We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect spot for me!”
Review of O Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O Hotel
Ranked #137 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect spot for me!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I needed to be in LA for an art show and this was a perfect spot for me as a single woman.
Best is when I was so hungry, I got to eat right there with lovely food to nourish myself. I will stay there again!

Room Tip: I had no view and it didn't matter…I wasn't there for that. As a solo I didn't need much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizbeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    152
    143
    50
    20
See reviews for
43
136
53
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I was staying in this hotel for three days for a fun trip with my friend. My friend had the reservation but didn't have her card, so I put the room under my credit card. The next day, my friend put her credit card under the room to fix the issue. At the end of our stay, my friend checkout under her name to double check that they charge the correct credit card. Within two business days my card was charged $730.00. My friend call the O Hotel to fix the issue again. Two business days later they charge my account $589.69. I finally called them to resolve the issue and discovered they charge both my friend and myself $589.69 each. Grand total of $1,179.38. Seriously??!! The front desk didn't know what was going on. The communication at the hotel is horrible. I would never stay in that hotel ever again. The best thing about the hotel is the TV. The bed was not comfortable and the showers had mildew. They serviced our room once and we had to ask for towels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2013


I stayed the first time based on location and price

I would stay again based on service

PROS

1. Service

All the staff and seemed genuinely happy to be working there. Knowledgeable and helpful, especially Chris the concierge

2. Location

Perfect access to everything I needed



CONS

1. Unexpected "resort fee"

I was quite happy to pay $14 a day for Wi-Fi and Golds Gym access

Still, if I had been on a tighter budget, I might've been annoyed when told after check about this extra fee


2. Noise

Ironically, because of the new bar in the basement, the street facing rooms are probably quieter

Every night, I was awoken around 3 AM when the downstairs bar is closed

I think they could offer further discounts on alley side rooms, or at least warn folks

Better yet, give us a free drink coupon so we can join the fun for a nightcap :)



  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TokyoVince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is my second time staying in LA and I wasn’t keen to stay in downtown again. The O hotel surprised me and showed me that downtown isn’t as scary as people think. We arrived early and we were able to get into our room straight away. We read previous reviews which said the rooms were small but there is plenty of room! The showers are small and they go get water everywhere but that isn’t really an issue. They give you really nice bath products, not your standard soaps.

The hotel itself is actually beautiful and the restaurant is fantastic. The food each morning is perfect if you just want to get some energy before your big day starts. There are a lot of different food options around from the IHOP across the road to stunning roof top restaurants.

We were close to buses and trains and were able to get wherever we needed to go. We got a cab to LAX and it was about $60.

This is a beautiful hotel and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller-Jes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Positives: location, trendy decor, free gym access to golds gym, good customer service.

Negatives: weird smell, maybe sewer problems, but the entire hotel smelled horrible. At one point their only elevator stopped working. Lastly, no hotel parking. Parking in the garage next door is $20 a day for in/out access.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alessandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My stay here was great, It was my first trip to LA and after a 14 hour flight from Australia I arrived at the hotel a lot earlier than check in time, Early Check in was no hassle and super easy. Christopher at the front desk was fantastic and helped with any question I could ask. The room was clean and modern and had everything I needed, the only downside was one night there was a load droning noise that went on for a few hours but after that It got a lot quieter and I didn't hear it again, but the super comfortable bed and pillows make up for that. It was a short walk to walt disney concert hall and getting to hollywood was easy enough. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Level Contributor
259 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

When my friend wanted to stay at the O Hotel near Staples Center, I was shocked that I had never heard of it. Apparently there was a relatively recent name/ownership change. It is pretty small (5 floors), nestled between buildings in a pretty busy block. The location could be near perfection for some, which is one of the reasons I feel it is over priced by about 20%. It is 2 blocks from Staples Center, a block from Macys, Ralphs and the Los Angeles Metro and 2 blocks from Target. The rooms are well sound proofed, based on the fact that I had a Flower Street facing room and hardly knew I was on a busy street. Additionally, I heard little activity from rooms on my floor. Speaking of rooms, they are small. The bathrooms are even more unacceptably small. If you're one person, they rooms are fine. Two or more people will be bumping into each other. They are now affiliated with a boutique/small hotel chain frequent guest program called Stash. They are part of a larger network of hotels, but the locations are hit or miss (for example a lot of properties in California, few in Arizona and Georgia). The one area I feel was completely lacking for a hotel in this price point was the aggressive hospitality one would expect from a hotel charging around $200/night. I've recently stayed at The Westin Bonaventure (read revue), and for about the same amount of money as here, I feel the Bonaventure had better rooms (view), guest stay options and definitely better customer service. You expect a hotel with 1,000 rooms (Bonaventure) to miss the mark when it comes to good customer service and a smaller property to really pay attention to the details of your stay. That was the opposite here. I didn't feel recognized at all and the few staff seem to go about their work as if you're not a part of their job.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viking94708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#34 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,136 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#33 of 351 in Los Angeles
241 reviews
Downtown
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
#79 of 351 in Los Angeles
407 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#91 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Hotel

Property: O Hotel
Address: 819 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90017-4607 (Formerly Orchid Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O Hotel is an independent boutique hotel, featuring 67 modern rooms in a unique, historic setting. Built in 1925, The O was completely renovated in 2007, and now presents a warm, sophisticated experience, with a bit of vintage flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing