We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of O Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
O Hotel
Ranked #139 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
San Gabriel, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The location was great! We walled every direction to various places like the LA Live, LA Courthouse (for the view from the 27th floor) and the Standard. Parking next door was convenient, continental breakfast was better than most, room was adequate but the bathroom was very small with no counter space. I would stay again for 1-2 nights but I would ask for a room in front for a view other than a block wall. Behind the hotel , in the alley, was a nice dance bar called Honey Cuts.

Room Tip: Only a couple of rooms in the front of the hotel have a view other than a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael1152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sy H, Director of Sales at O Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
it was a pleasure having you here at O Hotel. hope to see you soon and host you
much better than the first time. please let me know if i can be help in any way.
best regards
SY 213-784-3055 sy@ohotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    135
    123
    42
    18
See reviews for
37
114
49
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

From start to finish, and beyond, the staff (and in particular Chris who worked at reception when I checked in on 13th August 2014) were wonderfully helpful and service minded. Chris took plenty of time and effort to explain everything I asked about, from best seafood restaurants, to gyms, convention center, local transportation etc.
I was particularly impressed with the fact that, having left my annual travel card in my room when I moved to another hotel (in a different location), a few days later I received an envelope with my name - they had sent my lost card to me! That was incredible - thanks!!

Room Tip: Don't chose this hotel if you are looking for a wonderful view from your room. It's perfectl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldylock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sy H, Director of Sales at O Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
we are so happy and proud that you had a good time and experience with us at O Hotel.
hope to see you soon and please let me know if i can be help in any way.
SY 213-784-3055 sy@ohotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at some of the branded hotels surrounding the area before. It's a small little hotel but comfortable for a night or two. Not in a bad location either. They also offer access to the golds gym which is extremely cool if your looking for a good gym

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elkco2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I was in LA for one night only and booked this place last minute. It did the trick for 1 night but would not want to stay any longer. Rooms were clean but were also a little dingy. I was in town for business and I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank its_tuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Needed a place to stay in downtown L.A. at the last minute and thought I'd take a chance on the O Hotel. (Saw some decent reviews online) Not only was the hotel clean and comfortable, it was a little gem in the middle of the city! Not flashy. Not super luxurious, but a great find. It's a boutique hotel that has a nice atmosphere and a really friendly staff. There is a $14 a day fee, but it covers Wi-fi, bottles of water, breakfast and full access to the Gold's Gym just a block away! Parking right next door is $18 a day (compared to $42 a day at the Westin and surrounding hotels) Great location! Come good restaurants and shopping nearby. Walking distance to L.A. Live. For the price, you can't beat this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank w85131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sy H, Director of Sales at O Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
we are so happy and pleased that you liked your stay at O Hotel and hope to see you soon again.
please let me know if i can be any help next time.
SY 213-784-3055 sy@ohotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed at the O Hotel on a weekend. It is modern and chic in many respects and its green commitment is admirable. The lobby area is rather dark and not apparent when you enter the hotel from the street. Combined with the dim red lighting in the elevators and the dark hallways, the ambience is subdued, at best. The room itself was small, but nicely furnished in a minimalist style. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was OK, but quite small even for Europe. The view consisted of a grey concrete wall about five or six feet away that was rather depressing and not conducive to air circulation. A remote was required for the air conditioning that was not user friendly. The air conditioning unit on the wall worked well, but was too noisy for me to sleep and that is when the lack of fresh air through the window became a problem. Unfortunately, I could hear my upstairs neighbors talking into the wee hours of the morning, something that I would not expect in this price range. This hotel reminds me of a lesser cost hotel in Paris that might appeal to some. Given the options in the area, I could not imagine returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorcalWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Just be aware they will surcharge you if you want breakfast. Otherwise it's clean, modern and well located. It is also reasonably priced we paid $175 in May on a weekend. The Original Pantry cafe is a block away - skip the breakfast !

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
The Milner Hotel Downtown Los An...
#216 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#204 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#31 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#96 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#34 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Hotel

Property: O Hotel
Address: 819 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90017-4607 (Formerly Orchid Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O Hotel is an independent boutique hotel, featuring 67 modern rooms in a unique, historic setting. Built in 1925, The O was completely renovated in 2007, and now presents a warm, sophisticated experience, with a bit of vintage flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing