We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth your money.”
Review of Dunes Inn - Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Ranked #102 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived and opened the door to our room, we saw stains on the walls and carpets. Followed by the extremely old TV that wouldn't work, and the lamps that wouldn't turn on. The closet, was missing the door. It looked as if someone had yanked it out. We left the room to look for some other vacant ones. As we left, the front office clerk wanted to charge us $50 for slightly using it for hardly 10 mins! Unfortunately, we weren't able to find any. It was 11pm so we had no choice but to comeback to this one. There was a different front desk clerk this time, and he told us that the last clerk was not supposed to charge us any fees. So he gave us a room for $100. Pretty rude how he was taking money from us. This is the worst hotel I've ever been to. I'd rate it .5 out of 5 stars. Never coming back here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NicoleGarces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

I am the Front Office Manager for the Dunes Inn, Sunset in Hollywood, yet I received your rather scathing review of the Dunes Inn on Wilshire Blvd Anybody reading this review will, however, assume that you are describing the Hollywood property. We have recently been completely remodeled and 95% of reviews are excellent with 4 and 5 stars.

While I deeply regret the disappointing experience you had at Wilshire, because I am not employed there, I really can't comment on the details you describe, except to say that improvements to the property are a work in progress. New bathrooms have been installed in all the rooms and the swimming pool has just been remodeled. Other major improvements will follow soon, including news carpets and flat screen TVs.

Our Sunset property has recently been completely remodeled and 95% of reviews are excellent with 4 and 5 stars.

Peter R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 539 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has some of the best customer service I have experienced.
Jarrod and your colleagues thank you for your patience and your willingness to help out our family. Our family were in a tricky situation due to missing flights and it is an asset to any establishment when their customer service team is excellent. Thank u for the great service!!! (My apologies if I have spelt your name incorrectly)

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank latay57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments about our office staff. I am pleased that they were able to assist you and I am grateful that you took the time to write. We hope to see you again when next you visit LA.

Peter R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This place isn't luxurious, but was clean and functional, and less than $100 per night for a room in Hollywood. Slightly disturbed by someone knocking on our door at 1.30am, as a motel with external doors in this area there may be a little concern about security.

Check in staff were very helpful, and the owner found us in the restaurant the following morning to check we had been dealt with well - nice touch!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartUK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you for your review of our Establishment. We do pride ourselves in having helpful staff and clean rooms and I appreciate you pointing that out.

I am sorry you were disturbed by someone knocking at your door in the early hours. We very rarely have that problem but isolated incidents do happen. Again, I am sorry about that.

Peter R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Very comfortable and clean hotel, inexpensive and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Walking distance to great places to eat, and a short cab ride to the sights of Hollywood. The area looked a bit rough at first, but we felt fine walking around at night. Was a bit noisy, but not enough to keep us from sleeping.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chortop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thank you so much for the great review of our Establishment. We do pride ourselves in having a friendly and helpful front desk staff and it was kind of you to point that out.

The hotel is ideally situated for the local attractions and, as you say, our rooms are kept very clean.

Again, thank you for taking the trouble to write and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Hollywood.

Peter R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Downtown L.A. has gotten unbelievably expensive over the last few years even before "extras" like parking and Wi-Fi are added on, so, I was very glad to find the Dunes on my most recent trip there. The rooms are clean and comfortable and roughly comparable to a Motel 6 and the free parking and Wi-Fi were also much appreciated! (Both can easily set you back an additional $25+ each at other L.A. properties). Thanks to upgrades to the L.A. Metro, a few block walk and a short metro ride will get you to the heart of Hollywood Boulevard (which I recommend, rather than driving). If you need to get downtown or to the Valley, the hotel's proximity to the 101 is also a big plus. Finally, the on-site restaurant is a great place for breakfast and the prices are so cheap you'll feel like you've time-warped to the 1990s. :)

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, although the entire property is pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you so much for a great review of our property. We really appreciate your kind remarks and hope that, after reading it, people will be encouraged to book with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to you staying with us on your next visit to LA.

Peter R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at Dunes Inn - Sunset on our honeymoon. The staff were very helpful and the room was good value for what we paid. It was a short walk from the Metro underground station which we found very convenient. The walk to get there however was a bit dodgy late at night. It was great to have 7/11 and a few cheap eats next door as well. The rooms were neat, tidy and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Viverama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you so much for your excellent review of our establishment. We pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms and I was pleased that you mentioned these items specifically.

I trust you enjoyed your honeymoon in Hollywood and we look forward to seeing you again in the future,

Peter R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

For a large and clean room in a fairly convenient location in maybe a not so desirable area, this place is very good value. Great parking availability and a metro station a couple of blocks away for access to the Staples Centre/ down town area, but most things in the main Hollywood area are a half hour walk away or less.
Got a good nights sleep for all 4 nights I was there which surprised me as it is located right on Sunset Blvd. The older gentleman at the front counter was not overly friendly but I only went into the office at arrival and departure, so this wasn't really a big deal.
Overall, it was a clean and comfortable stay for someone on somewhat of a tight budget in a good location to get to attractions especially if you have a car, and would stay there again if there are no other stand-outs that are new the next time I visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for your kind review of our establishment. We not only pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms, but also on the friendliness of the staff. I was, therefore, a little surprised to learn that you thought a member of the front office staff was not as friendly as you would have liked. I can only apologize to you and assure you that whatever occurred to make you unhappy was an isolated incident and that it didm't spoil your stay.

Peter R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#120 of 353 in Los Angeles
685 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#119 of 353 in Los Angeles
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#58 of 353 in Los Angeles
988 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Hollywood
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
#147 of 353 in Los Angeles
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Inn - Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Inn - Sunset

Address: 5625 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $104 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunes Inn - Sunset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Dunes Inn on Sunset, you can enjoy the charms of historic Hollywood during your stay in Los Angeles. You can choose from a single Queen size, two Double beds or two Queen beds. Each room is equipped with satellite television, mini-refrigerator, ice box, air conditioning/heating unit and hairdryer for your convenience. Every room projects a tranquil environment so that you can feel at home after a long day exploring the thrills of Los Angeles. All of our rooms are non-smoking for your safety, and valid ID and credit card is required upon checking in, even if the reservation is prepaid. Our Hollywood CA hotel is located half a block east of the 101 freeway in Hollywood on famous Sunset Boulevard. In-hotel services include free wireless internet, parking, ice & vending machines on-site and a laundromat down the street. Some members of our helpful and friendly staff have been working as long as 20 years to make our guests feel comfortable. Our front desk is open 24 hours to accommodate your needs at any time. We can answer questions, booking tours and some shows, as well as assist with shuttle service ( including a surcharge) to any destination. For your dining needs, we suggest choosing the Dreams Café and Lounge next door to the Dunes Inn Sunset. Our Sunset location is located very close to the famous Hollywood, so it is ideal for business travelers looking to catch a show or concert at the Pantages, Fonda, Dolby Theatre or Hollywood Bowl. Those looking to experience Hollywood through Hollywood and Highland, the Walk of Fame and the Wax Museum can purchase discount tickets through our front desk. You can also take an early morning jog or hike through Griffith Park, or explore the wonders of the Observatory. You can also take the Metro from Hollywood/Western to downtown Los Angeles, Universal Studios, Santa Monica and many more locations around Los Angeles. We are located 17 miles from the Los Angeles International airport and 8 miles from the Bob Hope/Burbank airport. At the Dunes Inn, we take pride in accommodating guests as if they are family. Book a room at our Sunset location today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dunes Inn - Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn - Sunset Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing