We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect LA retreat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Playa Del Rey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Playa Del Rey
Ranked #1 of 88 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect LA retreat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a total of 6 nights and used the inn as a base from which to visit our son and his wife in LA while exploring other parts of southern California. It fit the bill perfectly. I totally disagree with the negative reviewer who complained about getting the room next door to the Chinese restaurant--you get what you pay for. The various rooms are clearly described and priced on where they are located as well as the size, the view, and the amenities offered.

We also stayed in a room on the side of the inn on the first night since we arrived very late (almost midnight) and were planning to leave the early next day for a short trip trip to La Jolla. The room had no view (except the restaurant) but was quiet and clean. Check-in was handled quickly by the night manager who showed us to our room. When I had made the reservation a few weeks earlier, and because we were planning to return for 5 more nights, they offered us an upgrade to a marina view room which was much larger, has a huge bathroom, a balcony and is beautifully decorated for about the same overall cost as what we would have paid for the smaller room.

The management at this inn literally bends over backwards to accommodate guests. They were friendly and helpful at all times and seemed genuinely interested in making our stay a good one. There is a table in the reception area offering lots of visitor guides, maps, etc., hot coffee and tea are always available,as are cookies/snacks. A lovely wine and cheese hour is offered every evening in the enormous great room which has fireplaces, comfy sofas, etc. Breakfast is served each morning from 7-10 AM in the lovely sun-filled dining room and is outstanding--always a hot entree ( egg-based), hot oatmeal, freshly baked breads, a huge fresh fruit tray, as well as cold cereals, yogurts, granola, juices etc. So impressed was I that I asked for--and was given--recipes for some of the offerings!

Overall this inn is a lovely waterside retreat, with comfortable beds, friendly staff and a great location--close to the airport and LA but in such a quiet location you think you're worlds away. We plan to return often.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are probably quietest and request one away from the elevator. The extra cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizajane47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    68
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
60
230
32
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

As all the other reviews have stated, this is a GREAT and gorgeous B&B literally 10 minutes from LAX. It's easy to find as well. We stayed our first night of our honeymoon here on our way through LA to Fiji. I had emailed ahead and let them know it was our honeymoon. As we arrived per the directions they sent in the confirmation, we were checked in very quickly, given a great tour of the common areas as well as all the information for breakfast, happy hour, internet, etc. We were upgraded to a third floor suite which overlooked the bird sanctuary. It was an amazing suite with a huge living area and bathroom. Double sided fireplace from LR to bath as well. Balcony was perfect and view was spectacular. They had left us a very nice welcome note congratulating us on our wedding. In addition a bottle of champagne and fresh plate of cookies.
Bed was very comfortable, room was nice and clean overall. Furnishings were all new and in great shape. Bathroom shower could have the tile replaced but was clean. The door handles as odd as it sounds were very old in the room and could definitely all use an update.
We drank our champagne to celebrate and made our way out to find a bite. We asked the front desk who suggested several great spots within walking distance. We ate at the new tapas restaurant just down the street. Great food and good beer selection.
Breakfast the next day was delicious. Several fresh fruits, breads, coffee and tea as well as a delicious egg casserole. I believe they had oatmeal and dry cereal as well to choose from.
We checked out however had them hold our bags for the day. We came back for them around 5pm and relaxed in the common area until our flight left.
Overall, they were very accommodating and I would suggest this Inn to ANYONE looking to have a relaxing stay in Los Angeles.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovestraveling1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

AN INCREDIBLE VETERANS DAY!!After following the KCAL9 instructions for Veteran's Day freebies, and the link via USA Today, for a free one night on VD award at Bed and Breakfast, we began calling at 8 AM 11-11-11. Of the 4 local B&B's (none of whom were aware of this promo) we were flatly denied by 2, offered a "discount" at 1, and although also not participating, the Inn at Playa Del Rey (Liz)said she'd still be willing to honor the offer! WHAT A GOOD PATRIOTIC SPORT!!We arrived to a beautiful giant sized plush bed, with chocolate chip cookies, & thanking me for my USAF service. From the beautiful breakfast area, to the warm living room, we enjoyed from wine & cheese to homemade cakes, breads, an excellent egg souffles &more! We were treated with so much respect & like royalty. I definitely recommend this B&B. A 5star experience we thank Liz & staff for making it so special.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Just like an aged bottle of  Brunello di Montalcino, the Inn at Playa del Rey provides you an experience that you savor,  discover and savor again. 

Perfectly choreographed the Inn allows you ... to be whatever you want to be. The housekeepers are unusually respectful of your space and privacy - Inns and B&B this size tend to get overly nice-involved-chatty. Attentive and involved but just enough to make it about you - and not about them. 

The location is not as charming as I expected but everything else compensates for that:
- Breakfast is delightful both in terms of freshness and uniqueness. It's a treat and so is the room where you get to enjoy it. 
- the 305 room was spacious, quiet and with a heavenly seraphic bed. 
- Complimentary & safe parking is also a bonus for those who are considering staying Venice Beach or Marina del Rey like I was. 
- afternoon delights (scones! Ode to the scones!), coffee and tea allow you to unwind or re-charge in the spacious and tastefully decorated living-room. 
- finally my favorite bonus: complimentary bikes! The bike trial between Playa del Rey and Venice Beach is ALONE worth the visit. 30 minutes at a good speed but truthfully you want to stop to time to time to breath 'it' in.  Where 'it' can be a multitude of experiences from sailboats coming in to a cappuccino at the nearby Marina del Rey, from taking picture at Fisherman's Wharf to taking a vacation from life on the Venice Beach ocean walk. 

And then once you come back to the Inn, tired but happy, remember to honor the scones!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

I just finished reviewing my favorite hotel in NYC (where my wife and I grew up) and thought I'd move on to our other home away from home-in LA, where our son lives.

I don't think there is anywhere else in the LA area like this inn, which is a real country inn amidst the city's hustle and bustle. We've been coming here since it was recommended to us during our son's freshman year at college in 2004 and have gotten to know the staff and the neighborhood very well.

Because nowhere in LA can be considered central to everything, you may want a place that's nearer to where you need or want to be. But the inn is five minutes from LAX, right by the entrance to the Marina Freeway, a four or so block walk to the beach, and you can get to Marina del Rey, Venice, Santa Monica and even Malibu in a few minutes without having to deal with freeway traffic.

The inn itself is clean: the rooms are very nicely decorated with some coastal decorating touches, and the staff people are friendly and always willing to help. Some commenters don't like the rooms with views of the Chinese restaurant, but we don't mind them: there really isn't much street noise, and they're cheaper and (we think) a better value than the wetland-facing rooms. (On the other hand, we're never unhappy when we get an upgrade!)

Breakfasts are very good, and you should definitely borrow a bike and a helmet and try out the bike path along the beach. It's completely flat and the scenery is magnificent. Happy hour is a nice way to meet people from all over the world, and the free wine (always white) is never bad. The only thing I regret is that they replaced the hot tub a few years ago with a sitting garden. I miss that hot tub!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flatbushfaithful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

This was probably my best b&b experience in the USA. I have honestly never seen staff this friendly. When we first walked into the room, there was a handwritten welcome card and two freshly made chocolate chip cookies. The room was absolutely gorgeous, with super soft pillows and a dreamy king size bed. Their decor definitely makes you feel at home. Plus the Inn is just a few steps away from the beach and some of the rooms face the canal. You wake up to the sound of birds every morning so it doesn't feel like crazy L.A. at all. Will definitely come back many times!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

This was a wonderful place! The price was right and you cannot beat the amenities. Even though it is located on the road, we never heard the traffic. The bird sanctuary is behind the Inn. Parking is included. Fabulous breakfast served every morning. Fresh baked goodies and drinks throughout the day. Wine and cheese in the afternoon. Several budget restaurants within walking distance. Bikes available (as well as beach gear). You can bike from the Inn all the way to Venice, Santa Monica and beyond! The staff was so nice! We would definitely stay again. The Inn is beautiful. Do not miss this place!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Where2nowB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Playa Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Playa Del Rey

Property: Inn at Playa Del Rey
Address: 435 Culver Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Playa Del Rey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at exquisite lodging near Los Angeles. Enjoy bike rides, country breakfasts, walks on the beach, luxurious amenities, private sunbathing gardens, and the serenity of nature at this elegant inn. Many rooms come complete with fireplaces, Jacuzzis, and private decks. Rated one of the "Ten Best Urban Inns" by Forbes.com, our Inn is sure to please. Look online to learn more about our convenient location, superb accommodations, and to book your stay today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Playa Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Playa Del Rey Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing