We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at 657
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
$359
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Angeleno(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$379
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin Los Angeles Airport(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$375
$335
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$181
$98
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$521
$449
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
$386
$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
102
24
6
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
24
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvisiting uscoff street parkingfresh fruitprivate bathconvention centeruniversity of southern californiabed breakfastdowntown laliving roomhardwood floorsgrand central marketdodger stadiuma great place to stayunion stationsanta monicaconvenient locationpatti
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 135 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Patsy is an incredible cook who offers a unique B & B in a very accessible and safe part of downtown LA. You can literally walk to USC and see some great old historic buildings. And, the Dash, a very safe transit bus, is less than 2 short blocks to take into downtown for wining, dining and a lot more great sight seeing.
The Inn itself is a comfortable and very affordable accommodation in itself. Patsy's presence makes it all the better. And, yes, truly, the breakfasts were extremely superb.
This is the type of place that makes one feel completely at ease and welcome in what many consider to be an intimidating city and I highly recommend it and its owner.

Room Tip: Let Patsy know ahead of time what you are looking for as she is very good with accommodating your special wants and needs if possible. For instance, there are suites available if you don't want to hear your neighbors, at all.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MontanaBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

So much better than an anonymous mega-hotel staffed by callow youths with terminal acne - here is a try true gem of a Victorian residence in central LA presided over by the charming and gracious Patsy. Outstanding breakfast, comfortable rooms, reliable WiFi and pearls of cultured wisdom from our hostess. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

My son had back surgery at USC, and the 5 days we spent at 657 made it seem like a holiday.

I cannot say enough about how helpful and wonderful Patsy was, from making sure that we had whatever we needed, to being able to offer excellent suggestions and information in response to any questions.

We stayed in a wonderful, spacious two bedroom apartment ... Clean, comfortable, terrific beds, all conveniences, absolutely delicious, gourmet breakfasts, fully equipped kitchen (including amenities I have never found elsewhere), excellent internet and convenient off-street parking, an historical, interesting, very walkable neighborhood, and close proximity to shops and restaurants.

Bottom line: if you can stay at 657, do not look further!

L.F.
Great Falls, VA

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lloyd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcarter657, Owner at The Inn at 657, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

The staff of The Inn At 657 sincerely thanks our guests for their generous reviews of our effort to provide good accommodations they can count on. Their appreciation inspires us to continue our effort to give them a happy experience at The Inn At 657 and to add to their enjoyment of Los Angeles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

we just spent 5 nights her while visiting our son who lives very near by with his girl friend. the rooms that we had were really like a small appartment and really great. living room, full kitchen, two bedrooms. all very nicely furnished. the property is very well maintained and the garden really lovely. there is great parking and a gate that slides to close in the evening. the street is not the quietest but not intrusive really. we slept fine, but it is very safe. we felt very comfortable and peacefull. the owner kept out breakfast perfect and very well prepared. and the conversation was so wonderful. not at all like staying in a huge hotel in l.a. such a relief for sure. i recomemnd it totally and encourage everyone to try it.

a rodgers
san francisco

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hereandthere1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Like everyone else, picked the Inn from Trip Advisor reviews and was not disappointed. We were upgraded at a quiet time to a 2 bedroom suite, were able to walk on our first night to the local fast food places and the breakfasts were amazing, lunch not required. Rooms could do with a little updating and would benefit from double glazing, but overall, excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catfordwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews