We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like a family home”
Review of The Inn at 657

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at 657
Ranked #13 of 91 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just like a family home”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Loved my stay here, with the privacy and comfort of the house, and warmth and friendliness of our host. It feels just like a family home. The breakfast is out of this world: fresh fruits, home made panna cotta, fantastic eggs, sausages, french toast, frittata... but having been on the road for a while, the washing machine and clothes line were also very welcome. Beds were super comfy, linens were lovely, bathroom a luxury, and the stock of drinks and snacks in the fridge downstairs a thoughtful bonus. The neighbourhood is quiet, has interesting architecture and a pleasant local feel, though it's so close to Downtown. We were carless (unusual in LA) and the public transport nearby was great. We had two rooms, sharing one bathroom which was ours alone, and that worked really well.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank CeliaWitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    24
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
33
14
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Patsy's The inn at 657-- is a simple unfussy spot to stay in the Figuoroa area just outside Downtown LA and across the street from MT St mary's College and close to USC.

They serve an abundant breakfast and they have a lounge and back space to relax.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-lionNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at The Inn at 657 and really enjoyed every moment. The Inn at 657 is located near USC, in a rather peaceful neighborhood. It was nice to drive back to a tranquil area every night, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Our room was clean and the bed was soft and comfortable. Breakfast by Wayne was so wonderful and filling that we skipped lunch at times. The fruits platter followed by the scrambled eggs and other food totally filled our stomachs every morning. The breakfast here was probably the best we had for the whole of our trip. The Inn at 657 is really a great place to stay in Los Angeles.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EYToh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Sure you can stay in fancy, faceless hotels in LA, but why would you, when you could stay at the Inn and be welcomed like an old friend? We recently spent 3 nights at the Inn on 657 and were enchanted by our stay in this lovely old ramshackle Victorian house, set in pretty gardens. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable, and furnished with an eclectic collection of antiques. The bathroom was gorgeous! But it was Patsy and Bobby the chef that made it even more special. The breakfasts were sublime and we especially loved having time to sit with Patsy and Bobby and discuss the world in general. When you're travelling, this type of personal contact is worth more than any amount of upmarket anonymity. Patsy gave us lots of advice about our sightseeing and even arranged for her wonderful taxi driver Jessie to pick us up and drop us off when needed. All in all, it made our time in LA really special; I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as a lovely place to stay and would return there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcarter657, Owner at The Inn at 657, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
All of my staff and I appreciate our most recent review. As I have mentioned before, we have the most pleasant and interesting guests one could hope for. Most are well traveled and therefore experienced to judge lodging. No less so the charming and engaging couple from Australia who wrote the review.

So it is with temerity that I question even one word of the hearty review: “ramshackle”
( meaning rickety).

The building which houses The Inn At 657 is extremely well constructed and maintained . Even so, I state this fact reluctantly as I don’t want to “quibble” (focus on the trivial).

The real focus is thatn we contributed to this couple’s happy visit to Los Angeles and for us that is success- that is what we work for.

Patsy Carter, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here our 3 nights in LA. Located close to I-10 and 110. Also close to public transportation. Clean, comfortable rooms. Great breakfasts. Patsy and staff couldn't have been more friendly or accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mebent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We chose the Inn at 657 due to the reasonable rates for lodging and parking while attending to business in Los Angeles. The house and furnishings are warm and charming. Patsy and her staff were so very kind and accommodating and the breakfasts were spectacular. We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandMPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here because of its close proximity to USC, the school my son attends. The hospitality was wonderful. Patsy welcomed my son to breakfast both mornings and on top of that the breakfasts were awesome, plenty of delicious food. Also, the common rooms we well decorated. Patsy has a nice way of displaying her decor and I appreciate this. The location is in a safe neighborhood and close enough to a major street (Figeroa) so access to other places was easy.

Room Tip: The bed was a little soft. If this is a problem for you then you might want to check about other be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim94101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Radisson Midtown at USC
#48 of 351 in Los Angeles
569 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#41 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,165 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#69 of 351 in Los Angeles
247 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at 657? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at 657

Property: The Inn at 657
Address: 657 & 663 W. 23rd Street, Los Angeles, CA 90007
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Inn At 657 Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing