We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulously eclectic, great friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cinema Suites Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 95 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights towards the end of our honeymoon. When we arrived, Ms Bennett showed us the way and was extremely helpful! Bless you ma'am!
Michael, the manager was so helpful, he actually bought gluten free bread for my toast at breakfast time!
There was always fresh fruit of different types, cereals, freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee, tea, yoghurt, peanut butter, honey and fresh butter on the table every morning!
You could have oatmeal too if you liked to.Margherita did lovely scrambled eggs with fixings!! For my hubby she did exactly what he wanted, plain eggs!
Always willing to bring you what you would like, Margherita was a willing hostess to our breakfasts.
The location is just brilliant for many activities and it seemed safe to me as we walked at night around the neighbourhood or down Wilshire.
Our room had an ensuite, the shower pressure was wonderful as was the plentiful hot water.
Loads of tv programs, available and a nice tv to view.
The house itself was amazing!! So many beautiful eclectic furnishings and lovely meditation music floating thru the house made it feel relaxing.
Parking at the back behind a wrought iron set of gates added to the feeling of security.
The dining room was spacious and guests sitting around the table get a chance to chat leisurely as they eat.
We made friends with a lovely lady from Panama. It was great hearing all the travel stories!

Thank you so much for being part of our honeymoon, Ms Bennett,Michael and Margherita, oh and lovely little Diana too!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mctutums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 129 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

Cinema suites is well located but is old and needs some TLC. Although it was clean it did look a little worn out. The shangri la room was big enough but had old fittings and tv etc. the spotlights that flooded in through the dressing room window from the neighbouring property were hard to ignore and there was no curtain. I hung some of my clothes on it to try and block it out without much success. Also the traffic is so loud it is hard to ignore and I struggled to get a good nights sleep despite using earplugs and a mask. We hardly saw or had much to do with the owners as we arrived on a weekend but the weekend staff were fantastic and assisted where they could. Breakfast was good and they were willing to accommodate anything we asked for although plain black tea seems to be a rarity in the states and we bought our own. I didn't feel entirely comfortable there and would hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tripm8s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinemaSuites, Manager at Cinema Suites Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Our first reaction to this review is to feel that there must be some error about the date of the stay. The TripAdvisor review says, “Stayed November 2013” however Scarfish2 writes "the shangri la room was big enough but had old fittings and tv etc.” Well, the room Scarfish2 stayed in, Room 3, The Shangri-la Room, got a brand new 39” Flat Screen High Definition Toshiba Television in July of 2013.

Outdated? Take a look at the photos of the rooms at www.cinemasuites.biz and see what you think. All four rooms were redecorated and furnished by Bravo Channel for makeover TV show in October of 2011 – not that long ago. We think the designs of the rooms are holding up well and we have no interest in making Cinema Suites a fashion plate of modern design. The house was built in 1922 and it was originally home to a famous furrier to the stars in the Golden Age of Hollywood. Incidentally, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has recently acquired the old May Company building on the north east corner of Fairfax and Wilshire, (now a part of The Los Angeles County Museum of Art, LACMA), and is creating there The Academy Museum of Motion Pictures. The new motion picture museum will be a five minute walk from our door. Our design choices will be to continue to restore the house (“old fittings” will continue to be included in our design choices) and to emulate the design themes of the Academy Museum. Dianne will also be bringing in more classic cinema art and memorabilia.

There was no curtain on the dressing room window: This has been on our to do list, and we are very sorry that we did not get to it before your stay. We have installed a dark blind for the dressing room window in Room 3.

Street noise in Room 3, The Shangri-la Room: Room 3 is on the street side of the house and may not be a good choice for a light sleeper. I have slept in this room many times and I always sleep very soundly there.

Black Tea: We have purchased plain Black Tea and we will make an effort to keep it in stock.


We have tried to enclose our invoice from Paul’s TV for 4 brand new flat screen high definition televisions purchased in July of 2013 for the bed and breakfast to verify our statement in the first paragraph, but we have not found a way to include the scan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Michael and Diane is very friendly, and help us find our way around LA
The Bed and Breakfast is very centrally located and easily find our way to Hollywood Bolevard and Santa Monica
And they served the best Breakfast in the world
Start with an Fresh Orange Juice, Fruits Salad, Yogurt, Cornflakes, Toast or English Muffins and finish with Spanish Omelette or Fried Eggs

Room Tip: We had No 4 room, which overlook the garden, spacious and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lotustai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We absolutely loved this place. We arrived in Los Angeles feeling very 'green' it's quite daunting, but Michael and the housekeeper were very welcoming tous, nothing was too much trouble. We met Diane albeit quickly, but she was eating her supper. We stayed in the small room, yes it's small, but it made my husband and I very romantic! The bathroom and room was spotless! Lots of clean fluffy towels and lots of products. The food was excellent in the morning, I loved the eggs and spinach and cheese, I wanted to bring the lady who prepared the food home with us!

Thank you, it was a lovely experience and one I highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you don't like intimacy then the small room is not the best choice but all the same a beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Cinema Suites is amazing. The owner and her staff made us feel like we were staying with family. Breakfasts are made to order and fantastic to say the least.Try the onion cheese and spinach omelette, my personal favorite. The other guests were amazing and sharing great food and great company made each day a special adventure. The Historic Mansion itself is part of Hollywood history and so is located in the center of everything worth seeing in Los Angeles. The rooms my partner and I had were very large well furnished and so good to come HOME to after a busy day of running all over town. But the real treat is being able to relax in a grand living room surrounded by antiques and books, walking out to the terrace and the beautiful garden and lawn area and just taking it all in. They make you feel special at Cinema Suites because they care about you, and That is indeed priceless! I can't wait to return to Los Angeles and stay at Cinema Suites, dine at Musso & Frank's Maybe take in that new GATSBY film at the Chinese Theater. You'll never have a more authentic cultural Hollywood experience!

Room Tip: There a 2 LA Fitness centers within a mile of the property with World class facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

One nights stay after a long flight. Easy to get to from the airport with sat navs help. Warm welcome from our hosts. The small room was small but fine for a short stay and it had ensuite bathroom too. The breakfast was very good, lots of choice and as much as you would like.
Thank you.

Room Tip: If you are staying longer than one night, go for a bigger option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neville1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Cinema Suites Bed and Breakfast for two nights in April 2013. We had a warm welcome upon arrival and a tour of the home. We mentioned about our cell phones not working and both Diane and Michael were very helpful. On arrival both Diane and Michael ensured we had appropriate parking. We enjoyed the small room, it was good value for money. The place is very homely and other guests were friendly.
The morning cook was very friendly and happy to meet breakfast requirements.
We would definitely stay again, it was a perfect location within walking distance to the Grove which we loved.
Thanks Cinema Suites for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmandTash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Wilshire Crest Hotel
#129 of 355 in Los Angeles
421 reviews
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#135 of 355 in Los Angeles
316 reviews
Hollywood
Trylon Hotel
Trylon Hotel
#5 of 95 in Los Angeles
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#4 of 95 in Los Angeles
165 reviews
Central L.A
Garden Cottage B & B
Garden Cottage B & B
#6 of 95 in Los Angeles
311 reviews
Central L.A
Hollywood Bed & Breakfast
Hollywood Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 95 in Los Angeles
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinema Suites Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinema Suites Bed & Breakfast

Address: 925 S Fairfax Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90036-4418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range: $102 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cinema Suites Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B located in Los Angeles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cinema Suites Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinema Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing