We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Upscale dinner”
Review of Redbird

Redbird
Ranked #17 of 11,871 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Several Seating Options for dinner and weekend brunch! In addition to the Courtyard, enjoy our Indoor Dining Room and Garden. Reserve on Tock. See more about all our happenings - including weekly tasting menus (returning soon), brunch, happy hour, dinner, immersive experiences and use as a filming location on our website redbird.la or @redbirdla.
Reviewed July 29, 2016

First of all, I was surprised by the ambience. When I read about it being a deconsecrated rectory I assumed it would be dark, quiet, intimate. It's anything but. Modern, bright, noisy. However, when they opened the roof to make it open air, that changed it a lot, the noise level went way down.
Service was great, food was great.
Only disappointment was that they charged us full corkage even though we let the staff taste our wines. That's a bit crass...

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tb911
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 161 of 260 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2016

First time dining here. Came for dinner, party of 2. Had a reservation and were seated immediately. Open ceiling let in light and fresh air; very comfortable and attractive. Staff was professional and helpful in figuring out how to order- menu is a combination of small plates, plates to share, and full-size portions. Service for most of the meal was very good, prompt and efficient, including filling water glasses, removing dishes, and keeping the plates coming in a timely manner. Service broke down with the last few dishes ordered and there was an unreasonable delay in getting them. The server apologized a couple of times and it appears that the kitchen lost part of our order or was having a problem. Dishes that were outstanding: lamb belly, chocolate caramel bar, and the creamsicle. Dishes that were very good included the chicken pot pie, burrata salad, cavatelli and paccheri neri. Wine by the glass was a bit expensive, even for an upscale restaurant, but pours were generous and the wines were very good (not familiar with any of the wines tasted). Espressos were very good. Will definitely go back to the restaurant again.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank onetaxingguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2016

Easy to park. Order at the counter and then they bring you the food. Took us a while to figure out what to order, and how much. So we ended up with too much. Ordered Vietnamese octopus salad, chicken pot pie, soft shell crab tempura, scallops, liberty farms duck, chocolate caramel bar, pavlova, indian summer and diet coke. some dishes were good, some just ok. not our type of food.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Momma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

The food is of excellent quality, well prepared, tasty and even healthy. The staff is very nice and caring. The place itself is wonderful especially once they open the ceiling. If you really need to find a downside the chairs could be more comfortable .. and the bill more reasonable but it's worth it and the overall experience is top.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank OlivierB852
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2016

if your in LA you need to visit this downtown resturant fantastiic setting great food and service would fully recommend a visit

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank geeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redbird also viewed

 

Been to Redbird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.