We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Little Bit of Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Feliz Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Feliz Lodge
Ranked #14 of 88 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Little Bit of Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Location of this hidden gem is perfect. First of all it is in a very safe spot. Plenty of restaurants to suit any taste within walking distance. Right off the main road but on a very quiet residential side street. Owner Jacob was very personable and the check in was so easy. Given a code for the main gate and a key code for your personal casita. Perfect and non-intrusive. This place is small and efficient... a bedroom, living room, bathroom and full kitchen. I understand that each casita has different decor, although we did not see them. Many attractions located right in area. We were visiting our son who lives just a few blocks away. Would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. So much better than a hotel.

Room Tip: Loved the red casita.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AJandCin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    20
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
31
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Los Feliz Lodge for two nights....it was nowhere near long enough!!!! We stayed in a villa (1503) which had EVERYTHING we needed (washing machine, dryer, cooking utensils etc).

The location is fantastic (easy 15min walk to los feliz village and silverlake cafés). And if you want to visit dreaded Hollywood (which every tourist has to do once!) it's only a $15 cab ride.

Our stay here was so easy, everything ran smoothly. Once our payment was received the owner sent us self-check in instructions...and that was it! Easy!

The villa was big and rustic. So cool and chilled. Would 100% stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjane0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We've now stayed in Los Feliz Lodge twice: once in the Red Casita and once in Villa 1503. I've also seen the inside of the Green Casita when a friend stayed there. Overall, the location is excellent--walking distance to Sunset Junction and pretty convenient to everywhere in East and Central LA. The decor is fun, modern, and hip, and the keyless gate system, free Wi-Fi, and fairly reliable street parking (just be sure to read the signs about street cleaning!) check all the major boxes. As many other reviewers have said, you feel like you're staying in your own, well-decorated apartment in one of LA's nicest and loveliest areas. I have gone for jogs around the neighborhood on both of my visits and always felt safe and enjoyed checking out the real estate and scenery along the way. And best of all, the price is right--very reasonable for LA.

Contrary to what the pricing suggests, though, I'd recommend you go for one of the casitas. Villa 1503, while HUGE and decorated thoughtfully, just felt a bit more worn-out than the casitas did. It smelled really musty, and the air conditioner struggled (LOUDLY) through dusty vents; the towels were stiff and smelled mildewy; the sugar in the kitchen was caked into a solid chunk in the container; the shower drained very slowly; the fridge had clearly not been cleaned; the informational binder was falling apart; the iron's steam function was broken; and when we moved the bedside table to plug in our chargers, it was pretty grimy and dusty back there. None of these things were deal-breakers by any means, but added up, they were an indication of less attention to detail overall. I kept feeling reminded that I wasn't paying a lot for my accommodations.

I'll definitely stay there again for the location alone, but I will request a casita (the Red Casita was our favorite). A solid 3.5-4 stars.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the casitas: while smaller, they seem to be fresher and more recently updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank modean09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I loved my stay at the Los Feliz Lodge. Perfect location and a perfect room with all the best facilities and amenities.

Above all I was really grateful for the service provided by Jacob and staff.

I can't wait to stay there again and will be recommending it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Stayed in the 'Green Casita' which was lovely for one person travelling or a couple. Great k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelNas27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

What a great place. All the home comforts you could want.
After a long day driving it's great to arrive here. In an area where you leave the car for a while and go for a walk. So many nice shops and food on your doorstep. Free parking also, with loads of spaces.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
214 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stumbled upon this place in June when a family emergency required us to be close to the hospital . Now we would not stay anywhere else when we visit Los Angeles .This time we stayed in the green casitta. The place is a home away from home, IMMACULATE, fully stocked with appliances and utensils a short walk to Vons supermarket, a beautiful movie theatre , coffee shops etc. We love the outside area that is private. This place is a home away from home in the middle of a residential area. The unit has a bedroom a living room and full kitchen. the bathroom is stocked with soap and shampoo, thick towels. I live a tidy life and this place ticks off all my needs. Immaculate,cozy, private yet close to everything Especially my son and his family.

Room Tip: All units are wonderful we are only two people so we stay in the smallest unit this time. In june w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank achristine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

While traveling through LA, we wanted to stay in a non-traditional hotel. Having stayed in a "suite" with home-like accommodations, we were looking for something similar. Los Feliz Lodges was just what we were looking for (and then some).

Notables:
Nicely decorated and clean
Close to neighborhood groceries and restaurants
Dish and silverware available (perfect for take-out meals)
Close to Hollywood and Griffith Park
Street-parking (wasn't much of an issue for us)
Owner (Jacob) made himself very available
...He gave me his cell phone number so I could call him or text him as needed
Top-notch customer service
...I texted Jacob about an HDMI cable for the TV, he brought it over within minutes.
...The dining recommendations in the binder were spot-on and extensive (with menus from nearby areas)

This is a perfect place to stay if you are looking for a place that makes you feel like you live in LA (and not just a touring).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gooberlili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#44 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#65 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#28 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Feliz Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Feliz Lodge

Property: Los Feliz Lodge
Address: 1507 N Hoover St, Los Feliz, Los Angeles, CA 90027-5521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Hotel Alternative! Los Feliz Lodge is located in the charming Los Feliz neighborhood, just a short stroll to Los Feliz Village and the hip Silver Lake Sunset Junction area. Very close to the Metro, and just few stops to the Hollywood touristy areas, Downtown or Universal Studios. The "lodge" is a 1920's Spanish-style courtyard apartment complex. Offering detached bungalows with fully equipped kitchens, a/c, wireless internet, cable & telephone, mini-bar, robes and slippers, tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Feliz Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing