We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Playa Del Rey
Ranked #2 of 94 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2008

Booked the "romantic" suite as it had a double size jacuzzi tub. The staff is very friendly and the room was large and clean. However, they seemed to have an ant problem as there were ant traps in the bathroom. If one looke more closely you could find some flaws that may or may not be annoying depending on your point of view.

Two of the windows in the bathroom would not open and the handle to open/close the other two windows would fall off if not careful. We had problems with the drain on the jacuzzi tub - it would start to drain unexpectantly several times and the drain lever would fall off if turned- not sure it worked at all.

Other than that the bed was comfortable and the room spacious. Fireplace was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magic8ball_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Playa Del Rey
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 446 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2008

Well, I travel to LA monthly on business, and I never stay anywhere else. They even put flowers and heart shaped soap in my room for Valentine's Day.

First of all, the staff is terrific- so welcoming and friendly and warm. I travel alone, and I feel rally safe and comfortable there.

I always get one of their "view" rooms. It has a fireplace, a balcony and overlooks the marsh; yes, nature in LA. (You can hear the frogs at night!) It's quiet, clean and cozy. Nice bathroom, with a jacuzzi tub and plush towels. Crisp, fresh sheets and a fabulous bed. They have cable TV, but no movie channels - I have put in my request.

Breakfast is delicious. (And free!) Nice, strong coffee, yummy baked goods, and a big egg dish. You can always smell cookies and muffins baking in the kitchen. (I love that kitchen!)

It's only 5 minutes from the airport, and it's easy to get to the freeway from there, too. They have great maps and even give "shortcut" directions. There are a bunch of restaurants to walk to (try Minotaure) and you can walk to the beach. They even have bikes to borrow for the bike path. Wine in the evenings makes for a nice social hour; lots of snacks ,too.

This Inn is really a gem.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ChicagoVixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

This is not only a wonderful Inn, near the airport, with friendly staff and artistically presented breakfasts, but my spacious room with a balcony looked out on the wetlands wildlife preserve, with a constant display of herons, egrets, and their ever-present Black Shouldered Kite. I have seen it every time I have stayed there. If you forget your binoculars, they have a pair you can borrow. Also, don't miss the wine and cheese party every PM!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank travelandeat_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2007

over priced, room overlooked the roof of a chinese restaurant. Dirty light fixtures in bathroom,torn shades, needed much updating. For $200 a night, I could have slept in my rental car. Would not recommend,even the hotel manager had an attitude when I complained. Terrible experience. How did this inn get good reviews?

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank mjm428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2007

What a fantastic place. Big spacious rooms, comfortable beds and pillows great views over the lagoon, great breakfasts, free bike hire, etc. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank smcc1879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

Stayed one night at The Inn at Playa Del Rey. From walking into check-in to the smell of freshly baked cookies, and a knowlegeable welcoming staff to the gorgeous surroundings, it was apparent that we had made a great choice. The common areas are very tastefully decorated, and the rooms are nicely appointed (with the exception of the tiny TV). Nice afternoon wine and cheese hour (actually 2 hours), and the breakfast, as well as the breakfast room were delightful. Would definitely recommend this Inn!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaritalady/pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

I loved this place so much. There were so many little touches which really made it worth the money. It was splashing out but was well worth it. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, my room was to die for, in a really luxurious and yet cosy way. When I arrived I was given a glass of wine and shown to my room, where handmade cookies were waiting for me. The breakfast was delicious - handmade cranberry scones, cereals, cakes, all sorts. I borrowed towels and a bike from the hotel to go to the beach only a 5 minute ride away. All the communcal areas were lovely, I really enjoyed sitting in the courtyard aswell as the lounge, where there were loads of books on the area. Use of the internet was free and you could even help yourself to their videos to watch in your room! It was a very trusting place and just asked for you to pay $0.75 when you left for any cans of coke you had helped yourself to from the fridge. Cheese, biscuits and wine are served every evening around 5pm but as I wasn't there, they gave it to me to take up to my room later. The view wasn't quite what I had expected but this didn't matter to be honest. There's not much to do in Playa del Rey itself, but it's a great base for exploring neighbouring areas - especially Venice Beach and Marina del Rey, only a quick ride away on the bike - highly recommended. And only $20 for a taxi from the airport, so not bad really. It's just the sort of place I'd love to find back in the UK to escape to every now and then. I was there on my own but it would also be gorgeous for couples, of course!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fruitylemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
746 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 353 in Los Angeles
784 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,275 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,402 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Playa Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Playa Del Rey

Address: 435 Culver Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90293
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range: $254 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Playa Del Rey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at exquisite lodging near Los Angeles. Enjoy bike rides, country breakfasts, walks on the beach, luxurious amenities, private sunbathing gardens, and the serenity of nature at this elegant inn. Many rooms come complete with fireplaces, Jacuzzis, and private decks. Rated one of the "Ten Best Urban Inns" by Forbes.com, our Inn is sure to please. Look online to learn more about our convenient location, superb accommodations, and to book your stay today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at Playa Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Playa Del Rey Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing