We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Airport Hotel, Nice Location”
Review of Custom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Custom Hotel
Ranked #221 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Airport Hotel, Nice Location”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I live in Orange County and was meeting a friend in LA for the weekend. We chose this hotel based on the location, price and the kinda "hip" vibe it gives off whenever we drive by. We were not disappointed. The rooms are minimalist but nice. The front desk staff is friendly. And although we just peeked at them, the bar and the pool area seemed fun.

If I needed to overnight in a hotel while passing through LAX, I would definitely stay here. There is a Ralph's, a coffee shop, a couple restaurants, etc in a complex conveniently located right next door. We went to dinner in Venice Beach and then out to some bars in Santa Monica. I would say it was about a $25 cab ride to those places. While the hotel only offers valet parking, don't be afraid to spend about 10 mins driving around the neighborhood either in front or behind the hotel to find street parking....saves you the valet fees and you are free to come and go as you please. My only complaint is that when I checked in they put in me in a room right across from the elevator (a very noisy elevator at that). When I called down to ask about another room, they happily switched me. Just seemed odd because who actually likes rooms THAT close to the elevator?! Overall, it was a good experience and I would return to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello, Kristin C:

Thank you so very much for being our recent Custom Hotel guest and for posting such a flattering review of your experience here on TripAdvisor.com! Guest feedback is critical to our operation as we endeavor to deliver the best product and service possible.

As you mentioned, Custom Hotel is a very different airport hotel experience. By design, with a unique color scheme, funky and unexpected amenities & social lounges we're a refreshing change of pace from the traditional "box" hotel! We're glad you decided to check us out!

It was great to read that you enjoyed all apsects of your experience - from the comfort, cleanliness and amenities of your guestroom, to the public spaces and the service you received from our hard-working staff.

In your review you mentioned street parking as an alternative to valet. We're pleased to be situtated in a great neighborhood with plenty of available street parking! We simply remind all travelers that wish to park in this manner to observe painted curbs and posted signage to prevent a citation, or worse, a tow-away for illegally parked vehicles.

In closing, thank you so much for being our valued guest! We truly appreciate the review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel the next time your travels return you to Los Angeles.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    534
    332
    173
    152
See reviews for
272
458
235
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel because my travel arrangements meant 2 nights near the airport, not the usual one. Loved it! Although previous reviews were mixed, I found the hotel rooms to be very roomy as well as clean and bright. Ryan at the front desk was extremely helpful and gave me a perfect room. The only suggestion is that the hotel advertises the restaurants half price happy hour; the food was wonderful and the price was excellent. Also it was nice to have the option of trying another resturant in the neighborhood which is not possible with the location of other airport hotels. Definitely will be back when flying through LAX!

Room Tip: Book the king size room as they are large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello, Lynn652:

Thank you very much for being our recent guest and for posting such a positive and flattering review of your recent experience with us here on TripAdvisor.com! We truly appreciate guest feedback as it allows us to constantly evaluate our product, service and operations and make changes when necessary. From your review, it appears we truly hit the mark on all accounts!

We're so glad that you enjoyed your guestroom, amenities, comfort and the service you received from our hard-working staff at the Front Desk! Thanks for the props for Ryan - we'll be sure to pass-along your kind words and give credit where credit is due!

Regarding our Happy Hours, we're pleased to offer them every day, 5pm - 7pm (and additional late night hours 9pm - 11pm on Fridays & Saturdays) featuring a great selection of $5 small plates, draft beers and cocktails! The Rock 'N Roll Shrimp and Flatbreads are amazing!

In closing, thank you once again for such a great review of your experience! We look forward to having you as our guest again very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This was a great choice for the Airport. Clean, funky and great service. A good deal as well. I would certainly stay here again. The bar was good as well nice pool and areas. Seemed to be close to some other services as well. Free shuttle clean and prompt.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamingelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello, roamingelf:

Thank you so much for being our recent guest and for posting such a flattering review of your experience here on TripAdvisor.com! We truly appreciate guest feedback as it helps us identify areas where we're performing well and areas where we can improve to deliver an even better product and service to our guests.

From your review, it appears that all aspects of your stay exceeded your expectations! We're glad that you found the hotel to be conveniently located in a great neighborhood with plenty of shops and dining options. In addition, we're just across the street from a Metro stop that can transport guests to some of L.A.'s best beaches (Venice & Santa Monica) for just $1! And, we're also next to a bowling alley, park, recreation center, golf course & driving range! Custom Hotel is situated in a great location where guests can feel comfortable getting out and walking around.

In closing, thank you so much for your business. We really appreciate it! And, we look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel the next time your business or leisure plans return you to Los Angeles.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpinteria, California
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. It's close to LAX and LMU. The views from upper floors are spectacular. The front desk staff is top of the line; very friendly, helpful, positive, and approachable. The bar serves great drinks. Each room has dependable wi-fi, a comfy bed, and is very clean and tastefully decorated. They are perfect for a traveler who needs cleanliness, functionality, and quiet. The gym is good too and has a surprising number of equipment features for not much space. Though parking is expensive (but what are you going to do, it's LA), it's still worth coming here. Overall, I would always recommend the Custom Hotel if you're staying close to Marina Del Rey, LMU, or LAX. It's a great, fun hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper floor with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello, Alan D:

Thank you so much for being our recent guest and for posting such a comprehensive and detailed review of your experience with us! We're flattered that you found each-and-every aspect of your experience to exceed your expectations! Guest feedback is so important to us, as it guides us in how we can continue to improve our guest's experience.

We're delighted to read that you found the hotel to be clean, well located, comfortable, a great value and that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff! We're working hard each and every day to deliver knock-your-socks-off service and it's great to read when guests recognize our efforts!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel very soon and thank you for your business and loyalty.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Management : I miss the sheep : PLEASE bring them back !!
Excellent service as always : the rooms were renovated in 2011 and are in top-shape
VERY comfortable bed : 300 count sheets make all the difference.
Bathroom is clean & functional ( shower lacks power but its ok)
Nice LG LCD flat screen , bathrobe/slippers, fridge & lap-top size safe ..... requested a room with views of LAX run-ways : just love to see the airport lit up at nite :)
Great trendy restobar : Happy Hours 5-7 pm
Excellent pricing : great location ( took me 15 minutes each way for dinner at Beverly Hills), lovely friendly staff, nice helpful valet parking ( at $20 overnight)
WILL BE BACK .... and hoping my sheep return to the fold :p

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Hello, Sailsingapore:

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty to Custom Hotel, for your recent patronage and for posting such a flattering review of your experience with us here on TripAdvisor.com! We're delighted that you've been loyal to Custom Hotel over the last several years!

Regarding the sheep, I regret to inform you (and all loyal Custom Hotel guests) that the plush sheep that once graced the Custom Hotel lobby are no longer with us. During the renovations back in mid-2011, the sheep were removed from Custom Hotel, never to be heard from again. We can only hope they're in a better place now. [For travelers that are wondering what - exactly - we're referring to, simply query "Custom Hotel Sheep" on Google Images.]

Regarding your experience, it was great to read just how much you appreciated the improvements since your last experience including the high-end HDTV and extra perks you found in our "Elevated Rooms". In addition to the great skyline views, bathrobes and slippers, these premium rooms feature coffeemakers with Wolfgang Puck coffee, full-size ironing boards, an ergonomic work chair, magnifying mirrors and access to our exclusive social lounges including the Transonic Gaming Lounge, the Stratosphere Massage Chair Lounge and our unique LAX Lounge & Business center. Upgrades to these Elevated Rooms run just $20 more than our Deluxe rooms (per night) and are well worth it!

In closing, we're so excited that you enjoyed all aspects of your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel the next time your worldly travels return you to Los Angeles!

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed stay...great hotel next to LAX...staff very helpful with shopping closeby. Restaurant is perfect for travelers. its not your typical airport hotel and was a welcomed surprise. Ryan at front desk was great. I will definitely stay here again. .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_Sexy_Leather_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hello, Big_Sexy_Leather_Guy:

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and for sharing your experience with the rest of the world here on TripAdvisor.com! Guest feedback is extremely important to us, as we're always looking for ways to deliver top-notch service and product to our valued guests. It was fantastic to read just how much you enjoyed your experience with us.

Yes, we're far from ordinary, when it comes to the traditional airport hotel experience. With lots of unique social lounges and meeting spaces and quirky extras such as individual LED lights - it's a refreshing change of pace for an airport hotel.

In your review, you mentioned that you found the hotel to be a "Great Business Hotel". We appreciate that! However, we wish to highlight that business travelers might consider upgrading to our "Elevated" accommodations. Specifically designed with the business traveler in mind, these rooms feature lots of extras: coffee-makers with Wolfgang Puck coffee, ergonomic desk chairs & work desks, full-size ironing boards, robes, slippers, outstanding skyline views, magnifying mirrors and ... best of all.. esclusive access to our "Stratosphere" Massage Chair lounge and "LAX Lounge" Business Center. These rooms generally run only $20 more than our deluxe accommodations and are well worth the value.

We're so glad that you found the hotel conveniently located, clean, comfortable and staffed with friendly and helpful personnel. Rest assured, your kind words regarding Ryan at the Front Desk did not go unnoticed and we'll be certain to give credit where credit is due!

In closing, thank you so much for being our guest and for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel the next time your business or leisure plans return you to Los Angeles!

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Having read the previous remarks on Trip Advisor I knew this would be a pleasant hotel experience. It was initially disappointing though as we had to wait for about 45 minutes for the coach shuttle to pick us up at the airport.
Speedy and friendly check in and gave us a room overlooking the Ocean.
Very clean throughout the hotel
Breakfast was a little disappointing, as it is of limited choice and in my view a little expensive for what it is.
I had arranged car hire from the airport for my onward trip to Las Vegas, as I did not want to pay the $20 dollars daily parking charge for my 3 days in Los Angeles and was disappointed when the hotel shuttle bus would only take back to the departures, and the rental car shuttle is located at arrivals. For a first timer at the airport, finding the rental car location can be difficult

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the Ocean, but remember that this also overlooks the airport. Also excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnShashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Front Office Manager at Custom Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hello, JohnShashi:

Thank you so much for staying with us recently and for posting a review of your experience here on TripAdvisor.com! We truly appreciate your feedback!

First and foremost, I truly apologize for any delays you experienced with our shuttle pickup service from the airport. To be eco-friendly, we only service the LAX airport "on demand" when guests have collected their luggage from the airlines and are ready for pickup. I'm not sure what occured, but more often than not, the wait is long because we did not receive a call from you stating that you were ready for pickup.

Regarding the return to the airport for your rental car, our permit at LAX only allows us to pick-up/drop-off on certain levels of the airport. If we don't follow the rules, we could potentially lose our ability to operate an airport shuttle, which would negatively impact many of our guests. We truly regret any inconvenience this arrangement may have caused you but we hope you can understand that our hands are tied in this circumstance. Again, we apologize for any miscommunication regarding how our transportation service works.

We're glad to read that you found the hotel to be clean and that you enjoyed your accommodations and view. We're also glad to read that you enjoyed the service you received from our hard-working staff. It's heartwarming to read when members of our team go above-and-beyond to deliver great guest service. Rest assured, your kind words will be shared with the team.

We thank you for being our guest and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Custom Hotel the next time your worldly travels return you to Los Angeles!

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Hirsch
Front Office Manager
Custom Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#84 of 351 in Los Angeles
4,681 reviews
LAX Area
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
#69 of 351 in Los Angeles
527 reviews
Westside
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Westside
Travelodge Hotel LAX Los Angeles Intl
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Custom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Custom Hotel

Property: Custom Hotel
Address: 8639 Lincoln Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045-3503
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Custom Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom Hotel offers a unique lifestyle/boutique experience near LAX for both the leisure and business traveler. Highlights: Only 5-8 minutes from LAX, and close to beach cities including Santa Monica and Venice Beach • Renovated in late 2011 • Heated pool with cabanas, firepit and stadium-style sundeck • 6 unique social rooms • Dedicated shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am - call us for pickup). Location: Custom Hotel is conveniently located 3 miles (10-12 minutes) from Los Angeles International Airport and down the street from Loyola Marymount University and surrounded by the beach cities of Marina del Rey, Venice, Santa Monica, and Manhattan Beach (less than 7 miles from each beach). Easily accessible via the 10, 405 and 105 freeways, the hotel is 10-to-20 miles from Beverly Hills, Hollywood and Downtown Los Angeles. Services and Amenities: The Hotel features a heated outdoor pool with cabanas, complimentary dedicated airport shuttle to and from LAX (5am to 2am), a fireplace and stadium-style sundeck, and 6 unique social rooms. Hotel provides complimentary wireless internet access in the public space and guest rooms, two Mac computers in the lobby, laundry and dry cleaning service, and a two fitness rooms (weights and cardio). We offer valet parking with in and out services with a fee. [Street parking is available as a free alternative.] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Custom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custom Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing