We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it... Home from home. ”
Review of Los Feliz Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Feliz Lodge
Ranked #16 of 94 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

What a great place. All the home comforts you could want.
After a long day driving it's great to arrive here. In an area where you leave the car for a while and go for a walk. So many nice shops and food on your doorstep. Free parking also, with loads of spaces.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Los Feliz Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 85 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stumbled upon this place in June when a family emergency required us to be close to the hospital . Now we would not stay anywhere else when we visit Los Angeles .This time we stayed in the green casitta. The place is a home away from home, IMMACULATE, fully stocked with appliances and utensils a short walk to Vons supermarket, a beautiful movie theatre , coffee shops etc. We love the outside area that is private. This place is a home away from home in the middle of a residential area. The unit has a bedroom a living room and full kitchen. the bathroom is stocked with soap and shampoo, thick towels. I live a tidy life and this place ticks off all my needs. Immaculate,cozy, private yet close to everything Especially my son and his family.

Room Tip: All units are wonderful we are only two people so we stay in the smallest unit this time. In june w...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank achristine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

While traveling through LA, we wanted to stay in a non-traditional hotel. Having stayed in a "suite" with home-like accommodations, we were looking for something similar. Los Feliz Lodges was just what we were looking for (and then some).

Notables:
Nicely decorated and clean
Close to neighborhood groceries and restaurants
Dish and silverware available (perfect for take-out meals)
Close to Hollywood and Griffith Park
Street-parking (wasn't much of an issue for us)
Owner (Jacob) made himself very available
...He gave me his cell phone number so I could call him or text him as needed
Top-notch customer service
...I texted Jacob about an HDMI cable for the TV, he brought it over within minutes.
...The dining recommendations in the binder were spot-on and extensive (with menus from nearby areas)

This is a perfect place to stay if you are looking for a place that makes you feel like you live in LA (and not just a touring).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gooberlili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The owners were super on top of everything and made it easy for reservations and access to the property. We stayed in Villa 1503. The place was very thoughtfully decorated, from the painting on the walls to the eclectic art to the books chosen to display on the bookshelf. They also provided reusable shopping bags and a yoga mat. Reading lights are on both sides of the bed.

There was a good amount of space for two people, although the bathroom is small. As with many of these older properties there are some quirky features which at the same time add a degree of charm.

Minuses include noisy air conditioners and not great parking. One must remember when the street cleaners are coming and on which side of the street.

The location was perfect for visiting our daughter and was close for exploring the Silver Lake area. I recommend Los Feliz Lodge if you don't want luxurious accommodations and want to stay in this area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great alternative to a hotel - infact, it was like being at home! Great location, price and facilities.

We got stung by the parking situation and a $100 parking ticket when we forgot about the road cleaning!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank kerry_manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Each year before the start of school, we take our AFBV (Annual Family Bonding Vacation). Dependent upon our crazy schedules we book 2-5 days, hole up in Los Angeles and become tourists in our own town. I choose lodging and food and the rest of the family picks out the art/culture part of the trip.

My search for the perfect place to stay has come to an end. Los Feliz Lodge will now be our "go to" place for our annual excursion. Each casita is a well-equiped private apartment. The furnishings are comfortable mid-century/eclectic. The location was perfect for walking to shops, theaters and restaurants and perfect driving distance to Hollywood/Downtown/Wilshire, etc.

I would highly recommend the Los Feliz Lodge to anyone looking for something other than the average hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NANCY Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Came here on vacation with my wife and 1 year old. We used to live in LA, so we were very familiar with the area. The price was right plus there was free street parking, since you definitely are renting a car when you come. (By the way, there is an enterprise about 2 blocks away that's a lot cheaper to rent from then an airport rental).

For us, it was like walking down memory lane since we lived about 5 minutes from here. Communication with the owner was great. The check in/check out process was smooth. The way the security access codes worked was smart, although my wife was still concerned about the doors not looking so secure. Once we arrived, we liked it instantly. It was like having your own apartment. It wasn't that big, but bigger than a hotel room, and bigger than our actual apartment when we lived here. We stood in the red villa.

There's a ton of stuff to do within walking distance, including groceries, restaurants, awesome movie theater, great area for running, and about 10 minutes to Hollywood. It's not far from downtown either, although I'm sure most people would be heading towards Beverly Hills, Santa Monica, Venice beach, and Malibu, which are a drive, but that's what everybody in LA does...drive!

I would stay here again, although we probably would stay in one of the beach towns next time we come back. It was nice to be "back in the neighborhood"; we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jkcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#68 of 353 in Los Angeles
2,509 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,946 reviews
Central L.A
The LINE
The LINE
#33 of 353 in Los Angeles
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Normandie
#19 of 353 in Los Angeles
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Feliz Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Feliz Lodge

Address: 1507 N Hoover St, Los Feliz, Los Angeles, CA 90027-5521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range: $150 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Hotel Alternative! Los Feliz Lodge is located in the charming Los Feliz neighborhood, just a short stroll to Los Feliz Village and the hip Silver Lake Sunset Junction area. Very close to the Metro, and just few stops to the Hollywood touristy areas, Downtown or Universal Studios. The "lodge" is a 1920's Spanish-style courtyard apartment complex. Offering detached bungalows with fully equipped kitchens, a/c, wireless internet, cable & telephone, mini-bar, robes and slippers, tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Feliz Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing