We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay here again......no problem!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hollywood Hotel
Ranked #47 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would stay here again......no problem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Not much at all to fault here, rooms are great, they are clean and gave great amentities such as fridge, microwave, coffee machine and free wifi. Bit noisy with sirens during the night, but no big deal. Surrounding area looks a bit grungy around hotel, but had no problems having said that. Great transport facilties with bus and train stations very nearby. I found location quite central. Great little eateries around as well. Waba Grill was yummy as well as a little 'open' Mexican restuarant near train station.....best, authentic Mexican I ate in the U.S.
Complimentary breakfast in the morning is a winner!!!! All staff I dealt with were lovely. Would stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaMcKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    901
    373
    147
    168
See reviews for
663
696
149
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Let's start with the positive things about the hotel:
It's a really pretty building and conveys some of the typical Hollywood flair. The breakfast is AMAZING, a lot of variety, and the staff in the breakfast room was very polite and nice, preparing delicious omelets and waffles. However, I usually do not book hotels for good breakfast, but for service and a great room to stay. Unfortunately, both is not to be found at the Hollywood Hotel.

The rest, quite frankly, makes this hotel not worth the money. Not at all.
The concierges at the front desk are not only unhelpful, they are rude, impolite and unapologetic. Words like "sorry" or "apologies" do simply not come to their mind!
Example 1) Having booked the trip through lastminute.com, I had prepaid the trip before online. Upon arrival, at 10pm, after a day of long journey, it took the concierge almost 15 minutes to realize that. He kept insisting I was wrong and I had not prepaid and asked to charge my credit card the fee for two whole nights plus the standard security fee of $100. When he finally discovered that he was wrong (or at least the system) he is using, there were no apologies about this let alone an understanding that this was an awkward and more than inconvenient situation for us.
Example 2) There is no heater in the room, ok. The weekend we stayed there, temperatures went down to the mid 40s in the nights, so the room with the pretty high ceilings and wooden floor got cold and rather uncomfortable. My girlfriend was freezing, so I asked for a heater. At the same time I had discovered that the fridge stopped working and my drinks started to get warm. It was 11pm, there was only one concierge at the front desk, and he said that he couldn't do anything now because no one was around. Apparently, they also don't carry spare blankets or bath robes. Apologies? You would guess, but not at all.
The fridge got eventually fixed the next days. No sign of a heater, but hey, it's California, who needs a heater, when the AC is running?

Is that really the standard for a (better) 3*** hotel?

Parking is also quite pricy (~19/night), but at least is on a safe lot right next to the hotel.

Besides, the sauna was not working, and guess what? No apologies about that once more. At least I was told I will be called when it works again. I am still waiting for that call today. The bus stop right in front of the room added to the already very loud traffic from Vermont Ave.

Will not go there again, and I highly recommend staying in another place in Hollywood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OEmmensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I am furious!!!!! I had to be at Children's Hospital LA on October 26th-28th. I made a reservation on September 7th by phone for the Hollywood hotel and received a confirmation by e-mail. When I arrived from San Diego after a grueling drive, I was told that my resesrvation had been cancelled due to an invalid credit card and that there were no rooms. It was a snafu. My cards are fine but when I asked the dispassionate clerk why i wasn't notified so that I could rectify the issue, he said that wasn't their policy, that if the card is invalid they just automatically cancel. I was panicked and furious. He handed me a list and said that I could try the Comfort Inn or the Travel Lodge. I went to the Travel Lodge which was awful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here for one night,but I loved it! It is close to everything in Hollywood. It is within walking distance to restaurants and the Metro Red Line if you would like to explore the city. Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I will be staying here again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel was situated in a really great spot. Metro red line was a short 5 min walk and buses were always close to catch.
Bathroom was large. always clean towels, shower was strong. Beds were big and comfortable. Breakfast was really good and lots of variety. Laundry mat was useful as well as iron, mini fridge, tv.

The only slight issue was the rooms at night was quite dark. There was no main light to light the room. there were lots of lamps but it wasn't enough. But wasn't a major issue as we were only in our room at night to sleep.

Overall I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Eat breakfast every morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlmessina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a couple of nights stay at the Hollywood Hotel. A pleasant atmosphere with friendly staff.
Down the road there are numerous nice places to eat and drink.

Very close to the Metro. Just a quick few stops to Universal Studios. Enjoyed some cheap Mexican food at the outside eateries near the metro. Delicious!
There is also a supermarket very close for anything you might need.

The rooms are clean and of a decent size. There is a nice courtyard to relax in and a gym and pool that were nice enough although I didn't get to use them.

As a travel agent, I will have no hesitation in recommending this property to my clients.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimGill_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for a week with my brother. Huge room with two double beds, own shower room, balcony, TV etc. Only slight disappointment was no Nintendo console as advertised.

Relatively quiet area and very close to the Metro and the bus stops. Area isn't too bad, no real trouble that I noticed but we weren't out after 8pm at night.

Good selection at breakfast with eggs and waffles made to order, also cereal, drinks and bagles, pastries etc. More than enough to get you going for the day and saved us the hassle of somewhere to eat.

Great value considering where it is - only 15 minutes away from Hollywood on the train - and would stay again if I was going to LA. Only reason the sleep quality is so low is because I struggle badly with jet lag!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMTID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#17 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
The Garland
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,283 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
Hotel Normandie
#20 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hotel

Property: Hollywood Hotel
Address: 1160 North Vermont Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#57 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#65 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Hotel is Where All the Action Begins! Hollywood Hotel is conveniently located across the street from a Redline Metro ( Subway or Tube ) station at the corner of Vermont Avenue and Santa Monica Blvd.. Hollywood Hotel has just completed a restoration of it's 3000 sq ft courtyard, an outdoor oasis, which can hold up to 100 people. Inspired by the relaxed style of the Mediterranean, the courtyard features all weather vintage country style wicker sofas and lounge chairs, premium teak beam tables and a classic mission style fountain surrounded by giant bird of paradise and flowers. A perfect setting for relaxation and drinks after a day of Hollywood sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hollywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Los Angeles
Ramada Hollywood Near Universal Studios
Ramada Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing