We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Devoid of character, surly reception staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn
Ranked #74 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Devoid of character, surly reception staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

After having stayed in a couple of really good hotels during our visit to the US, the Hollywood Plaza Inn was a real disappointment. Our checkin was processed efficiently by the disinterested and surly receptionist, who managed to muster just enough enthusiasm to explain to me where the on-site parking was located.

The on-site parking is underneath the building, and the spaces are necessarily very tight due to the support pillars that act as dividers. I could park, but found getting out of the car to be a challenge.

Whilst spacious enough, the warm and humid room was devoid of character (except for a faint musty smell). The air conditioning unit was essential, but it was also very loud, and regularly caused the lights to dim (presumably whenever the compressor was forced into action). If you are a light sleeper and require a reasonably cool bedroom, you'll struggle to sleep here.

With plastic cutlery and paper tableware, and a dining area too small for the number of guests, queuing for the uninspiring buffet-style breakfast was a demeaning process. The food was adequate, but nothing more. And where most hotels provide fresh orange juice, this hotel provided watered down orange cordial.

There was nothing particularly bad about this hotel, but there was little that was particularly good either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike_Chrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhollywoodplaza, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will use your feedback to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    396
    274
    67
    49
See reviews for
299
360
69
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in August 2012 during our trip around the US and the hotel was by far the worst we've stayed in. We bought our tickets relatively late and Western Inn was the only hotel that was available and close to attractions for the time we were planning to be in LA. We booked a hotel room through the Best Western chain website. The same exact room had two price options - breakfast rate and regular (no breakfast). We booked the one with breakfast as we stayed with my parents and I thought it'd be more convenient for us to eat breakfast at the hotel. The total was $1258.89 for 4 nights. After we checked in and went to our room I checked my account and found out that my card had been charged additional $400 something. I went downstairs to find out what it was for but they couldn't give me a clear answer and kept saying that it was a first night charge deposit. Then I asked them about breakfast and they said that they didn't do breakfasts anymore! I told them that our rate was supposed to include breakfast as claimed on the website. They were trying to convince me that I was wrong, acted very arrogant and rude. I told them I had a conformation email and only after I brought my laptop down and showed the actual email, they got surprised and told me to come back later.

Later in the evening they offered us breakfast vouchers to eat at a tiny restaurant on the first floor. We went there next morning and it was not a continental breakfast as claimed on the website, but something you order from the menu (omelett or pancakes only).

These experiences made us want to get out of this hotel as soon as possible; thankfully, there were plenty other good options around that were much much better and CHEAPER (Holiday Inn is right next to it and it was way cheaper. breakfast was great and our room was spacious and clean, unlike the one at Best Western).

Also, when we decided to check out earlier, they said the initial charge of $400 something was for the first night, even though our reservation email said $314 (including taxes). Their response was that the email calculates the AVERAGE, but the actual nightly rates are different.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhollywoodplaza, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your most recent stay with us. I world like to apologize for not meeting your expectations, and we have used your feedback to make improvements to better serve guests in the future. We hope you would give the Best Western Hotel another try in the future, I am sure we will exceed your expectations. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is adequate, but no more than that. That's not to damn it with faint praise, it's just that I can't think of anything, other than the very courteous and efficient reception staff, that would raise the hotel above average rating.

The location is very good, however. Just a few minutes walk from the Hollywood Plaza and nearby attractions, and a shorter walk to a Subway and supermarket. The Subway came in handy for us, as breakfast was not included in the tariff, though there is a little cafe attached to the hotel.

If you're on a tight budget, this hotel is fine. If you're not so restricted, there are some nicer and more expensive hotels nearby and a little closer to Hollywood Plaza.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Krungsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had never been to Hollywod and wanted to do all the sight seeing we could in a two day period. The location of this hotel is close to (walking distance) to Hollywood Blvd. The walk of stars, etc. It was very clean and the staff was very friendly and polite. The rooms where clean and nice and in good condition. Not fancy but nice. The parking is a little tight if you have a big car. Mine is a Chrysler 300 so its very wide. I had some trouble squeezing into the spaces.

Room Tip: All rooms would appear to be as good as the next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markson36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhollywoodplaza, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on your most recent stay with us. I am pleased to know that you had an excellent stay with us, and we hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Bed is good, well location, near the fame walk.
NO breakfast, the restaurant at the hotel is expensive $$$
The hall has no carpet make a lot of noise when someone is walking outside of your room
There is a pool that has not closing time, so maybe will be a lot of noise of kids using the pool at late night.
The cleaners star to clean at 8am, turned the vacuum cleaner on waking you up.
There is a free parking.
The wifi doesn't work at all - i asked the front door twice and still doesn't work.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PtkFerraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhollywoodplaza, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. we will use your feedback so that we may provide better service for our guests in the future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Really a nice, comfortable place to stay in Hollywood. Pictures and decor reminiscent of old Hollywood. A great little 50s diner downstairs with great coffee and food. Valet parking for $15 a day is not too bad for LA. Everyone was super friendly. I would stay her again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1proudmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhollywoodplaza, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Having requested non-smoking, we were pretty upset when we first opened the door of our room. The smell of smoke was overwhelming, and the room was not very clean in appearance. As soon as we contacted the front desk, we received an apology, and a key to a clean & tidy room. Everything was fine from that point on. Hollywood Bowl is close enough to walk, and parking is a breeze - especially compared to the area's "stacked" parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhollywoodplaza, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad our hotel staff was able to meet your expectations and provide you with excellent service. We hope to see you in the near future. Thank you agin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Central L.A
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
BLVD Hotel & Suites
BLVD Hotel & Suites
#120 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn
Address: 2011 North Highland Ave., Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90068-3238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hollywood Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing