We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place that I have stayed ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Playa Del Rey
Ranked #2 of 90 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best place that I have stayed ever.”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Has it all. Location overlooking a wetland. Get a room on that side of inn. Close to LAX. Amazing service. Got upgraded to suite with Jacuzzi tub. Free wine and cheese happy hour. Great breakfast included. Free bikes to use. We rode to Santa Monica Pier through Venice. Good restaurants at nearby Fisherman's Wharf at Marina Del Rey.

Room Tip: Get room with view of wetlands. Check on upgrade to suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phillandfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    68
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
60
237
32
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Excellent situation to stay in LA without beeing in LA!
We made our visit from this place for hollywood blvd and walk of fame, Universal Studio, Sunset blvd, Beverly Hills by car (almost less than an hour drive).
We used their guest bikes to go to Santa Monica all along the beach bike way without traffic jam!
So The place to be for your trip in LA :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yves-henri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Beautiful setting and location. The room was beautifully decorated and clean. Appreciated the personalized welcome note and cookies. Close to the beach and Santa Monica Pier. Breakfast was amazing and plentiful. Wish our stay were longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbrancol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My two nights recently constituted my third or fourth visit here, and I still consider it a top choice for this part of LA. When traveling with my husband and son in the past, we stayed in some lovely lagoon-side suites, but for this short visit I opted for the most basic queen room. I was not offered an upgrade, but have no real complaints about being on the highway side. It was still a quiet visit in a pleasant room. As others have noted, parts of the inn seem a little tired, but the overall atmosphere is serene and lovely.

I have one complaint. Although the breakfast is nice and fresh and fairly interesting, the coffee is substandard. In an upmarket place like the Inn, I would have expected a delicious French roast or other quality coffee while enjoying the stylish breakfast room, but what I got was an undrinkable Folgers-style cup. I switched to tea, which was the customary but undistinguished tea bag/hot water affair. Quality caffein beverages are the high spot of a vacation breakfast, so, come on, Inn, let us have some next time. Otherwise, love it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in May, and it was our second visit. We had booked the same room type as our first stay (a queen) but were upgraded to a king on arrival, which was a nice surprise. Room was lovely and light with a big and very comfy bed. The breakfast was great as ever (LOVED the peanut butter and oat bake!) and included a hot egg dish, toast, granola, fresh fruit etc, and also really enjoyed the evening wine and snacks in the lounge. The staff are all lovely and the place feels very homely. It's a couple of blocks from the beach and some restaurants, and only 10 minutes from LAX, although you wouldn't know it as there is virtually no aircraft noise. You also wouldn't know you're in LA as the Inn is set beside some wetlands and close to the beach, so is very peaceful. I would always stay there when visiting LA in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squirrel2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very romantic and quiet Inn with beautiful view and close enough to walk to beach in Playa del Rey. The Inn provides bikes to use during your stay to enjoy the miles of bike path along the coast. Wine and appetizers each evening and then a short walk to a variety of restaurants. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMM60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Beautiful rooms, extremely friendly staff, delicious breakfast, bikes for us to use. Plus, location could not be better. Near the beach, right by lots of restaurants and shops, not far from LAX. Just a great great place. Have stayed here many times in the past, the Inn just keeps getting better!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williamsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#10 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Playa Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Playa Del Rey

Property: Inn at Playa Del Rey
Address: 435 Culver Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Playa Del Rey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at exquisite lodging near Los Angeles. Enjoy bike rides, country breakfasts, walks on the beach, luxurious amenities, private sunbathing gardens, and the serenity of nature at this elegant inn. Many rooms come complete with fireplaces, Jacuzzis, and private decks. Rated one of the "Ten Best Urban Inns" by Forbes.com, our Inn is sure to please. Look online to learn more about our convenient location, superb accommodations, and to book your stay today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Playa Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Playa Del Rey Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing