We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top location, good fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top location, good fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

I stayed at Banana Bungalow for 7 nights in September with a group of friends. When we checked in we were upgraded to a room with a kitchen. The room had two bedrooms (2 sets of bunks each), a kitchen with table and a TV in one of the bedrooms.

The hostel has free phones to call taxis, car hire, and any local calls which is great. We hired a car from the place recommended by the hostel and it wasn’t too expensive. Be careful when you rent a car though, they always try to slip in extra charges, the wee sneaks! The hostel has day trips to theme parks, a city tour etc. If I were to go again I would go on the LA tour ran by Banana Bungalow, because apparently you get to see the Hollywood sign up close and all of the famous peoples houses. We went on a Starline tour and it was not worth the money. I now have photos of celebrities gates but I can’t remember who’s gate is who’s and the most distant photo of the Hollywood sign. Seriously not worth the money.

Anyways there is an AMAZING Thai restaurant right next door to the hostel (turn right when you leave the hostel). It is cheap (about US$7) and SOOO good. Subway and Dominos are also close by (turn left), and the main area of Hollywood Boulevard (where the Chinese Theatre etc is) is about a 20 minute walk away.

This hostel has the best breakfast of all the hostels I stayed in while in the US. You get a bowl of cereal and toast (with peanut butter and jelly, of course) and they have coffee and tea. You can also buy pancakes, bacon, eggs etc, they looked really good too.

The computers looked quite new, but quite often the internet wasn’t working. Also they have covered up the box to the computer so you can’t plug in a USB or earphones. But free’s free!

The hostel is very social, there are pool tables, parties at night (comedy nights, movie nights etc), and a theatre room with a big TV. They even had free barbeques some nights! I managed to sleep well each night as well, I didn’t find it noisy at all.

I agree that the parking there is pretty dodgy, but we had no problems with our car there, some boys “accidently” threw the basketball at it a few times but we gave them a piece of our mind! And it’s free parking, which is really good! Definitely get a car if you going to LA, especially if, like us, you want to see all the beaches (Huntington, Laguna, Newport, Long Beach, Venice, Santa Monica, Malibu).

Overall I was happy with my stay at this hostel. I would recommend it if you are staying in LA!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iheartravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    162
    86
    33
    28
See reviews for
10
79
104
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Stayed here with a friend to kick off a cross-country road trip. Onsite parking was in a private lot, so that was a plus. Our room was super retro with a huge round bed and a funky couch. It also had a little kitchen. While we were staying here, some guy asked to use our computer and after talking to him for a bit he tells us he is a prince in an African tribe and offered to fly us to Africa for their big festival. Pretty entertaining. So, I guess overall it's a decent place to stop for a night or two if you want to see Hollywood. It's a hostel, so expect some characters. The thai restaurant next door is pretty delicious too.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n1kk1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed one week and are very satisfied. The room was big with a flat screen TV, a big kitchen area, a good sized bathroom. Some upgrades would be needed especially in the bathroom and some pieces of furniture but for the money we paid, we're more than satisfied. The breakfast was nothing special but it was good. and the staff was really nice.
Great place for young people that wanna have fun in L.A.!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carineaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

Location - Short walk to metro station (Hollywood/Vine). We had a car (which is a must have!!) which we used to get to all the major sights apart from Universal Studios (catch the train to Universal City then free shuttle bus) and Hollywood Walk of Fame (we walked, approximately 20minutes). Subway/Thai/Burger restaurants close. Avoid bus transport in LA (they come once an hour!!).
Room - Basic. We had the premium private room so it had a simple kitchen with scarce cooking and eating utensils. Room could do with a touch up/maintenance - window didn't close properly, ants in the bathroom etc. Blinds on the windows mean that people can see in from outside!! Fairly noisy into the night because many folk hang out the front of their rooms/or in the courtyard and drink and be merry.
Service - Major bonus was that staff were happy to accept multiple packages that were delivered from our online shopping (cheapest way to shop in USA). Negatives were that when we reported out TV cable box wasn't working it took 3 days and multiple naggings by us before the issue was fixed (which was a change in room). Quite a few Australian staff who were bogans - they weren't so friendly and didn't show much pride in their work.
Amenities - free wifi (dropped out at times/limited reception), free breakfast (basic ++ - sugary cereal and toast with spreads, we bought our own cereal and just used the milk). Free parking provided onsite however required double parking - at one time a couple's car was blocked in because the front car failed to provide their keys and left for a day trip, also take great care parking close to the basketball ring as we saw many cars get pummeled by balls by careless young backpackers.
Value - Pretty good price (weekly rate).
Overall - Not bad to serve as a launching pad to see the city, no frills.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rooboy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

I've been at this place for two days with a friend. We stayed in a girls room for 6. The room had a small kitchen with all the furniture, what is great.

The room is small for 6 people, the bathromm was dirty and I don't remember about someone clening it. The breakfast was ok, for hostels.

The staff wasn't helpfull.

The location is not nice, it's far from most of the nightlife of the city, you need a car to move into the city. The good point is that they have parking lots for free.

I wouldn't be back, I'd preffer to look for something in another area of the city.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miimis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at this brilliant hostel whilst travelling the USA. The location is good, convenience stores close by and bars etc just down the road. The hostel has so much going on that it is perfect both for groups and people wanting to meet others. They organise different events (tours for the daytime) and beer and karaoke nights where they have free beer, hot dogs, live bands and such a great atmosphere - everyone gets involved and has fun. The whole feel of the hostel is welcoming and secure, and this is definitely the best hostel in terms of fun and practicality, that we stayed in throughout the whole of the USA.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller201003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

This hostel has a really good vibe to it. It looks like it was previously a motel, so all the rooms face inwards to a central area. My stay included free breakfast, which was cereal and coffee. The place is really clean and well managed. I felt like it was worth my money, as there was a comfy TV area as well as a pool room and internet computers were provided on top of the free Wi-Fi.
There are seats outside of the rooms and a garden area out the back, all of which aid in getting everybody to mingle.
Lists are up for tours to the LA attractions and they organise a party with their sister hostel in West Hollywood.
Bathrooms fared well and my room included it's own kitchen.
I throttled my stars for location down to average because the hostel isn't in the middle of the Hollywood strip, you do have to walk a bit to reach it and the Metro station. For a top notch place like this, it was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanetaryPalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#13 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#68 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 82 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Orange Drive Hostel
Orange Drive Hostel
#6 of 82 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Hollywood
Walk of Fame Hostel
Walk of Fame Hostel
#9 of 82 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Venice
Samesun Venice Beach
Samesun Venice Beach
#7 of 82 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bungalow Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow Hollywood

Property: Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Address: 5920 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5410
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Banana Bungalow Hollywood 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Bungalow Hollywood Hostel is a very popular international destination with a great location. We provide awesome rooms and dorms with many conveniences so you will definitely be comfortable. Our staff is cool and friendly, they will hook you up with Hollywood and LA. In the morning you can enjoy a free breakfast in our Tiki Garden, meet up with other travelers and plan your day. We offer many daytime activities or you can venture out and explore the city. Then in the evening we have nightly gatherings where you can meet and greet new people, plan your night and then head out into the coolest party city in California. We also offer many night time activities or you can hit the town with your new international friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Banana Bungalow Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing