We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Ranked #24 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a nice Hotel and in a great location and most of our stay at the Sofitel was good, However items were taken out of our room, We called the manager who addressed some of this, however we were never informed of the outcome and we were offered drink vouchers, which we used and then were politely advised that the wine that we had selected for our drinks was not able to be provided as it was an "expensive" wine and we could ony have "House" wines, a bit of a SLAP in the face as the drink vouchers were provided as a result of items going missing from our room.... Based on this i would not consider staying at this hotel again, we stayed at Sofitel as it is a well known and reputable brand.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Mickot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLA, General Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Bonjour Mickot,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent experience with us.
I am so sorry that it seems we missed the mark.
Rest assured your comments have been shared to ensure that an experience like yours is not repeated.
Please feel free to contact the guest service manager at nina.monraz@sofitel.com with any additional feedback or any questions you may have.
I apologize again for the inconveniences you experienced with your stay, I assure you that these are not typical for our hotel.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warm regards,
Eric Lemaire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,535
    863
    301
    114
    72
See reviews for
567
1,145
206
509
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Beds are sooo comfortable you may not want to go out! Concierge incredibly helpful & gave us great tips. Location is great. Staff very friendly & helpful. Just take note that they charge $30 per day for valet. I personally think this should be included in your room rate already. However a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetPiment0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLA, General Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Bonjour seugnet1,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Sofitel Los Angeles.
I am happy to read that you had an enjoyable time in our property, and that you liked our Sofitel beds!
We look forward to being able to serve you again soon.
Warm regards,
Eric Lemaire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had 2 nights here at the Sofitel Beverly Hills whilst waiting to fly home. We won't be staying here again mainly because the rooms are very small, we booked a king room and got an upgrade to a deluxe room, no difference! Room Too dark as well, no window to open, only 1 light fitting and 2 tiny pokie wall lights, the bed too soft, nowhere to put anything, the worst thing was that the outside hall light shone straight into our eyes at night thru the crack of the doorway....bad design!!! Not much sleep. Breakfast too expensive so went out. The shower was good, big glass enclosed. The concierge was excellent,,lots of suggestions and maps. Doorman very attentive and staff at reception very nice but to me comfort is number 1: bed and pillow comfort, sleep quality and room space. The location is great though opposite Beverly centre shopping mall! And lots of good restaurants to walk to for dinner. Wifi was included in the price.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bootscooter55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLA, General Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Bonjour Bootscooter55,

We really appreciate all the nice things you had to say about our staff services and location here at Sofitel Los Angeles.
While we are sad that your experience did not meet your expectations with your room.
We hope to welcome you back soon as a guest,
Warm regards,
Eric Lemaire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel in Beverly Hills for the last couple of days of a family holiday in the USA and were very pleased we did. It was a great experience from the moment we arrived. All the staff we encountered were helpful and made us feel welcome. This included all the reception, valet, concierge and service staff we met. They were also accomodating too, organising a late check out for us to align with flight times.

The rooms were outstanding. Comfortable, very clean and well furnished. The bathrooms were also great, with the best, softest towels we experienced in the USA.

Breakfast in the hotel was terrific. A good number of classic breakfast selections and the food was great no matter what we selected.

The hotel location was also good. Easily accessible and given that we were intent on shopping whilst there, the proximity of shops with the Beverly Centre across the road was excellent.

All in all, we had an excellent experience staying at the Sofitel Beverly Hills to cap off a memorable trip to the USA.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adel-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLA, General Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Bonjour Adel-Traveller,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review of Sofitel Los Angeles! We have some amazing staff members working for us, and it is always so nice to read such kind words about them!
I am delighted to know you enjoyed our property and our location, and that you had a great time with your family.
We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again soon!
Warm regards,
Eric Lemaire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and had an amazing time. Location is amazing right across the Beverly Center. As soon as we walked in then guest service was superb. They instantly brought out a cuddly sofitel teddy bear for my daughter and offered us sweets. Although our room was on the smaller size and lots of siren noise all day and night (hospital near by) we still enjoyed it very much. The bed was the best part. Was like sleeping on a pillow of clouds. Service was amazing we asked for a fridge and microwave and all was provided. Room service delicious would recommend the croissant french Toast. Great spot to run into celebs as well!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLA, General Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Bonjour Narisa C,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Sofitel Los Angeles. I am happy to read that you had an amazing time in our property and that you enjoyed our staff services and our location.
I hope your daughter bring the teddy bear back with her!
We look forward to being able to serve you again soon.
Warm regards,
Eric Lemaire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just completed a 4 night stay at the Sofitel. My second time at this hotel. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. The bathroom was great. The 2 twin beds were very comfortable, much more so than the average hotel. Staff was very serviceable and friendly upon entering the hotel. I've also used the gym a few times and it's a great gym, lots of machines, clean and the water is good. The location is great for sightseeing/restaurants. Having the beverly center right in front is very convenient. It's also not too far from one of my favorite place, Rodeo drive. Next time i'm in Beverly Hills, it's very likely i'll be back there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iceman213619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLA, General Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Bonjour iceman213619
Thank you for your review of Sofitel Los Angeles.
I am delighted to read that you decided to come back to our hotel a second time with your family, and that you enjoyed both our property and our staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back when you come to Beverly Hills!
Warm regards,
Eric Lemaire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and thought this property offered a good location with reasonable service.

When we arrived at 10.00 pm, no one was at Reception and a number of staff walked past us without stopping to enquire if we were being looked after. Eventually, a receptionist came from behind the wall. Some reviewers have described some of the staff as a little pompous and pretentious at this property - I would agree that this could be said for the male reception staff.

The bedding was way too soft and cloudlike for my liking, but that is a personal preference.

The property is in a good location for travelling anywhere in Los Angeles. Of course, the proximity to the Beverly Shopping Center across the road, is ideal.

On our last night, we called Concierge and asked if she could recommend any good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. She said she had a list of them which she sent straight up to the room. It was called "Restaurants within walking distance of the Hotel." We wished we'd had that list at the commencment of our stay. Why not put that in the room's compendium? Anyhow, she was very good in booking one of those restaurants for us at very short notice.

Breakfast was average, food OK and service good.

Taxis were always available as they were called from the rank outside the Beverly Center.

Overall, not bad but not WOW!

Room Tip: Don't think it really matters too much so I wouldn't stress too much about the room choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelwriter63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLA, General Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Bonjour nmclennan,
Thank you for your review of Sofitel Los Angeles.
I greatly appreciate you bringing to our attention the experience you had with our front desk staff, so that we may be able to prevent any future occurrences.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed other facets of your stay with us,
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Los Angeles.
Warm regards,
Eric Lemaire, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,687 reviews
Central L.A
SLS Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Beverly Hills
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Hollywood
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
The LondonWeho at BeverlyHills
#2 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,688 reviews
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills

Property: Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Address: 8555 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048-3303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills is a stunning hotel in LA offering elegant luxury accommodations and dramatic decor with an ambiance that combines see-and-be-seen excitement and the calm of an urban resort.Ideally situated on the corner of La Cienega and Beverly Boulevard opposite the Beverly Shopping Center this West Hollywood hotel is conveniently located near Cedar Sinai Medical Center Rodeo Drive Melrose Avenue and Sunset Boulevard.Discover a unique blend of French fashion mixed with Hollywood glamour at this elegant hotel.Choose from 295 rooms on 10 floors including 26 suites and two Imperial Suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feather top and duvet sleep system - SoBed.Savor the distinctive and delicious cuisine at Esterel, our new contemporary French restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles
Accor Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing