We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room for it's price, although it's far away from LA's attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Pacific Coast Highway
Ranked #94 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Rodeway Inn & Suites in the mid October.

Pros:
+ Big clean rooms (room quality was better than some 5 star hotels in Europe)
+ Really nice staff
+ Refridgerators at room
+ Price
+ Redondo Beach is really near, if you stay here, don't miss it!

Cons:
- Pacific Highway (the road nearby) is 6 lane highway, and the traffic's noice was disturbing our sleep. Bringing earplugs helps.
- The hotel is really far away from the attractions. By car it took us about 45-60 minutes to reach the main attractions of LA (Santa Monica, Downtown, Hollywood, Beverly Hills). The distance is about 40 miles (60 km)
- Harbor City feels bit shady area, and we were bit afraid of moving after the sunset.


From outside the Inn looks exactly like other inns/motels in LA. How ever, when we went to check in, it was clear why this got so great reviews at Tripadvisor. The lobby was clean and nice, and the guy at the reception was super helpful. He was prepared to show from the map the must see areas at LA and showed the best driving routes to the sightseeing areas. This driving routes thing was a vital for our succesful trip, as the Harbor City (where the Hotel is) quite far away from all the attractions.



Rooms were really big and clean. Beds were comfortable, refridgerator and was a great bonus and television got HBO channels. For us this was a great bonus, as pointed out above, we were slightly afraid of moving outside after the sunset.

I would recommend this hotel for every one who has bit of extra time to travel to the city's attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Matti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn & Suites Pacific Coast Highway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 676 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Before booking this motel we read Trip advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed.It was the first motel we stayed in during our 13 days of visit to California and it was a great experience:)
We hadn't realised that we booked the room for smokers but on our arrival we were offered to swap the room for non-smoking one. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The parking was free, the rooms clean with the comfy beds, the fridge, flat TV with plenty of channels, and coffee and tea facilities in the reception area. The motel is situated about 20 minutes drive away from Long Beach - great place to visit, not too sure about the downtown as we were travelling a lot. There are plenty of restaurants, bars, fast foods and two markets in walking distance.
We would definitely recommend this motel as it was a great value for money, excellent service and good experience. Would get back:)..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maggy132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Being ranked as the #14 hotel in the Los Angeles and cheap at the same time, you might wanna check it out. Since I was travelling with my parents who are picky on accommodation, i booked at this motel given the review here at tripadvisor and we weren't dissapointed at all. Having arrived at past 8pm from a long drive from san francisco, we parked our car at the parking lot in front of the rooms, mind you parking is free and went to the small lobby to check in. During my online reservation, i specifically requested for a 2nd floor room and this was granted but upon realizing that i have to put up 3 suitcases up thru the stairs, i requested to be transferred to a ground floor room and this was granted without a problem at all. The room was fine; bed was comfy, a/c, microwave, ref, TV and shower were all perfectly working and we all had a good sleep. Unfortunately we realized the next morning that the lock of the door was broken, we were transferred to another room. Christian, the front desk guy was amazing and very helpful at all. The only downside of this hotel is the location is too far from downtown LA but motel is surrounded by grocery stores, pharmacies and restaurants. Redondo Beach is a merely 5 minute drive. For the price and location, i'll definitely stay at this motel again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank War1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

You get what you pay for, it isn't expensive so don't expect 5* quality. However, it is clean and has all the expected modern amenities (TV/AC/ coffee machine). It isn't near the centre of town, but it isn't far, and it's nearish to the airport. The staff were very friendly and helpful, I would recommend it as a budget option just because of their service.

Room Tip: We had a room out back and couldn't hear the road, it was quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edd42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Cant believe I didn't check Trip Advisor before booking this one! Old with exterior doors, flat pillows, thin towels, no window covering on bathroom window, road noise from PCH out front, you have to put your room key card in a slot inside the door to turn on power to the room! Bathroom grout had been painted I'm sure because it couldn't be cleaned adequately. Really needs updating. On the plus side front desk guy very nice and friendly, good flat screen tv with lots of channels, good shower.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank N0rmalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel was pretty good, the front desk attention was great, the room was clean and nice, good internet connection, coffee and map downstairs; but was pretty far of all the touristic attractions in LA.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoseDavid2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

If you are visiting LA on a budget, this hotel should definitely be considered. For around $70, you get a clean place to sleep. Amenities are limited and the property is older, but management makes up for it with good service and cleanliness.

The room itself is pretty small. They are updated with flat-screen TVs and the Wi-Fi worked well. The furniture and carpet definitely showed some wear, but everything was clean. One interesting thing about this hotel is that you have to put your room key in a slot when you get in the room to turn the power on. When you leave the room and take your key, it shuts the power off.

The parking lot is small, but there is a spot for every room. The entire parking lot is visible from the front office so that makes it a bit more secure.

Rodeway Inns don't offer breakfast, but there was free coffee. I saw one vending machine (drinks only), but there are plenty of convenience stores in the area.

Overall, this is a decent choice for those visiting LA on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inquisitive_Wayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
South San Fernando Valley
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Reseda
North San Fernando Valley
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
#97 of 353 in Los Angeles
327 reviews
Harbor
Best Western Los Angeles Worldport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
The Sherman Hotel
The Sherman Hotel
#141 of 353 in Los Angeles
49 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#47 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,144 reviews
Harbor
Pacific Inn and Suites
Pacific Inn and Suites
#231 of 353 in Los Angeles
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Pacific Coast Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Pacific Coast Highway

Address: 1665 Pacific Coast Hwy, Los Angeles, CA 90710-2627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#57 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $90 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Pacific Coast Highway 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Pacific Coast Highway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn & Suites Pacific Coast Highway Hotel Los Angeles
Rodeway Inn And Suites Pacific Coast Highway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing