We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,152)
Filter reviews
3,152 results
Traveler rating
1,665
935
337
128
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,665
935
337
128
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beverly center beverly hills luxury room rain shower rodeo drive hollywood sign west hollywood farmers market valet parking valet service upon check fitness center santa monica concierge lanvin bloomingdales grove
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 3,152 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2018

The Sofitel is conveniently located next to a large shopping mall in a busy part of Beverley Hills. The hotel is okay but the decor is very "90's". The lobby is dark will these kinda of neon beam lights around. I was upgraded to a suite and it was nice, but a little tired. The bed was excellent and I did have a good sleep. But, they miss simple things like plugs on both sides of the bed. Again, it makes you feel "1990's", The who decor reminded me of it being super cool when Baywatch was on.

The pool area is okay but loud. It's located above a garage on a busy intersection, I guess that's very "LA" ??!?

The service is good, the people work hard for sure.

Overall this is an okay place to stay for a short business trip but nothing more.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orangecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cecile s, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear orangecat1,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Los Angeles At Beverly Hills. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests.
Thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff! We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have nonetheless shared your feedback regarding our decoration items with our Hotel Management.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Los Angeles At Beverly Hills very soon.
Best regards,
The Sofitel LA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

We liked the hotel a lot when we checked in due to being so modern and nice lobby and they also have a fancy garden terrace. Good location in LA.
Rooms were of good size, however their service was quite unflexible. We couldnt change our room and had to wait forever during check in and check out and inhouse parking was quite expensive. The hotel itself is nice but reception service could be improved a bit.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MareenEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cecile s, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear MareenEverywhere,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Los Angeles At Beverly Hills. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. Thank you for complimenting our hotel and facilities! We are nonetheless very sorry to know that you were displeased with the value of our Valet Parking facilities. Our valet service is handled by an external company, and although the city has just imposed an minimum wage increase on all hotel service related jobs which has impacted our valet rates, we feel that our rates reflect the average Beverly Hills / West Hollywood rates and they are on par with our nearby competitors as well.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,
Best regards,
The Sofitel LA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

We stayed here for 9 nights our travel agent had suggested the Sofitel rather than staying in Hollywood, we were so pleased we took her advice, we had the perfect view from our window as we could see the Hollywood sign, very friendly and helpful staff. All our Hollywood and LA tours were pre booked so we were picked up from the hotel.WE were close to Rodeo drive, The Grove shopping mall and The farmers market, plus close to some lovely restaurants and cafes. We had the Beverly center directly across the road and smaller shops not far to buy water, snacks etc. Rooms were clean, with luxurious Lanvin bath products and turndown service every evening which included Evian water bottles and illy pod coffee ( coffee machine supplied) We had a very late flight back to Australia and they were kind enough to extend our check out time by 3 hours no charge, only negative was the daily additional $29 a day residential fee approx $266 again I don't really understand why it just not added to your room when you first book and pay (a new law in California apparently) other than that just lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cecile s, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Enza C,
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to make the most of our beautiful facilities, our wonderful staff, and our ideal location, at the crossroads of West Hollywood and Beverly Hills, ideal for shopping!
Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon,
Best regards,
The Sofitel LA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

When we arrived at the hotel, a young dandy at the lobby was obviously too busy to care about us, after a while we received our keys. The room was booked for 3 people, 2 adults and one kid 6 years old. First surprise only 2 small beds in the room. We contact the reception to hear that it is as it is except if we agree to move to a larger room for an other 145 USD per night. We did, the room was fine.
The breakfast buffet is awful, poor choice and dry croissants. If you go with your child to help him to take his food you will be charged 50 USD - "When we see someone close to the buffet we charge him!". The bill can be up to 150 USD for the breakfast. Broken glass on the floor, turkey ham smelly and obviously not fresh, etc... No management available to take our complains.
Breakfast "à la carte" is fine and less expensive, think about 95-100 USD for 2 adults and one kid.
The swimming pool is dirty.
The day of departure I checked the bill telling our stories to the lady at the desk. My surprise was to find 2 valet parking at 125 USD each - but we had no car... And some extra 75cl Evian bottles at 10 USD.
The lady was a bit annoyed by the situation and asked if we wanted to see a manager, after 1 week...

Special thanks to Karim at the restaurant for his good mood and to the wonderful Agnes hairdresser at "Le Salon". Also a nice latino woman at the breakfast but I don't know her name.

Hotel to avoid, there is much better in LA and cheaper.
If by mistake you stay in this hotel, check your bill carefully.

Reservation GMMSFTNT - platinium member.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 245jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cecile s, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 245jd,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Los Angeles At Beverly Hills. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies on the fact that your stay did not match your expectations. Please rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to address the problem of the breakfast croissants with our Restaurant Manager in order to prevent any future occurrence. As far as the rooms are concerned, our double bed rooms are indeed with 2 twin beds, and we can definitively add a roll away. As a loyal member of our hotel network, we hope you appreciated the upgrade to the suite we were able to offer you! Also, please be sure any additional expense that were not yours were cleared from your final bill.
Our relationship with our guests is of paramount importance. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to better serve you soon. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly when your travel arrangements are definite so that we can take care of your reservation and personally oversee your stay.
Best regards,
The Sofitel LA Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

The last time I stayed in a Sofitel, it was in Munich a few years ago. Very much the same vibe; alot of form over function. Somewhat outdated in some ways, which leaves a bitter taste in the mouth considering the pricing.

It's not all bad, mind. Let me start with the positives:

* Outdoor, rooftop pool, open until 22:00. Heated. Very cool to be fair. We had it all to ourselves at 8 in the evening. Swimming at night in the middle of LA - a first! +++
* However, got stuck outside because you need a room key card to *exit* the pool. Where is the logic here? Surely you'd need a key to *get in*, not *get out*? Had to phone the front desk from the pool to be able to get out! --
* To get to the pool in the first place, you have to leave the hotel via the front door, then turn left and go through another door. Get changed in the spa changing rooms, exit out into the *lobby*, then go in another lift to walk down a long corridor to get to the pool. Baffling. Weird layout. -
* The bed was very comfortable ++
* Convenient location, with lots of eateries nearby (walking distance) +
* Friendly staff.

And the not so good:
* Room didn't smell good, due to the air conditioning, and the room's carpet was slightly damp all the time. As was the bed sheets. Mentioned this to the checkout staff. Didn't kick up a fuss, as we were not going to be there long (2 nights, one whole day). If we were going to be there longer, we would have asked to be moved. --
* No USB charging points by the bed - seriously? In 2018? I've stayed in much cheaper hotels with USB charging points by the bed. About 5 years behind, Sofitel.
- Another rubbish Sofitel thing - sliding door on the bathroom - *why*? Do "luxury hotel customers" hate having privacy or something? This was the same at the Munich hotel (and that had a weird window from the bathroom into the living room?! I have no idea).
* You have to get out the coffee maker from the cupboard and set it up yourself. I thought this was supposed to be a luxury's hotel?

Overall, a very "Sofitel" experience - a gimmicky, expensive, "eh" experience - I won't bother again in the future, to be completely honest.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank RoundCat_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cecile s, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear RoundCat_2000,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Los Angeles At Beverly Hills. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests.
Thank you for complimenting our pool and staff! We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have nonetheless shared your feedback regarding our sliding doors with our Director of Engineering so that they can change it and avoid any future occurrence of that kind.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Los Angeles At Beverly Hills very soon.
Best regards,
The Sofitel LA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews