We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty awful”
Review of Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #53 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Extremely over represented on its website. Location very poor, you wont step out at night for a bar or restaurant, and while we were there there was no bar or restaurant in the hotel. " the staff are off for the holidays " - WHAT? - its a hotel, there to provide holidays.
25 dollars a night to park " you are in the centre of Hollywood sir " - wrong, the hotel is in the centre of an urban residential area , 2 miles from hollywood. The rooms are very basic, the shower cubicle is prison like ( no bath ). No safe, and only a mickey miuse latch to secure the patio door
Despite paying for a week , We spent three nights in other hotels close to what we were doing on certain days to get a holiday feel. We made the best of our holiday as we always do, but would recommend you give this place a big miss.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisel M, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Dear Guest...

We truly appreciate the candid feedback, and are disappointed to hear about the issues. Your comments will be shared internally and will help us only to improve. Thank you.

Gisel Miller
Hollywood Hotel
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,107 - 1,113 of 2,629 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

Hugo is an awesome cook at the restaurant who made my breakfast super fast and made it taste great. He also greets everyone at the door with a kind "good morning" welcoming everyone into the restaurant. Hugo is what made my stay at the Hollywood hotel a pleasurable one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaveSak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We viewed the hotel and also made reservations for the Starline Tour with Cecille. She's tops in terms of customer service. She is so efficient and assisted all customers very well. She deserved to be commended for her knowledge and expertise in handling customers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The people at front desk where very friendly & helpful. They booked everything we wanted to see, called cab when we needed one & told us about good Resturant to eat. The free Breakfast was more than I expected. Nice patio to relax, clean & Friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RoseO50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisel M, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Gisel Miller
Hollywood Hotel
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights in late June with friends and family. Rooms were big and clean. Front desk was helpful and one lady (name I can't remember now) recommended one Mexican restaurant, which turned out to be very good. Hugo was always there to make us omelets at breakfast. good ones. All and all we enjoyed our stay and Hollywood hotel is good value for the money. Only downside is that parking fee per night is a bit too high.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank lentsu76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel was clean, staff was nice enough and as other reviewers noted breakfast is really a plus. But... please do not be fooled , this hotel is in the middle of no where. Yes there is a subway nearby, but I personally did not feel comfortable walking the neighborhood. There is nothng wrong with the hotel itself, it is like a standard Ramada or marriott. If you dont have a car not sure i would stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank My3GirlzandCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I stayed here on the 20th of June for a few nights. I was very worried as I had booked this hotel by mistake and read the reviews and how bad it was and desperately wanted to change hotels but I couldn't. I just had to grim and bear it.
To my surprise, this hotel is not nowhere as near as bad as some people are making it out to be. I will not exaggerate anywhere in this when I write this.
Upon arrival, I was greeted by friendly staff who seemed like they wanted to help but I couldn't help but notice the very obvious scent of cigarette smile looming in the seating area of the lobby: this was quite concerning as they emphasized how this hotel was a non-smoking hotel. Not a great first impression of a hotel.
We were quickly checked in and proceeded to our room. I was on the 3rd floor and the elevator was quite slow and both the elevator and corridor smelled of stale the room was very spacious and almost very clean (I found a few peanuts on the floor and some hairs lurking around near the bed.) where the chair was situated, it seems as if someone was banging it into the wall as there were dents in the wall. Although, the bathroom was immaculate. The room was air conditioned, had a fridge and a microwave (this came in handy!) the breakfast here was amazing, a wide variety of food comfy seating, and not to mention very filling and tasty! Sonia was very helpful and friendly whenever I saw her and asking me how I'm enjoying my stay. The internet was very fast, but it kept disconnecting for some reason but it wasn't really a problem as it was so fast! The hotel offers a free gym, swimming pool, and sauna. We used the sauna nearly everyday and we loved it. The hotel itself isn't in a great neighborhood but I wouldn't call it a ghetto. Just slightly rundown. (it's in EAST Hollywood - not West Hollywood) but I always felt safe and was near the metro so I was never too far from the places I wanted to see (Hollywood walk of fame, downtown LA) Eateries near were nice and I loved the Thai food restaurants (it's my favourite!) I was quite disappointed by the lack of onsite facilities available such as a restaurant to have dinner and room service but there were eateries very near so it didn't really matter as it could be delivered to your hotel. Overall, my experience of the hotel was very very average, nothing outstanding about it or terribly bad. I would probably stay here again if I received the same offer I did when I booked it (50% off 5 international nights.) but it was a good hotel and I recommend it to anyone and it's family friendly too!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liolol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,100 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#21 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#19 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,188 reviews
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#79 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,811 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#14 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hotel

Address: 1160 North Vermont Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90029-1729
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#56 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#64 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $171 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Hotel is Where All the Action Begins! Hollywood Hotel is conveniently located across the street from a Redline Metro ( Subway or Tube ) station at the corner of Vermont Avenue and Santa Monica Blvd.. Hollywood Hotel has just completed a restoration of it's 3000 sq ft courtyard, an outdoor oasis, which can hold up to 100 people. Inspired by the relaxed style of the Mediterranean, the courtyard features all weather vintage country style wicker sofas and lounge chairs, premium teak beam tables and a classic mission style fountain surrounded by giant bird of paradise and flowers. A perfect setting for relaxation and drinks after a day of Hollywood sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Los Angeles
Ramada Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Ramada Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing