We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, friendly staff and great for meeting other travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Me and my friends from England has a great stay at Banana Bungalow, we actually came back three times. It was a very short work to the centre of Hollywood and the famous stars begin right outside. Staff were great, we did a day tour with them and it was money well spent.

There was something different on every night, all for a small donation. Breakfast was good, lots of cereal, fruit and yoghurt. There were pizza nights, movie nights, nights out.

I would return and I recommend this place to anyone travelling on a low budget.

Room Tip: We had a family sized room, much more space and kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lowennapascoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 443 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

I liked the Banana Bungalow very much! I wouldn't recommend it for families though. It's kind of a party hostel. I didn't try to sleep at night so I don't kow how loud it really is. I slept in a six bed mixed dorm, there weren't any other rooms left by the time we booked. So I guess it's pretty popular. The room was okay (even a TV!), clean but not outstanding. But that's alright, because we didn't spend too much time there! And everyone knows that hostels aren't five star hotels! I can comprehend why they were booked out though. The location is perfect. The Walk Of Fame is close, walking distance. People offer tours to Beverly Hills etc there in case you are not by car. But the hostel does too!!! :) I didn't do it because there was no tour offered on 4th of July.
I also liked that not only the breakfast was included but also a free bbq at night, which was damn good! The staff was always nice and helpful. And actually sooo much fun! They did party along with everone else, so they didn't dissociate themselves. Even the staff comes from all over the world. So you get many different impressions. That's what I like most!
Moreover you don't need to bring any towels or sheets (comfortable, when you have a lot of baggage already anyway!) and they have laundry maschines...
The only bad thing I can say about the hostel is that the internet almost never works at this place, which sucks!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muckilein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is brilliant, staff are friendly, rooms are clean and there are always activities planned at nights.The hostel is on Hollywood Blvd and is so close to all the activities in L.A.
Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amysarah8183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have never stayed at a backpackers place overseas before, and did this on the word from my sister who has stayed with them previously. I did have a private room, and let me tell you it was just what I needed for the 4 days I was in LAX. The location was great, just a short walk to Hollywood, and had public transport options out the front of the hostel. It was secure, fun, vibrant, and also the staff went above and beyond to help with things to do, transport options, and the tours they organised, where professional and in a great price range. The only thing that did bug me, was my room was right infront of the basketball hoop, so when others played basketball at night, it kept banging the door, but that was the only thing that I felt went wrong. It didnt bother me that much, as it didnt happen when I was sleeping. I would use this hostel again, and will be telling my friends about it if they are travelling to LAX.

Room Tip: It is really personal preference, but I do prefer the private rooms. But the share rooms where clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juzzy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We were greated with a very warn welcome from Jim on reception, got some information about what was happening at the hostel in the next few days and where everything was.

We were stying in a 6 bedded mixed dorm with a kitchen and bathroom. The kitchen had a the pots and pans you need, a massive fridge and freezer, oven, gas hobs and a microwave. The bathroom had a bath and shower. The rooms get cleaned every day which was nice. Satelite Tv in the room was a nice addition.

The only down side was the common area was in the middle of the rooms so when people were pre drinking before going out, you could hear all the noise, also the basketball hoops were in the same area so that was a bit nosy at night when your trying to sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ge0rge2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Myself and 4 friends stayed in Banana Bungalow for 2 nights. We were all very impressed and enjoyed our stay here. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming, and the free breakfast in the morning, as well as free pizza one night for dinner, was great. Really good location - literally 2 mins away from the stars. Great facilities with a kitchen and bathroom in each room. I would recommend this hostel and would stay here again if I ever return to Los Angeles!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcmknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Banana Bungalow was ideal for our short stay over in L.A. Located very close to the start of the 'Walk of Fame' it allowed for easy access to town and the local attractions. Clean rooms, great spread for breakfast and friendly helpful staff! Recommend to any young travelers looking for location and a clean nights stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieC-J93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Harbor
All Star Inn
All Star Inn
#228 of 355 in Los Angeles
37 reviews
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#135 of 355 in Los Angeles
316 reviews
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 107 in Los Angeles
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Samesun Venice Beach
Samesun Venice Beach
#5 of 107 in Los Angeles
636 reviews
Hollywood
Walk of Fame Hostel
Walk of Fame Hostel
#9 of 107 in Los Angeles
118 reviews
Hollywood
Orange Drive Hostel
Orange Drive Hostel
#6 of 107 in Los Angeles
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bungalow Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow Hollywood

Address: 5920 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range: $46 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Banana Bungalow Hollywood 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Bungalow Hollywood Hostel is a very popular international destination with a great location. We provide awesome rooms and dorms with many conveniences so you will definitely be comfortable. Our staff is cool and friendly, they will hook you up with Hollywood and LA. In the morning you can enjoy a free breakfast in our Tiki Garden, meet up with other travelers and plan your day. We offer many daytime activities or you can venture out and explore the city. Then in the evening we have nightly gatherings where you can meet and greet new people, plan your night and then head out into the coolest party city in California. We also offer many night time activities or you can hit the town with your new international friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Banana Bungalow Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing