We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget rooms with or without a view, staff ...staff ...staff makes this hotel extremely special.”
Review of Custom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Custom Hotel
Ranked #211 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Tequesta, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Forget rooms with or without a view, staff ...staff ...staff makes this hotel extremely special.”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My x husband recommended this hotel. That's a statement. Went into hotel with regret . Stayed for 8 nights. Left hotel regretting I had to leave.
Staff is what my stay was all about.
From.directions to recommendations. They were
invaluable to me during my stay.

Recommendations absolutely , very European feel.

Food not so much. Breakfast or evening bar. Very mediocre.


  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jets86mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hello jets86mom,

Thank you so much for being our recent guest and for posting a review of your experience here on TripAdvisor.com. Guest feedback is critical to our operation as we use it to evaluate our service and operations and make necessary changes.

Regarding your experience second at our break buffet and Deck33, I'll be certain to pass along your comments to our Food & Beverage Director for her review and follow-up. We're always willing to make changes to create a better dining experience!

In closing, it appears from your review that overall there were more positive than negatives. It would be our pleasure to have you back as our guest very soon. And, if there's anything I may personally do to make your future visit more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    531
    326
    170
    149
See reviews for
270
454
235
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

The Custom Hotel has free shuttle service on the half hour to and from the hotel which is 10 minutes from the airport. It also offers free wifi. There are places close by to eat as well as a restaurant on site which opens at 5 pm.

The bed was comfortable, the rooms could use some updating. I got a great rate of $103 per night on hotels.com which was reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank navidad_not
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hello, navidad_not

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. We're glad to read that your experience at Custom Hotel met your expectations. If there is ever a way we can improve in our service, product or overall operations, please feel free to reach out to me directly. Guest feedback allows us to constantly improve and we couldn't do so without the voice of valued guests like yourself.

We invite you to return to Custom Hotel the next time your business or leisure plans return you to Los Angeles. I think you will be delighted to find that we do have some plans in the works to further update and refresh our guest rooms.

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We love the look of the hotel and service. The decoration was modern, and original, and the rooms were very clean. I just found the room too small and the beds really small. I would say this hotel is good for young people, even families, but not for an older person since the beds are really low. I would think it would be hard to get up from there if you are not in shape.
I would go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monicaiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hello monicaiza,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Custom. It was great reading that you enjoyed the design and styling of the property. In your review you mentioned that both the bed and room appeared small. I believe the next time you visit with us you may be interested in booking one of our suites which offer a king size bed and approximately 600 sq ft of space.

Please do keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to the Los Angeles area.

Best Regards,

Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel is very close to the airport and located across a mall and with restaurants around and in the hotel.. The hotel has an European feel. They serve breakfast at a fee in the morning. The breakfast buffet was ok.

Room Tip: We shopped at Expedia.com we did not chose room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caridad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hello Caridad,

Thank you for posting a review of Custom on TripAdvisor we are glad you found our hotel to be perfect for short stay near the airport. Being situated in a location near the airport (roughly 2.7mi away), with plenty of restaurants, a gym, and park all within walking distance many of our guest would have to agree with you that our location is great. Please do keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to the LAX area.

Best regards,

Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I live close to The Custom and have recommended it to friends and family before, all have been very happy with their experiences. So two months ago when my husband and I decided to move up our wedding by about 7 months we decided The Custom was place to have it. BEST DECISION WE COULD HAVE EVER MADE!

From the minute I called Gracie, the Event Planner, everything was taken care of. She and the entire staff were more accommodating than I could have ever hoped for. They took care of everything and made sure every detail that we discussed went off without a hitch. All of our friends a family raved about their stay and my husband and I absolutely loved staying in the two bedroom suite on our wedding night ourselves.

The food is fantastic, the grounds are pristine and it is so conveniently located. Honestly, I am so sad it's over. I could spend another week here celebrating with everyone, including the staff. Thank you so much for making our wedding perfect!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hello,
First of all congratulations on your big day. We are so grateful that you chose Custom to be a part of it. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a sweet review and we hope you will think of us for any future events in your life. Enjoy your life together!

Warmest Regards,
Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
461 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Yes, the hotel is different than the Mariotts, Hiltons, Doubletree... They have done an effort to provide design and a modern touch to the hotel. Did it impress me? Nop. The hallways are not very welcoming, and the rooms are small and not very exciting. The views are good, though. We staid at 12th floor, with unobstructed views to the Airport and that was good. Almost no airplane noise.

The location is good, only 10 minutes from Venice, and there are several places to have something to eat in the area (only a few in walking distance).

Breakfast looked good, but was not included in the stay ($110) and at $12 I said no, no.

The staff at reception and the valet were great, though.

Tip: Street park and save the abusive $22 for valet parking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hello Pauak,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. We're glad to read that your experience at Custom Hotel met your expectations. If there is ever a way we can improve in our service, product or overall operations, please feel free to reach out to me directly. Guest feedback allows us to constantly improve and we couldn't do so without the voice of valued guests like yourself.

We invite you to return to Custom Hotel the next time your business or leisure plans return you to Los Angeles.

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The reviews are all outstanding for the Custom Hotel's great location, rooms, service and value. Have you thought about it as a wedding venue? My daughter's wedding was held there last weekend, and every detail was perfect. The staff was supremely accommodating to our guests -- providing them with a terrific room rate and friendly service. Many of our guests were from other parts of the country, and they couldn't get over how friendly LA is ... thanks to the great representation by the Custom. The poolside ceremony, bar, food, decorations, Hangar -- every detail -- was superb! I can't say enough about the entire experience. Wait until you see the pictures! The hotel's sales staff (Gracie) will surely share them with you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyPD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent A, Assistant Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hello BeckyPD2013,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to post a review of Custom here on TripAdvisor. It was a privilege to have our hotel selected as the location for your daughters wedding. Our staff were all extremely excited as this was Custom's very first wedding ceremony held on property. We did our best to ensure everything went out without a hitch and it truly was a pleasure working with and getting to know all of the family members and friends involved.

We look forward to welcoming you all back to Custom Hotel the next time your business or leisure plans return you to Los Angeles.

Warmest Regards,

Trent Allen
Assistant Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#83 of 351 in Los Angeles
4,605 reviews
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#68 of 351 in Los Angeles
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Westside
Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Custom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Custom Hotel

Property: Custom Hotel
Address: 8639 Lincoln Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045-3503
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Custom Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom Hotel offers a unique lifestyle/boutique experience near LAX for both the leisure and business traveler. Highlights: Only 5-8 minutes from LAX, and close to beach cities including Santa Monica and Venice Beach • Renovated in late 2011 • Heated pool with cabanas, firepit and stadium-style sundeck • 6 unique social rooms • Dedicated shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am - call us for pickup). Location: Custom Hotel is conveniently located 3 miles (10-12 minutes) from Los Angeles International Airport and down the street from Loyola Marymount University and surrounded by the beach cities of Marina del Rey, Venice, Santa Monica, and Manhattan Beach (less than 7 miles from each beach). Easily accessible via the 10, 405 and 105 freeways, the hotel is 10-to-20 miles from Beverly Hills, Hollywood and Downtown Los Angeles. Services and Amenities: The Hotel features a heated outdoor pool with cabanas, complimentary dedicated airport shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am), a fireplace and stadium-style sundeck, and 6 unique social rooms. Hotel provides complimentary wireless internet access in the public space and guest rooms, two Mac computers in the lobby, laundry and dry cleaning service, and a two fitness rooms (weights and cardio). We offer valet parking with in and out services with a fee. [Street parking is available as a free alternative.] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Custom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custom Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing