We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected”
Review of Dunes Inn - Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Ranked #97 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and the cafe was better than it first looked. Beds were cmfortable and shower great. However, a woman knocked on a door telling us to be quite at 7am, so it would appear the walls are thin as we were not talking loudly! But we never woke up and considering we had jet lag had a good nights sleep here!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 550 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Spent my first night in the USA here. Have given the place 4 out of 5 as a motel (which it is). I have reviewed some of the previous bad reviews and they all seem to view it as a hotel. This is patently unfair.
The man at reception at the time of my arrival was British, and could not have been more helpful. The Restaurant onsite served good honest food at the right price, and the service was excellent.
Being right on Sunset Boulevard there was a bit of noise, but this was not helped by a Police emergency a few blocks up. Being jetlagged I ended up sleeping like a baby anyway.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs and at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I had to spend a night in LA and hadn't planned to do so. I didn't have a reservation and after several calls, couldn't find a room or didn't want to pay the rates for the rooms that were available. We went to our favorite budget hotel in the area and it was booked. As we drove down Sunset Blvd, this motel was well lit and we pulled in. (Where are all the Vacancy/No Vacancy Signs of yesteryear?). Fortunately, they had a double available.

We were 2 women travelling together. It was about 9pm. The motel wraps around the parking lot so you feel safer walking to your car and again it is very well lit. If you get there early enough you could probably park in front of your room. I heard several sirens but was exhausted and didn't hear anything the rest of the night. However, it is on a main Blvd and is a large motel so it does have the potential to be loud. My room was on the 2nd floor so I didn't have to contend with someone being loud above my room.

As far as cleanliness, my room was very clean and comes with a refrigerator. There is a Starbucks, Subway Sandwich, 7-11 and laundromat next door.

I have stayed in this neighborhood several times before. As a woman I would not go out and return late at night in this area. However, every time I've booked a room in this area, I have gotten up early and grabbed a coffee and walked to Griffith Park and surrounding neighborhoods to explore. So daytime feels okay...night maybe not..

I don't know if I would bring a family here. There is no pool for kids to swim after a day of touristing and really no play area. So that means the kids would have to stay in the room. And again even though it feels okay to walk in the day, the neighborhood is a bit sketchy so I probably would choose another motel if I were travelling with kids.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank labonvoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

So yes, we all know Hollywood, but we didn't know it to be like this!!

We found this place through trip advisor/expedia and i guess in a way it was worth what we paid. the pictures of the Dunes Inn however, were nothing like the real place. It is definitely not all bright and chirpy like the picture, quite opposite in fact. It looks like one of those motels you see in a movie where bad things happen! As girls travelling, we were first afraif for our safety but thought we'd man up and get over it.

Our location was good, close to the Chinese theatre, Hollywood walk of fame etc, however getting there by foot was a bit of a downside, especially for girls. The Dunes Inn sunset was located where most "bums" and "unique" people liked to hang out. There are many convinient stores, laundromats, pharmacies around which we found very helpful, and most were open 24hrs as well. Our first night was a little scary as all we heard all night was sirens and loud cars, but i guess thats hollywood!!

On arrival we found that the man at the front desk wasn't a happy chap and figured everyone else would be the same, but by the second day when we wanted to do Universal Studios the guys at the front desk were very helpful and kind. So it made us feel a little bit better about the place.

All up, though it wasn't what we expected we still got to see and enjoy the real Hollywood. I would recommend this place for backpackers, youth who can rough it out a little but defintely not for families! Go a little up sunset blvd towards Beverly hills!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shenka26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Perfect location, nice and comfortable rooms, wi-fi, absolutely recommend this place during your LA stay and exploring Hollywood! Staff was very friendly and if you wanted to go out, everything was in a walking distance. Safe neighbourhood as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dydzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Thank god I arrived here before dark!!!!

There is a (very large grumpy) man who works at the front desk who clearly hates his job! Didnt lift his head to greet us upon arrival! When I asked him why I was signing for a blank credit card authorisation he pointed to one of MANY signs, ok so that was fine ... The reason I asked was because any place I've been to in the century did a pre auth on an electronic card machine!!! We were handed the 'precious' TV remote and room key! Nothing else was grunted at us!!! When I tried to ask for general directions to the 'walk of fame' he grunted back to tell me my room number again!!!

As it was a low budget hotel we were not expecting much. The bathroom sink area has been newly renovated and is clean! I had just read on trip advisor when I arrived someone was attacked by bed bugs so didn't sleep a wink!!!

I would suggest asking for a room on top level as it sounds like a heard of baby elephants is living upstairs!!!

There is an airconditioning unit in the room, let's just say I've been to quieter raves so you will spend the night sticky in summer unless your deaf!!

The area is ROUGH!!!! No other way to describe it! We made sure to be back each night before dark!!! I slept with our chair bolted up against the door!!

If you are lucky enough to be greeted by the other men who work in reception they are by far more helpful than the aforementioned!! If we had met these 2 gentlemen upon arrival we would have saved ourselves from needless wandering around the ghetto trying to figure out were to go!!!! On our last evening I asked about getting to universal studios and we were presented with an extremely helpful map and metro guide which is only a short walk through the ghetto if you know where you are going! Easy when someone takes the time to show you!

My tip... Don't carry valuables around in this area!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovesibiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel has an incredible and excellent service, very clean, good location, the reception staff are very friendly and helpful.

Most importantly the customer pays the exact amount without any alteration or additionlas surprises charges in the C.C. with the amount they want.

The honesty of the staff is super good .... I highly recommend this nice hotel.
Unfortunately I have no photos, but I have a short video of the room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#122 of 355 in Los Angeles
692 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#121 of 355 in Los Angeles
702 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#60 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,002 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Hollywood
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
#147 of 355 in Los Angeles
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Inn - Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Inn - Sunset

Address: 5625 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $103 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunes Inn - Sunset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Dunes Inn on Sunset, you can enjoy the charms of historic Hollywood during your stay in Los Angeles. You can choose from a single Queen size, two Double beds or two Queen beds. Each room is equipped with satellite television, mini-refrigerator, ice box, air conditioning/heating unit and hairdryer for your convenience. Every room projects a tranquil environment so that you can feel at home after a long day exploring the thrills of Los Angeles. All of our rooms are non-smoking for your safety, and valid ID and credit card is required upon checking in, even if the reservation is prepaid. Our Hollywood CA hotel is located half a block east of the 101 freeway in Hollywood on famous Sunset Boulevard. In-hotel services include free wireless internet, parking, ice & vending machines on-site and a laundromat down the street. Some members of our helpful and friendly staff have been working as long as 20 years to make our guests feel comfortable. Our front desk is open 24 hours to accommodate your needs at any time. We can answer questions, booking tours and some shows, as well as assist with shuttle service ( including a surcharge) to any destination. For your dining needs, we suggest choosing the Dreams Café and Lounge next door to the Dunes Inn Sunset. Our Sunset location is located very close to the famous Hollywood, so it is ideal for business travelers looking to catch a show or concert at the Pantages, Fonda, Dolby Theatre or Hollywood Bowl. Those looking to experience Hollywood through Hollywood and Highland, the Walk of Fame and the Wax Museum can purchase discount tickets through our front desk. You can also take an early morning jog or hike through Griffith Park, or explore the wonders of the Observatory. You can also take the Metro from Hollywood/Western to downtown Los Angeles, Universal Studios, Santa Monica and many more locations around Los Angeles. We are located 17 miles from the Los Angeles International airport and 8 miles from the Bob Hope/Burbank airport. At the Dunes Inn, we take pride in accommodating guests as if they are family. Book a room at our Sunset location today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dunes Inn - Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn - Sunset Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing