We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience, fantastic Value.”
Review of Dunes Inn - Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Ranked #101 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great Experience, fantastic Value.”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend for 4 nights nearing the end of out month travelling across America, and I honestly cannot fault this motel. Fantastic value for money, the room was clean, the staff was helpful and no task was too much. They helped up arrange our shuttle to the airports and as it was out first time in LA and the guy at the front desk recommended us with the best places to go and how to get around, they really made our stay the best it could be.
Seven eleven is right next door and Starbucks is just down the road.
It's in a great location although I didn't feel totally safe walking around in the night, it wasn't just the area of the hotel I felt that it was everywhere in LA - a lot of homeless people about. I would still 100% stay again on my next visit.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DrecklyMaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review of our establishment. We pride ourselves with our friendly and helpful staff and clean rooms and I appreciate you pointing those features out.

There are a lot homeless in LA but, generally, they are not a problem and we don't have any complaints from our guests about harassment.

I am pleased you would stay here again, if you visit LA in the future and we look forward to seeing you if you do.

Peter R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    199
    135
    42
    19
See reviews for
116
192
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at hte Dunes on Sunset this past weekend. The room with tax was $200 per nite. Guess that is what you would pay for an inexpensive hotel in Hollywood. The room was very old looking--no modern upgrades. There was a flat screen TV, 2 double beds, a decent bathroom and a small frig. There was no pool, clock radio and the air conditioner was troublesome. If you had the air on it was too cold. Without the air it was too hot. It was a wall unit not central air.

If you are not looking to stay at a place that is upgraded and a little nicer, this place is okay if you are using it as a home base to sleep and shower.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiegotravelers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for sending a review of our establishment and I'm sorry you were a little disappointed in the room. We have recently completer some remodeling but it is still a work in progress. We will, in the not too distant future, replace the A/c units and flat screen TVs will be put in all the rooms.

Again, I am sorry you weren't entirely happy with your stay at the Dunes but, fortunately, we get very few negative comments.

Peter R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

I could not have done better than this, staying at Dunes was a highlight in my trip to USA. The staff have impeccable manners and were the most helpful I've ever come across anywhere without being too obsequious. No task was too much or too hard for them. It was like staying with friends. I was impressed with the level of cleanliness and the services offered for my stay. I have paid more and gotten less so often now that Dunes Inn was a complete surprise. Definitely a diamond in the rough. I recommend them highly to all my friends and travel agent but most of all I thank the staff for the fond memories I have of LA.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuadagnuoloLina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review. I can honestly say that is one of the best reviews I have seen in a long time. I showed it to our staff who greatly appreciated your kind words

Thank you again, and I hope you will stay with us on your next trip to LA.

Peter R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

First understand that this is a motel for around $115/night in Hollywood. With that understanding, one does not expect the Four Seasons. What you do get here is a decent sized, very clean room, with a refrigerator, good air conditioning, and extremely helpful staff. The wi-fi is also free but can sometimes can be a bit slow. The televisions are not flat screen, but that did not bother me. The person at the desk said that replacing them is in their plans. The parking lot is right at your door and is fairly large. We never had trouble finding a space. The hotel is very convenient to Hollywood Blvd, Thai town, and Melrose Ave. it is also a short walk to the Metro. Because.both Hollywood Blvd and Sunset Blvd are very long streets you won't be able to walk to everything in the area. We attended a show at the Pantages Theater, which was walkable. By the way if you can get a chance, take a look inside at the Pantages, it is a very cool old building.
The people at the front desk were exceptionally helpful. They did say that hey are working on doing some updates.The restaurant "Dreams" was good with quick service, but there were also several restaurants nearby. There is a Seven Eleven just about next door.
The area seemed fairly safe. There were a lot of people around. It looked like a lot of Los Angeles. The views are non-existent. There is a Home Depot across the street, but if you are in LA for a visit you probably aren't hanging out at the hotel anyway.
As far as noise goes, it was not particularly noisy, I could not hear the other rooms. There may be some street noise as Sunset Blvd is very busy, but it did not bother me.
We also, took the Dearly Departed Tour of Hollywood, which I would recommend, but not for young children. We walked from the motel to their business, which was a little over a mile.
I would not hesitate to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CindyBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
What a great review of our establishment. Thank you so much. Our staff are always helpful and I thank you for mentioning it.

Our improvements are a work in progress and, yes, we will be installing flat screen tv's in the not too distant future.

Thank you again, for your kind words and we hope to see you on your next visit to Hollywood.

Peter R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Had to make a trip to Los Angeles and our usual spots were booked (Father's Day?), so we searched online and settled on the Dunes on Sunset, mainly because of location and comparative price. Any hotel in the general area of downtown/Westside is going to be overpriced--that's a given in LA. Add on anywhere from $75 to $300 for the privilege of location.

We stayed for one night. I would call this motel Clean. Safe. Functional.

Parking and wifi are free. It's a block off of 101, close to "Little Armenia" and "Thai Town." 10-15 minutes (depending on traffic) to the downtown. The guy at the front desk could not have been nicer. Our room was clean.

It's just that I spent $181.00 for this room. There's no pool. The "towels" are threadbare at best. The sink is jammed into the tiniest space I've ever seen in a motel room. You literally have to scrunch up your shoulders to fit in there to brush your teeth. No iron/ironing board. No lamps (all the light is up in the ceiling--odd). The A/C comes from an outdoor unit that is placed inside up on a closet shelf. That television set is older than I am, I swear. No flat screens? One pillow each....that's all you get!

If I needed to, I would go back here, but reluctantly. It's nothing special--just safe, clean, and functional. And way, way, way overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
First of all, let me thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Establishment from which I was pleased to note that you the room clean, the staff friendly and the location of the hotel convenient for your needs.

Now, if I may, let me address the specific points you made in your 4th paragraph.

As you clearly saw, space is rather limited and, because of the, you felt the room was inadequate.
Irons and ironing boards and extra pillows are available at the front desk - by the way - there are two pillows on every bed, not one. I do realize that two are not sufficient for everybody but, as I say, you can always request extra.

You probably noticed that our rooms were, not too long ago, remodeled. It is a work in progress and, in the near future, flat screen TVs will be installed and mounted on the wall. Provision was made for that at the time of remodeling. Also, a conscious decision was made to do away with the bed side lamps in favor of overhead lighting and most of our guests find that preferable.

I noticed the price you were charged which, I agree is rather high. You obviously made your reservation on line through a Travel Company and their commission is included in that amount. The hotel does not charge that much although prices are a bit higher June - September. It is often cheaper to book directly with the hotel cutting out the middle man.

Peter R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2014

very nice motel at the end of sunset blvd. near Hollywood. which has a lot of parking space.
old fashioned but very comfortable bed and bathroom. friendly and helpful staff - bought for us discount tickets to the Universal Studios and advice us how to get there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Tsvi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our establishment. I appreciate that you took the time to write. We take pride in the fact that we have very helpful staff. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will stay with us again when next you visit L.A.

Peter R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived and opened the door to our room, we saw stains on the walls and carpets. Followed by the extremely old TV that wouldn't work, and the lamps that wouldn't turn on. The closet, was missing the door. It looked as if someone had yanked it out. We left the room to look for some other vacant ones. As we left, the front office clerk wanted to charge us $50 for slightly using it for hardly 10 mins! Unfortunately, we weren't able to find any. It was 11pm so we had no choice but to comeback to this one. There was a different front desk clerk this time, and he told us that the last clerk was not supposed to charge us any fees. So he gave us a room for $100. Pretty rude how he was taking money from us. This is the worst hotel I've ever been to. I'd rate it .5 out of 5 stars. Never coming back here again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicoleGarces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
I am the Front Office Manager for the Dunes Inn, Sunset in Hollywood, yet I received your rather scathing review of the Dunes Inn on Wilshire Blvd Anybody reading this review will, however, assume that you are describing the Hollywood property. We have recently been completely remodeled and 95% of reviews are excellent with 4 and 5 stars.

While I deeply regret the disappointing experience you had at Wilshire, because I am not employed there, I really can't comment on the details you describe, except to say that improvements to the property are a work in progress. New bathrooms have been installed in all the rooms and the swimming pool has just been remodeled. Other major improvements will follow soon, including news carpets and flat screen TVs.

Our Sunset property has recently been completely remodeled and 95% of reviews are excellent with 4 and 5 stars.

Peter R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#110 of 351 in Los Angeles
667 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#116 of 351 in Los Angeles
633 reviews
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#64 of 351 in Los Angeles
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Hollywood
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
#160 of 351 in Los Angeles
412 reviews
Hollywood
Economy Inn Hollywood
Economy Inn Hollywood
#205 of 351 in Los Angeles
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Inn - Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Inn - Sunset

Property: Dunes Inn - Sunset
Address: 5625 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunes Inn - Sunset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Dunes Inn on Sunset, you can enjoy the charms of historic Hollywood during your stay in Los Angeles. You can choose from a single Queen size, two Double beds or two Queen beds. Each room is equipped with satellite television, mini-refrigerator, ice box, air conditioning/heating unit and hairdryer for your convenience. Every room projects a tranquil environment so that you can feel at home after a long day exploring the thrills of Los Angeles. All of our rooms are non-smoking for your safety, and valid ID and credit card is required upon checking in, even if the reservation is prepaid. Our Hollywood CA hotel is located half a block east of the 101 freeway in Hollywood on famous Sunset Boulevard. In-hotel services include free wireless internet, parking, ice & vending machines on-site and a laundromat down the street. Some members of our helpful and friendly staff have been working as long as 20 years to make our guests feel comfortable. Our front desk is open 24 hours to accommodate your needs at any time. We can answer questions, booking tours and some shows, as well as assist with shuttle service ( including a surcharge) to any destination. For your dining needs, we suggest choosing the Dreams Café and Lounge next door to the Dunes Inn Sunset. Our Sunset location is located very close to the famous Hollywood, so it is ideal for business travelers looking to catch a show or concert at the Pantages, Fonda, Dolby Theatre or Hollywood Bowl. Those looking to experience Hollywood through Hollywood and Highland, the Walk of Fame and the Wax Museum can purchase discount tickets through our front desk. You can also take an early morning jog or hike through Griffith Park, or explore the wonders of the Observatory. You can also take the Metro from Hollywood/Western to downtown Los Angeles, Universal Studios, Santa Monica and many more locations around Los Angeles. We are located 17 miles from the Los Angeles International airport and 8 miles from the Bob Hope/Burbank airport. At the Dunes Inn, we take pride in accommodating guests as if they are family. Book a room at our Sunset location today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunes Inn - Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn - Sunset Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing