable. Showers are good and comes with a free limited self service breakfast. The pools is fairly small but plenty of sun beds. Good value for money. Location is one block back from the Chinese Theatre with the hand-prints of the stars.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive_Sally_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Hello;

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that we surpassed your expectations - as it is our goal to exceed the expectations of every one of our guests.
Please come and visit us soon. Our entire staff is ready to make your next trip to Hollywood your best vacation yet.
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I chose this hotel as the last hotel on the mainland during our trip because of it's location. The hotel is a short 5 minute walk away from the world famous Walk of Fame. the TCL Theatre (awesome if you want to see a movie) and shopping possibilities near the Kodak Theatre. We regretted our choice immediately after we walked in our "room". It had no daylight (the window was facing a corridor) and it was absolutely too hot during the whole stay because the A/C did not work properly. The pool was ok but not very clean (leaves in and around it). The staff was absolutely the most unfriendly and unhelpful we experienced during our whole roadtrip. The receptionist even slept at the front desk at work and got angry when we had to wake her up to get some water ( the vending machine did not work). The parking costs 10 Dollar/day - that's ok I would say. The room is quite expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window facing the pool (balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f3male
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Hello;

We wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your most recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations and provide you with a positive experience. We take every guests comment serious as they tell us in which areas to improve. We have about 10 different room types and it sounds like you reserved a standard room which are the least expensive and I am sure a different room type was not available as we run a very high occupancy throughout the year. We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you and feel free to contact me directly if this is the case so we may provide you with a free upgrade to one of our pool view rooms.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. When we checked in, we realized our room faced the back of the hotel. We immediately requested a street-facing room and were told one wouldn't be clean for about another hour, but the staff would hold our bags and deliver them to the room ASAP. We went about our afternoon and came back to a comfortable room with our bags lined up in the closet. The breakfast was adequate. Parking was horrible. The spaces (much like the rest of LA) were all designed for small cars. I had to continually let me passengers out before parking our rented Nissan Altima and then squeeze myself out after parking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Hello;

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at our Days Inn Hollywood-Universal Hotel. We are happy we were able to meet your expectation with the exemption of our parking spaces. Thank you so much and we hope to be able to serve you again sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Attended the Playboy Jazz Festival (before going to the beach) & this hotel was right in the center of things - next to fast food & other restaurants - and it was actually walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl - as I found out - by following the crowd - and a street over from the bus/shuttle to the event. We felt SO safe there, as we needed to use our reader card for everything, rooms, doors to the rooms - elevators... & we liked that because of the busyness in Hollywood - you felt no one could just go through the building. My daughter enjoyed the pool.

Room Tip: If you're booking - maybe you'll want to stay on the 2nd floor for a slight view or good bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saleemah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Hello;

Thank you very much for your kind words. Our staff and management take pride in knowing that we were able to make your Hollywood vacation a pleasant experience. Our commitment is to provide each and every guest with our own brand of warm, positive service.
We are happy that you were able to enjoy our facilities and amenities as well, and that they were a great value for you. Please come back and visit us again soon. It will be our pleasure to make your next trip to Hollywood a memorable one.
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We picked this Hotel for it's location and for this it's perfect. Arround the corner from the Chinese theatre and walking distance from supermarkets and most hollywood attractions. Also next to what we discovered are the yummiest hamburger chain In and out. Our room was a good size and overlooked the pool. It was clean but alittle dated and in need of a makeover. I really can't say enough about the staff, they where just wonderful. So friendly and helpful. As it was really hot the pool was a godsend. Hotel was just tired but as we didn't spend alot of thime there didn't really matter. Also had good sized fridge so we could bring in food to eat.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool and was cooler for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndyG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoleon S, General Manager at Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Hello;

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay with us at the Days Inn Hollywood-Universal Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms and our service. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable accommodations for a great value to all our guests. We work constantly to improve the quality of our product and services, and to ensure that every experience with us is warm and enjoyable.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Hollywood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,160 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#74 of 354 in Los Angeles
344 reviews
Hollywood
Saharan Motor Hotel
Saharan Motor Hotel
#199 of 354 in Los Angeles
586 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood VIP Hotel
Hollywood VIP Hotel
#189 of 354 in Los Angeles
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios

Address: 7023 W Sunset Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-7509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $157 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Days Inn Hollywood Near Universal Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Hollywood/Universal Studios Hotel Los Angeles
Days Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing