We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“take me back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“take me back”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

we had a great time at banana bungalow. the staff put together regular entertainment such as pub crawls or Kareoke and often provide drinks and food which justified the price. the rooms are basic but that's what you'd expect from a hostel.there's good common areas and a common room so you can continue socializing later at night

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephnz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    164
    87
    33
    28
See reviews for
10
81
105
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Amazing place ... About half hour walk to all things central but buses run outside the door for 1.50.. Very nice staff .. Rooms have a/c which we Needed very clean too. Served lovely brekfast for free too and very helpful when it came to any questions or setting up tours! Free laundry powder too and free beer every fri along with a dj pretty cool spot definitely recommend it to anyone and great value for money :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Very easy to organise and great location as a starting point for seeing the rest of LA

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great location, nice people, free internet, breakfast and beer at night.
Definitely recommended if you're looking for a nice cheap place to stay in LA.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzabam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed for a week at the start of June, it was a good room with good facilities (despite asking for the cheaper option) However the blinds did not fully cover the window and people can easily see into the rooms and one of the workers seemed hostile and rude and insisted that we hadn´t paid a deposit, even though we had already paid twenty five pounds. Also we felt left out for not joining in with the `partying´ as the hostel was extremely loud and rowdy. Apart from that it was a great location and everybody else was very nice.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandG1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I am so happy I decided to stay in this nice Hostel. The location just right on Hollywood Boulevard is very convenient and short walking distance from Dolby (Kodak) Theater an Chinese Theater. All without car should be also pleased thanks to red metro line just 5 minutes from the hostel. Hollywood stars on a sidewalk starts just next to the entry. I was pleased by the service and easy way to make phone reservation while on my way to LA. There is a TV/computer room with access to printer, a game room with little stage and every night activities and big shared kitchen that I not used at all. Laundry is not a problem as well. My shared room was great and clean. Next to room was a kitchen and a bathroom kept clean thanks to nice and responsible travelers. There is even simple breakfast included that made my stay very pleasant and convenient. I would return to Banana Bungalow on my next trip to LA.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARM-RK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We thought Banana Bungalow was a great back packers. We had our own private room with ensuite and small kitchen and thought it was excellent and good value for money. We called Banana Bungalow a few hours before we arrived at the airport and they arranged the shuttle to pick us up. It was an excellent service and the driver was really friendly and helpful. We also went on a tour with Banana Bungalow and it was really good with only a small group which was nice. We also went to their drinks and then were dropped off to a night club with VIP entry. We got to meet lots of people along with going to a really cool night club that we wouldn't normally have known about!

Banana Bungalow is in a very good location however just be careful as there can be a few crazy people around! We didnt really enjoy the breakfast, it is very basic and the coffee isnt very nice however because we had our own kitchen we just bought our own food. Overall we really enjoyed our experience and felt like we had the best of both worlds with our own private room and the opportunity to meet lots of people and join in with some fun stuff that we wouldnt of done on our own!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby_1980_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#70 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 86 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Orange Drive Hostel
Orange Drive Hostel
#7 of 86 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Hollywood
Walk of Fame Hostel
Walk of Fame Hostel
#10 of 86 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Venice
Samesun Venice Beach
Samesun Venice Beach
#6 of 86 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bungalow Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow Hollywood

Property: Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Address: 5920 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5410
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Banana Bungalow Hollywood 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Bungalow Hollywood Hostel is a very popular international destination with a great location. We provide awesome rooms and dorms with many conveniences so you will definitely be comfortable. Our staff is cool and friendly, they will hook you up with Hollywood and LA. In the morning you can enjoy a free breakfast in our Tiki Garden, meet up with other travelers and plan your day. We offer many daytime activities or you can venture out and explore the city. Then in the evening we have nightly gatherings where you can meet and greet new people, plan your night and then head out into the coolest party city in California. We also offer many night time activities or you can hit the town with your new international friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Banana Bungalow Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing