We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good travel links”
Review of Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #41 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good travel links”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hollywood Hotel for 4 nights. The main reason for choosing it was its proximity to public transport as we were travelling without a car. To get to the hotel we got the Flyaway bus from LAX to Union Station and then the Metro Red Line to Vermont/Santa Monica station. You can see the hotel as soon as you come out of the station, that's how close it is! We upgraded to a Suite at the hotel as the price was reasonable. The room was big with a seating area as well as a small dining area and kitchen but we felt that it was in need of some updating. Our room overlooked the courtyard, which is a lovely area with seating,plants and a fountain. Breakfast was included in the price and there was plenty of choice- the made to order waffles were especially good! The staff were friendly and helpful and arranged a taxi for us one night. If you are staying over a weekend, there is a shuttle bus to Griffith Observatory, which leaves from outside Vermont/Sunset Station just up the road. The bus costs 50cents and most of the museum is free. On Santa Monica Boulevard, just down from the hotel, you can catch a bus (#704) straight to Santa Monica, it takes about an hour and costs $1.50. The area directly around the hotel is definitely not the nicest, something I was concerned about after reading other reviews, but it was fine even when we walked back at night. The subway is also fine, despite what we were told and any trip is $1.50. If you head a couple of blocks to the right, the area does improve and there are places to eat and a supermarket. I would recommend a trip to Yogurtland, turn left out of the hotel and you're there!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    952
    390
    152
    171
See reviews for
712
738
156
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The best part of our stay at the Hollywood Hotel was breakfast. The breakfast staff were friendly and prepared excellent food. Other than that, the check in process was excruciating, the "room with a view" they gave us looked out at the building next door and its air vent, the box springs on both beds squeaked whenever anyone moved, and the room was not cleaned well. This is a place I would suggest avoiding.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywoodhotel, General Manager at Hollywood Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Fred A.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We value your business and we know you had many hotels to choose from. You have covered all aspects of your stay and we are particularly appreciative of your comments that you liked our location and rooms and that the best part of your stay was the complimentary hot buffet breakfast, the breakfast staff were friendly and and prepared excellent food.  Yes, we are the only hotel in Hollywood which offers complimentary made to order omelets for breakfast .... yet you gave us the second lowest score one could possibly give.... and yes ... it hurts.

We are not a 5 Star hotel but a small independently owned family run hotel which is usually to our guests benefit as we are able to respond more quickly to guests needs. I apologize for the excruciating checkin and I wish you had contacted us earlier why you thought the check in process was excruciating or how you thought we could change the checkin process more enjoyable.

We are a Hollywood Classic and have been around a long time. It is important for Tripsdvisor readers to have a pretty good idea of what to expect when they are evaluating hotels in the Hollywood area. We are a small hotel with an inner courtyard. Most of our rooms have a balcony and all rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, hairdryer, flat screen TV and all channels are 100% HD, Sealy Posturepedic Beds with a pillow top mattress for extra comfort. All beds have 300 thread count snow white bed linens with a Duvet comforter. Linens are changed and washed daily. We serve a complimentary hot buffet breakfast with cooked to order omelettes in our restaurant from 6:30am - 10:30am. Families love us and kids stay and eat free too!

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience for the squeaky box springs and your room view.. I am happy to report that we currently in the process of installing new platform beds which eliminates the need for any box springs.  All rooms have wood or tile floors which keep rooms smelling fresher and cleaner than carpets. We have many different views in the hotel and we could have changed your room to a room with a different view as well.

We have taken note of your positive and negative comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

If you would like to contact me direct about your stay, please email me at jeff@hollywoodhotel.net and we hope to serve you again soon.

Vaya con Dios,

Jeff Zarrinnam, CHA
Hotel Director
Hollywood Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Spent a week at the Hollywood Hotel with a friend and we would definitely stay here again if we are ever in the area. The courtyard was beautiful. Our room was overlooking it. We were on the 3rd floor. The first floor rooms on the courtyard didn't seem to have much privacy so I would recommend a higher floor. Our room (single queen sized bed) was on the small side, but was still plenty of room for two people. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were a little flat for my taste. The room and hotel were very clean. All the staff we interacted with were friendly. The breakfast each morning was a plus. They had made to order eggs and waffles. The line for eggs could get long, so some mornings I skipped it, but the omelets were worth the wait. There was also a good assortment of fruit, cereals, muffins, breads, and juices. The Vermont/Santa Monica red line metro station is very close by and the subways are quick and easy. The bus lines also run frequently. We didn't have a car and got everywhere we wanted to go easily. We did take the bus the wrong direction briefly, but as long as you know that the hotel is on the north side of Vermont Ave. that shouldn't be a problem. At first, we were a little worried about the area at night, but we had no problems and walked at night time often. I enjoyed my stay at the Hollywood Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aquamarina5775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just came back Thursday from a week at The Hollywood Hotel in Hollywood California and my wife, son and I enjoyed it very much. We had a room on the first floor 135 not far from the helpful people at the desk. Everything was satisfactory and some of the highlights were the Courtyard where we would sit in the morning and watch hummingbirds at the flowers! and see the cool of the morning start to burn off into the sunny pleasant days. My wife and son went to a comedy night downstairs one night and every morning we went to the excellent breakfast buffet I want to give a shout out compliment to Hugo at the omelet bar and everybody else there they all did a great job. The beds were good and the hotel room had all the amenities. Would like to come back some day

Room Tip: We like the first floor adjacent the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff in reception. Free wifi very fast. Good location near Red Line Metro stations Vermont/Santa Monica and Vermont/Sunset. Happy with a room facing the courtyard. Wouldn't want one facing Vermont, very busy street. Parking costs $20 per day, plenty of space during our stay. Room clean and spacious. Breakfast was alright. Only complaint was a very grumpy busboy and in general they didn't smile a lot in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSH1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights. Found location great as everything we did was via the redline subway.

Room basic. Lighting not great. Bathroom quite tired. Stayed in balcony room over looking courtysrd. Roon very hot AC didn't work great and couldn't open the balcony door due to smokers and their stinking ashtrays.

Also the first night there was a hissing sound that seemed to be coming from the room next door (not a hotel room -sounded like hot water unit). It had stopped after house keeping had been. Assumed something turned off... next night it was back. Not loud enough to keep us awake, but may be annoying to some people.

Breakfast was basic but substantial. Eggs limited to one serving. Boyfriend wanted extra and told no. Next day I ordered omlet and gave to him....

All staff were great. Wouldn't stay here again as nothing in area. Served our purpose.

Helpful?
Thank jovercorb
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I and my wifw were very satisfied With the hotel. Our room faced the "backyard" and that caused that we were away from the trafic-noice and could sleep undisturbed the whole night.
The hotel also had a good location for visiting different parts of Los Angeles. The parkingplace was very Nice and scured.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vidar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,503 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,825 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Normandie
#21 of 351 in Los Angeles
589 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#24 of 351 in Los Angeles
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hotel

Property: Hollywood Hotel
Address: 1160 North Vermont Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#57 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#65 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Hotel is Where All the Action Begins! Hollywood Hotel is conveniently located across the street from a Redline Metro ( Subway or Tube ) station at the corner of Vermont Avenue and Santa Monica Blvd.. Hollywood Hotel has just completed a restoration of it's 3000 sq ft courtyard, an outdoor oasis, which can hold up to 100 people. Inspired by the relaxed style of the Mediterranean, the courtyard features all weather vintage country style wicker sofas and lounge chairs, premium teak beam tables and a classic mission style fountain surrounded by giant bird of paradise and flowers. A perfect setting for relaxation and drinks after a day of Hollywood sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Los Angeles
Ramada Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Ramada Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing