We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50th Birthday trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hollywood Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hollywood Hills Hotel
Ranked #41 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland Park, Florida, Usa
1 review
“50th Birthday trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

LOVE this hotel and the staff who work there! Great location. Cool and comfortable rooms. Good price. The 101 Cafe in the lobby is another good reason to stay there. Easy walk to Hollywood sights and Metro subway stops. It is a very fun place to stay. Rooms are quiet, beds very comfortable. It's Eco-friendly too.

If renting a car, it is smart to pay the parking charges because the city is strict about parking on the street. Towing is common and expensive.Ticket are not cheap either. It is more affordable to pay the $15/night parking charge than to pay a $1000 towing charge. And many of them do not take credit cards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    571
    189
    43
    26
See reviews for
368
373
55
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
380 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the Best Western Plus. Of course, I wasn't expecting anything top-notch, but the location is excellent if you are planning to do any sightseeing in Hollywood. It was clean and well-maintained, if a little dated (the decor in the rooms-- the wonderful retro feel of the hotel was spectacular and shouldn't be changed). Staff was courteous, if a bit uninterested. But I would have no qualms returning if necessary for a quick visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelingjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed one night while visiting a friend from out of town. The hotel is older but well maintained. There is a "Hollywood" motif, with many pictures of famous actors. The elevator has life size photos of several actors. Cafe 101 is on the ground floor. Good food, good service, interesting clients, and open extended hours.

The hotel itself is three stories surrounding a pool area. The hotel is near the 101 freeway, so there is a bit of traffic noise. We didn't find the noise from either to be a problem.

The staff is terrific. There is a charge for parking at the hotel, but on street parking might be difficult to find. Just park at the hotel and walk or take public transit.

Shopping and restaurants are a few blocks away on Franklin street, or walk several blocks down Argyle street to the Hollywood/Vine area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tecolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Sun
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Starting with an extremely welcoming and friendly staff, my stay here was perfect. The rooms were extremely well kept, beds very comfy, decor modern and up to date, great restaurant filled with many locals, helpful and accommodating front desk, fast WiFi and is filled with Hollywood posters and memorabilia. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Room 412 and 401 were outstanding ( I stayed 2 times)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reindeer367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located within 10 minutes walk from Metro station and Hollywood walk of fame, there is also a small shopping center/strip nearby where you can get supplies from. On Hollywood Blvd there are plenty of eateries to choose from.

The hotel itself has a cozy lobby that's very tastefully decorated with classic Hollywood photos and autographs, front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. The housekeeping staff are extremely professional, everyday they have neatly folded my sleeping t shirt and placed it on the bed, this has only occurred to me at another 5 star hotel on my trip! The room was revamped and decorated in similar fashion to the lobby, very interesting; the size of the room was quite generous, there was even room for a small dining table, bathroom was modern looking and very clean, shower was very big with two shower heads on each end. And the room comes very handily with a microwave!

My room was located on first floor in the corner by the pool side, for those prefer a more private or better lit room, it is probably worthwhile to ask for a room on one of the floors above, it didn't really bother me though. The only "down" side is that it appeared that my room was next to the central unit of aircon, when in evenings/late night it made quite noticeable noise in short intervals, again it didn't affect me as I was a heavy sleeper but if you are a light sleeper probably should keep that in mind.

Rate wise as I left booking to the last minute, I paid around 155 per night all inclusive, I guess if you book in advance it could be cheaper but I'm guessing this rate is quite reasonable for the size of the room and location of the hotel.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting LA and I would definitely consider to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for floors on second level or above, a bit further away from aircon units
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonno82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a gem! Perfect location for Hollywood sites and access to the Metro. Post-modern design and filled with Hollywood kitsch. Staff is off the hook friendly. Cafe 101 is great for breakfast or a late dinner. A good price, great staff, perfect location.... what else do you want?

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear section and preferably on the back side. (you can see the Hollywood sign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is located close to the person we visit and we stayed six nights. This is not the most deluxe or newest property, but it is friendly and convenient. The room was clean and well maintained during our visit. This is the first time we stayed in the older (front) part of the hotel. As stated by others there are great facilities and room conveniences. We did not have a vehicle this trip, but they have instituted paid parking (previously was free) like many of the other lodgings in the vicinity. The staff should be mentioned since they go out of the way to offer suggestions on transportation and tourist attractions, but no hustle. The ground floor restaurant is handy, but I can only vouch for the breakfast special, a good deal, quick service and the best scrambled eggs. The location may look a bit sketchy, but we have never had issues. The commercial car repair on one side might offend some, but the neighborhood is in transition and the mini-mall beyond the car repair has a fascinating new French restaurant that we were unable to work into our schedule. You can walk to subway and many excellent restaurants. Unless we find an apartment to sublet this would be my choice in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back away from the street are quieter, but with the AC on and bathroom door closed it d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seadog17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
BEST WESTERN Hollywood Plaza Inn
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Hollywood
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#47 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hollywood Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hollywood Hills Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hollywood Hills Hotel
Address: 6141 Franklin Ave, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#44 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#60 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hollywood Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hollywood Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hollywood Hills Hotel
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing