We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Money versus customer service?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Ranked #21 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
los angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Money versus customer service?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I don't write often write reviews of local places, however, I feel compelled to write about the lack of customer service at the bar in the Sofitel, Beverly Hills location. My husband and I attended a fundraiser at the hotel Saturday night, thinking the Sofitel here in the States would be comparable to the quality of service in Europe. We couldn't have been more disappointed. The fundraiser ended early enough where my friends, husband, and I wanted to go to the bar to have a couple of drinks before going home. We sat in the back end on some couches and were served our first drink by a very professional and friendly waitress. The problem came when after only a half hour at the bar, we were approached by the bar manager stating he was sorry he was late in placing signs, but the area we were occupying was reserved for another group (this was after 11pm). All the manager offered us was apologies. One of my friends stated to him at the very least, he should comp us our drinks. He looked confused by her statement, then returned a minute later to state all he could offer us was a 20% discount off of our drinks? This is the bar manager? Maybe I'm "old school", but my opinion is if you have the authority to kick your customers out of their seat for whatever the reason should be (money perhaps?), you have the authority and the obligation to offer more than a weak apology. You as a manager, you as a hotel, need better training in compensating your customers when a "mistake" is made WITHOUT the customer having to suggest it to you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scaryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLA, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to write your review of your recent experience with us. I am so sorry that it seems we missed the mark. We have shared your feedback, and rest assured you’re your comments have been shared with our General Manager and our partners to ensure that an experience like yours is not repeated. Please feel free to contact me directly at nina.monraz@sofitel.com with any additional feedback or any questions you may have. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,445
    816
    285
    104
    64
See reviews for
521
1,094
191
478
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here after a cruise through the Panama canal in late November. I chose this hotel due to its proximity to the Bevererly Center. As it turns out the shopping center was a bit disappointing but I found other lovely places to shop.
I found the French greetings to be a bit irritating and am not sure why they do that as I have not found that in other Safitels I have been in.
The room was ready at noon when we checked in which was a bonus and they ofered a late check out with my Accor card which was great. I liked the room and bathroom very much and even though it looked out the back it was interesting watching the comings and goings in the school behind us. It even had a Juliet balcony with doors that opened. The only downside was the carpet which was in poor condition.
Found all the staff we encountered great. The breakfast in the restaurant was excellent with good coffee and tasty offerings as an alternative to the buffet style breakfast.
All in all, quite comfortable and would return if had to be in this area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheenaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLA, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon, the room was a good size seeing as it is a good location, we opted for the suite which is well worth it, great big shower and a bath with a tv. We had room service each morning for breakfast and this was really nice, though a little expensive. The bed is a little too soft and we had to take the duvet off that they put under the sheets.
The staff were all very polite and helpful, i would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: upgrade to a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diver3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLA, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We booked this hotel through Hotwire and we paid less than US$180,00/night. The hotel is very modern, the decoration is beautiful, the room service is very good, the spa is amazing. Is next to the Berverly Center, CVS, Marshalls... The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphaela_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLA, Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

After a long flight from Australia, you don't get a more amazing bed then a Sofitel bed, not to mention spending far too long in the monsoon shower. I slept through the day and night to ward of the jet lag. The room was clean, crisp and foyer, gym and other hotel areas is fine form. My experience here was ruined though with poor reception staff service due to charges to my Travel card that where not refunded (some $600) until 2 weeks after I departed the hotel. In fact, my entire vacation was over and funds where still being held on my credit card. After many calls and emails, I still got little resolve!! Eventually the funds where returned to my card.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLA, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Well, i booked a week with Sofitel LA over the internet, and from the minute we were dropped off in the Lobby our experience was amazing.
A lovely gentleman opened our car door and immediately, personally took us right to the front desk, where we did not have to wait, this was so good as we just got off a 16 hour flight.
Our bags were taken out of the car for us, and taken straight up to our room. The sign in process was so quick, the man behind the desk had everything ready for us, and it was the quickest check in i have ever experienced.

From there we were personally escorted to our room where the gentleman went on to show us all of the features of the room, showing us how the air con worked, how to open the doors to our balcony, the shower and the safe.

The room was amazing, so spacious, so clean- exactly as the photos show- which is unfortunately never the case with a lot of hotels today. In the hotel there is a gym and a pool area which we didn't get time to use, but we did go and see and both were amazing.

The whole feel of the hotel, especially the bar and restaurant is great, we ate a lot down in the restaurant, and spent most of our nights in the bar, which has the best vibe!

The concierge is amazing and so helpful. We went down on Monday night at 9:30pm and told her exactly what we wanted to do and she was able to get us out doing things 8am Tuesday!

This is the best experience i have ever had at a hotel, so thank you Sofitel LA, we will definitely be returning. The only negative i found, was once we checked out, we loved the hotel so much that i called to see if we could stay there for 3 nights when we returned from NYC, before flying back to Australia, and no one could seem to give us a price. Unfortunately we had to stay elsewhere.

But overall very happy with our experience!

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor, and it was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naomilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelLA, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#5 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
Central L.A
SLS Hotel at Beverly Hills
SLS Hotel at Beverly Hills
#38 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills

Property: Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Address: 8555 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048-3303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills is a stunning hotel in LA offering elegant luxury accommodations and dramatic decor with an ambiance that combines see-and-be-seen excitement and the calm of an urban resort.Ideally situated on the corner of La Cienega and Beverly Boulevard opposite the Beverly Shopping Center this West Hollywood hotel is conveniently located near Cedar Sinai Medical Center Rodeo Drive Melrose Avenue and Sunset Boulevard.Discover a unique blend of French fashion mixed with Hollywood glamour at this elegant hotel.Choose from 295 rooms on 10 floors including 26 suites and two Imperial Suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feather top and duvet sleep system - SoBed.Savor the distinctive and delicious cuisine at Esterel, our new contemporary French restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles
Accor Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing