We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunes Inn - Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Ranked #99 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Clean and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on Mar 20th for two nights and was extremely happy with the nice clean rooms and friendly staff. They also have a great restaurant located at the hotel called Dreams, in which the food is very good as well as the service. If you are going to stay in Hollywood for a vacation for business or visit family like I did this is a great place to stay. Very centrally located in Hollywood. The only thing that's somewhat bothered me was there was homeless people not on the property but next door and on the street but anywhere in Hollywood you're going to find that. Again, overall I was happy with my stay and will stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jean1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your very good review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves that we have a very friendly staff that give excellent service both at the front desk and in the restaurant

I note your comments about the homeless in the area. As you said, they are not on the premises but they do walk past the entrance on Sunset Blvd. Fortunately we don't have much of a problem with them bothering our guests.

Thank you, again for your kind review and we look forward to your return.

Peter R,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    193
    132
    39
    18
See reviews for
111
181
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

I recently stayed at the Dunes Inn-Sunset (March 15, 2014) and upon arrival it wasn't bad. The guy in the lobby was friendly and the rooms were clean. The rooms were on the small side, but they were a good size for the price. I booked this room due to reviews I saw on Trip Advisor and it looked like a good value. After arriving back at our room on Sunday night, there were police and firemen in the room right below our room which was room 218. I spoke with the nice man in the lobby to find out what was going on only to find out the man below us died from a heroin overdose in room 118. We quickly packed our bags as it was uncomfortable staying in a room directly above where a man had just died from a drug addiction. Upon checking out, the man in the lobby was nice and said that this doesn't usually happen and that we should contact Noah or Queenie to obtain a refund due to checking out early and the events that took place. Judging by the reviews this would be no problem.

After calling to speak with Noah or Queenie, I cannot say enough about how poorly they treat their customers. They showed no sympathy about what happened and did not process a refund as "it's hotel policy". I completely understand that there is a policy in place, but due to the events of a man dying right below us they could have processed a refund. Any person who knows how to run a business knows that word of mouth is powerful and that a refund should be made for the horrible experience. I know I didn't want to see the coroner show up and haul a body out in a body bag and neither did my travel companions. The man on the phone proceeded to tell me that "we don't want customers like you anyway" and hung up. Needless to say, it was quite the experience dealing with them and I would highly suggest finding a different place to stay.

Room Tip: Go a half a mile to the west a choose a different hotel in a better area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brandon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
First of all, may I say that I was pleased that you thought our front office staff was friendly and our rooms clean and good value for the price you paid.

The unfortunate incident which occurred on the Sunday evening when somebody died in the room below yours was, understandably, disturbing to you and your party and the ensuing commotion when the police, ambulance and coroner arrived did not, I am sure, help matters.

Now, let me address the matter of a refund. Your reservation was from Saturday, 15th March for 3 nights, departing on Tuesday. It was a non-refundable reservation which means that, in exchange for a lower rate, should you cut short your stay for any reason whatsoever, you would not get your money back. Because of what happened, however, we decided not to charge you for the 3rd night but, as you didn't leave the hotel until 11pm on the Sunday (and the hotel was sold out) we could not refund the second night as well.

We have been in business since 1973 and this was the FIRST time anyone has passed away in one of our rooms from ANY cause. I am sure you will agree that we have absolutely no control over what a guest does in the privacy of his room.

I understand that you were upset following a conversation with hotel management and you vowed to "ruin the hotel" by posting a bad review on the various review web sites and I see that you have done just that. I do think that your comments on line were grossly inaccurate, unfair, totally exaggerated and, I must say, rather vindictive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in March with a child. At check in the gentleman was VERY helpful and friendly, offering us a quiet corner room on the second floor to accommodate travelling with a child. He provided maps, tour leaflets and info on Hollywood without me having to ask.
The room was clean. No problems with bedding or sheets. The room was well lit with pot-lights. The room had a good sized fridge. We also had a wardrobe area with hangars, and plenty of space for our 3 rollerboards bags. The bathroom looked brand new, maybe recently renovated? It was very nice, and the towels were also clean (and fluffier than expected).
During my stay, I had to use the computer in the check in area to print some paperwork and again the staff were helpful and accommodating.
My only complaint about this hotel is the Wi-Fi. We had a terrible time trying to maintain a connection, which was disappointing.
It is great value for money though. Clean (most importantly), accommodating and a great location for exploring Hollywood and the surrounding area by car.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randomhotelinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
I was pleased you had an enjoyable experience staying with us. We pride ourselves that ALL our front desk staff are very helpful to our guests.

You were right in your observation about the bathroom - all our rooms were completely renovated just over a year ago.

I am sorry you had a disappointing experience with the wi-fi. It does tend to be a little slow when there are a lot of people using it at once but we are hoping to upgrade the service in the not too distant future which should improve the situation.

Peter R.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Dunes Inn Sunset for 4 nights (March 4-7, 2014). Room 225. The location was so convenient (just a 20 min walk to the Chinese Theater and Hollywood Walk of Fame Area). The room was clean, the bed was really comfortable and the gentleman at the front desk the night we arrived was very helpful and provided us with an area map and some other brochures. It was right beside a 7-11 where we picked up our coffee every morning. The room didn't have an iron/ironing board so we had to settle for hanging our clothes up in the bathroom and letting the steam do its magic, which actually worked out okay. But I'm sure if we called down to the front desk, they could have provided us with an iron/ironing board.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review of our establishment in Hollywood. We appreciate the fact that you were pleased with our service and look forward to seeing you here in the future.

Peter R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a really good place to stay. It is clean, staff is friendly and help with anything you need (including booking tours), close to Hollywood blv and to supermarkets, value for money etc. Overall a wonderful experience and will be going back soon.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunesinn, Manager at Dunes Inn - Sunset, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your review and very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to definitely help all those who visit so it's like their second home! Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Nice staff, especially the kind man with glasses at the reception in the afternoon. I got the room 116 (ground floor) which had two double beds. Room was clean. Bathroom was nice even though a little small. Built in robes would have been nice as there was no room for my back-pack and perhaps a few other pieces of luggage to be stowed-away. TV, Chest of Drawers, Fridge and Air-Conditioning was a nice touch for such a small room. Perfect location. Highly recommended. Great value for your money and close to all the landmarks and Train stations. Oh and free internet being the icing on the cake as that made all the difference when I could just book all my flights, super-shuttle trips, banking, e-mails, and all other stuff done through the comfort of my room for FREE. They are nice enough to provide a free printer service at the reception too. I think the best part was that the reception staff and even the security guards at night were very polite, helpful and always accommodating any requests - that simply beats anything, seriously! Highly recommended. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

As long as you understand that this is a motel you will find Dunes very good. Clean, good location (esp you are planning to drive to LA from SF, you don't even have to experience the traffic in LA).

Funny that the rooms seem to be recently done up, but they keep the motel style bed covers. Wouldn't just white sheets make the room a bit more classy?

Not for romantic gateway of course but this is ok for a night or two.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank XtinaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#110 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#128 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#67 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Hollywood
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
#163 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Hollywood
Economy Inn Hollywood
Economy Inn Hollywood
#200 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Inn - Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Inn - Sunset

Property: Dunes Inn - Sunset
Address: 5625 West Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunes Inn - Sunset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Dunes Inn on Sunset, you can enjoy the charms of historic Hollywood during your stay in Los Angeles. You can choose from a single Queen size, two Double beds or two Queen beds. Each room is equipped with satellite television, mini-refrigerator, ice box, air conditioning/heating unit and hairdryer for your convenience. Every room projects a tranquil environment so that you can feel at home after a long day exploring the thrills of Los Angeles. All of our rooms are non-smoking for your safety, and valid ID and credit card is required upon checking in, even if the reservation is prepaid. Our Hollywood CA hotel is located half a block east of the 101 freeway in Hollywood on famous Sunset Boulevard. In-hotel services include free wireless internet, parking, ice & vending machines on-site and a laundromat down the street. Some members of our helpful and friendly staff have been working as long as 20 years to make our guests feel comfortable. Our front desk is open 24 hours to accommodate your needs at any time. We can answer questions, booking tours and some shows, as well as assist with shuttle service ( including a surcharge) to any destination. For your dining needs, we suggest choosing the Dreams Café and Lounge next door to the Dunes Inn Sunset. Our Sunset location is located very close to the famous Hollywood, so it is ideal for business travelers looking to catch a show or concert at the Pantages, Fonda, Dolby Theatre or Hollywood Bowl. Those looking to experience Hollywood through Hollywood and Highland, the Walk of Fame and the Wax Museum can purchase discount tickets through our front desk. You can also take an early morning jog or hike through Griffith Park, or explore the wonders of the Observatory. You can also take the Metro from Hollywood/Western to downtown Los Angeles, Universal Studios, Santa Monica and many more locations around Los Angeles. We are located 17 miles from the Los Angeles International airport and 8 miles from the Bob Hope/Burbank airport. At the Dunes Inn, we take pride in accommodating guests as if they are family. Book a room at our Sunset location today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunes Inn - Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn - Sunset Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing