We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plus status questionable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Glendale
Ranked #85 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Plus status questionable”
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Checked in on July 20 for one night. At first look everything looked good even with the smallish room. We went to plug in our computer and found that 1 of the two outlets was not working. Went to plug in an iPhone charger and found that 2 of 2 outlets were not working. That is 3 of 4. Luckily I brought a power strip along. Wait we charged the phone in the bathroom.

My girlfriend went to use the shower and had difficulty turning it on. Finished the shower and had further difficulty turning the water off. I went turn it on and no matter what I did I could not get the water to flow.

Fed up I went to the office and requested a change of room and was told they first needed to check out our complaints.

The question what makes a Best Western Hotel a Plus, because this is no where close to other BW Plus hotels I have stayed at. When I get home Sunday I will be calling Best Western. I will report back our results.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank greyhound85034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sohaib-Rana, General Manager at Best Western Plus Glendale, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations.This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.
We would love to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. We look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.
If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 323-256-7711.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    130
    71
    24
    23
See reviews for
129
98
27
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

It's only a motel and all, but the excellent service and good breakfast (on weekends they seem to have bacon, eggs and sausages on top of the normal motel breakfast menu) raised this above everything else. There is a freeway right next to it, but I didn't even notice it. But if you are a light sleeper you might want to carry earplugs - then again, that applies to all the motels I've ever visited. Very good place and safe environment!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sohaib-Rana, General Manager at Best Western Plus Glendale, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for choosing the Best Western Plus Glendale for your recent visit to Los Angeles. We are delighted to read your kind review and happy to know that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, the hospitality of our team members. Your comments encourage and motivate us to better serve our guests experiences every day, thanks for your feedback.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

So it's not central, but as long as you have a car, it's easy enough to get anywhere in LA. The neighborhood is nice. Very friendly staff. Safe and clean. Being a motel by an interstate, expect to deal with noise from the highway. We didn't mind it at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jlaakso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sohaib-Rana, General Manager at Best Western Plus Glendale, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, it is important to us because it allows us to consistently improve our service. We thank you for your kind words, and hope to welcome you back to our property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Nice young man when we checked in in the evening directed us to local restaurants and stores. The room was comfortable, easy to park, breakfast was really good. Checkout staff was polite. This is a great hotel to choose especially for the price.

Room Tip: Bottom floor is a good choice. Not loud and easy to park in front of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GATravelMug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Ala.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

As they say in real estate, the three selling points are location, location, location. Best Western Eagle Rock certainly has it for those visiting Hollywood and Pasadena. The motel is right on Colorado Boulevard and a short 10 to 15 minute drive to the Tournament of Roses Parade and college football at the Rose Bowl.

Head west on Colorado and you're an easy hop, skip and jump to Hollywood without getting on the freeway; or crawl on the nearby Ventura Freeway (Highway 134) to the studios at Burbank. Both Hollywood and Burbank are about 20 minutes away.

We've been to Los Angeles twice within the last two years and stayed here both times. We will stay here again. It's not fancy. Just a nice, functional, comfortable motel with a super-nice staff. They go out of their way to help you with directions around town and are quick to respond to issues related to the motel.

Colorado Boulevard is a busy street and you can hear the Glendale Freeway traffic at times. But it's not overwhelming. We ran the fan on low at night and could hear nothing but the fan.

The only real downside to the property is the breakfast room. It's way too small. The owners should consider taking out a room or making some accommodation to provide more space. While the breakfast was ample, we don't go for the free breakfast or spacious seating. We go to Best Western Eagle Rock for a comfortable, conveniently-located, moderately-priced motel to get a good night's sleep that will make our trips to Los Angeles enjoyable. And that's exactly what we've found it to be over the last two years.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 318 both times. It's on the end opposite the Glendale Freeway, which defrays s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rammer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sohaib-Rana, General Manager at Best Western Plus Glendale, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind reception. We welcome all feedback as it constantly allows us to improve our service and offerings. We are delighted to read your kind review and happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and the hospitality of our team members. We are glad the location of the property was convenient for you. Your comments encourage and motivate us to better serve our guests experiences every day. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

After reading Tripadvisor I was slightly apprehensive of this hotel (and all budget hotels in LA!) but we got here yesterday (still here now) and this place is great.

The rooms are big, the bed is very comfortable, the shower is nice and powerful, the TV is huge and works well, theres coffee making stuff, a microwave and a fridge, and there is a table and a few chairs which is handy too. My colleague is staying in the next door and there is a secure adjoining door between the rooms which is very useful. The rooms are both very clean and well maintained. The aircon in the room works well, its not silent but its a very consistent sound its not rattly or anything so its not a problem whatsoever to sleep through. Carpark is large and not had any parking problems. The internet access works really nicely too.

The reception man (Johnny is what his badge said) was really helpful and gave us advice on traffic in the area, and we were given cold bottles of water as we came in which was a nice touch given the heat.

Only been here one night but im very happy with this place for the price we are paying, and you can ignore any reviews saying it is 'the worst hotel in the world' or anything like that, I think some people like writing bad reviews for the thrill of it, this hotel is fantastic and really good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hoarp001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sohaib-Rana, General Manager at Best Western Plus Glendale, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind reception. We welcome all feedback as it constantly allows us to improve our service and offerings.We are delighted to read your kind review and happy to know that you enjoyed the hospitality of our team members. Your comments encourage and motivate us to better serve our guests experiences every day, thanks for your feedback.We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is a clean, basic motel that is exactly what I expected at this price point. On the plus side, the staff is very friendly and helpful. We left some pillows in our room and the General Manager offered to box them up and mail them back to us. The rooms were clean, with a nice flat-screen TV, refrigerator and microwave, and the bed was very comfortable. The showers were good and hot with ample water pressure. The swimming pool was tiny but clean and the hot tub worked great. Breakfast was OK, although the breakfast room will really only accommodate about 10 people at a time. There is quite a bit of traffic noise from the adjacent highways, although when we put the air conditioner on fan it drowned it out. The neighborhood is not exactly beautiful but I felt perfectly safe walking around. We never had any trouble finding a parking space even though the motel was full. My rating of this motel is not based on it being a 4 star hotel but rather on its value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sohaib-Rana, General Manager at Best Western Plus Glendale, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for choosing the Best Western Plus for your recent visit to Los Angeles. We are delighted to read your kind review and happy to know that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, the hospitality of our team members. Your comments encourage and motivate us to better serve our guests experiences every day, thanks for your feedback.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Old Town Pasadena in Eagle Rock CA
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 16 in Glendale
103 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn - Glendale
Vagabond Inn - Glendale
#3 of 16 in Glendale
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles - Glendale
0.6 mi away
Regency Inn Los Angeles
Regency Inn Los Angeles
#87 of 351 in Los Angeles
172 reviews
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Los Angeles Glendale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Glendale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Glendale

Property: Best Western Plus Glendale
Address: 2911 Colorado Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90041-1011 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Eagle Rock Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#80 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Glendale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Glendale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eagle Rock Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing