We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcome cold pool”
Review of Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #44 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“warm welcome cold pool”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

me and my family had been planning the dream holiday to Hollywood everything looked perfect on the website but in reality the hotel was hard to find we drove past it like four times then we went for a dip in the pool well it was so cold that no one went in past there legs! but overall the room was amazing, friendly and welcoming also the hotel shop was well priced overall we would come back here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank That_Paris_Brunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    965
    397
    157
    175
See reviews for
738
745
159
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Junction, NY
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My biggest complaint was that there was no AC. They explained - One central air system it's set to heat. If we set it to Air it gets to cold at night and customers complain. Open your window! Huh? this room doesn't have a window .. and I wasn't about about to leave the ajoined balcony open all night! We had to have the maintenance guy bring us a fan!
The hotel looks nothing like the pictures you see adverstised. What you see is the back of the hotel, in the gated parking lot. I didn't think it was the same place when we drove up. You have to pay $22 per night for parking, but there is a guard in the lot all night.
They did serve a good breakfast each morning and it was included in the price (eggs, omlets, sausage, waffles .. not just cold cereal.
They did clean the room daily, and bring fresh towels .. The location is great, it's near everything in LA, the rooms are large and the price is good.The staff was ok, and my wife felt the comforter was a little dirty (so she didn't use it), and hair wasn't cleaned out of the shower (which we cleaned). All things we can live with for a short trip .. but it's just ok for the price and you can't beat the location.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back away from the street are quieter. Neighborhood is just so-so room upstairs wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigron452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I got a great deal on this through Expedia and stayed here for a week with my boyfriend, and it was absolutely fantastic. Our room was very clean and airy (we were on the 3rd floor), and it also had a balcony which gave great views of downtown at night. The continental breakfast is superb (a wide variety of choices with extremely polite chefs, none of the 'here you go, unripe bananas & doughnuts are your only breakfast choices') and the environment is great. Love the feel of the hotel, everything is very clean and shiny. There's a pharmacy and a few food places nearby, and it's very close to the red line train and bus stops which makes accessing a variety of places like Universal Studios, Santa Monica or downtown very easy (if you're not driving and willing to spend the time, there is a bus on Santa Monica Blvd that drives you straight into SM and takes about 1hr-1.5hrs one way, depending on traffic).

There's a pool as well, with chairs and towels provided if you decide to take a couple of hours off the hectic sightseeing and want to tan and relax instead. A spa and a fitness centre are also available. There is free wifi in the room, which is excellent quality.

If you're hesitating booking this hotel, please don't; just press 'book'.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Al L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

All the people working at the front desk was amazing. Very friendly, always smiling and helping us with everything. One of them even ordered take-out for us along with his own order!
Location is very good. There's not much around the hotel except a Subway and a few other small shops. But the public transportation is both cheap and all around, so no problem getting places.
Our room was facing the patio and didn't hear much of the traffic on Vermont avenue. Bed was just fine, everything was working, but overall the hotel is worn down. It do has its charm though!
Breakfast was very good with omelettes by your choice and waffles. Also some bagels and toasted bread.
Would stay here again :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The custom omelettes and made to order eggs and waffles make this hotel a real bargain. Its location near the Santa-Monica Metro line ($weekly pass $20) made travel to Hollywood, Universal, and Disneyland (via the Metrolink or Amtrack from Union Station) almost free. The rooms are a good size and the beds very comfortable. There is not much in the immediate neighborhood, (there is a Rite Aid and mini-mall nearby) but with the transit so convenient, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to leave their car at home. One downside is the showers - it takes a lot of effort to activate the shower head by pulling it away from its "socket"

Room Tip: The rooms away from Vermont avenue have very little traffic and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Calvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Hotel is nice but very worn down as everythign in Hollywood Ca is . Ofers a decent breakfast in the mornings before you off to work but the attendant is never on time so you will be late for work . Each room seems to have it's own character and is clean but worn down in structure

Room Tip: Good pricing for close to the walk of Fame in Hollywood CA
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank byharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We just got back from Los Angeles and this Hotel is not in the best of areas The hotel has a wonderful breakfast . the guy called Hugo and the two ladies that worked at the breakfast were so nice and friendly and they made the best omelettes ever and breakfast was great . But the hotel does not serve any other food and there are no good places to eat with in a walking distance from the place . The staff at the front desk could not even suggest any good places to eat . We were not happy about this .The staff at the front desk were nice but not really helpful . It was like that they did not know the area of Los Angeles . It was our first time there and we did not know the city .We needed some help and we did not get much

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robmag60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,657 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,898 reviews
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#73 of 350 in Los Angeles
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#13 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,023 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#17 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,111 reviews
Hotel Normandie
#19 of 350 in Los Angeles
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hotel

Property: Hollywood Hotel
Address: 1160 North Vermont Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#56 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#64 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Hotel is Where All the Action Begins! Hollywood Hotel is conveniently located across the street from a Redline Metro ( Subway or Tube ) station at the corner of Vermont Avenue and Santa Monica Blvd.. Hollywood Hotel has just completed a restoration of it's 3000 sq ft courtyard, an outdoor oasis, which can hold up to 100 people. Inspired by the relaxed style of the Mediterranean, the courtyard features all weather vintage country style wicker sofas and lounge chairs, premium teak beam tables and a classic mission style fountain surrounded by giant bird of paradise and flowers. A perfect setting for relaxation and drinks after a day of Hollywood sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Los Angeles
Ramada Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Ramada Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing