We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice gettaway downtown and great service”
Review of O Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
O Hotel
Ranked #163 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent three nights in the O hotel and it was really nice. Great location for downtown area, mant nice restaurants just around the corner. The staff is very friendly and helpful. So ask them for good places to go. Compared to San Fransisco or NYC, downtown LA is not much. However, we liked it! Good fun for à day and plenty of parkingspace for only 12 dollars à day (nextdoor of the hotel.
The hotel is à good 'hub' from where you can visit other areas like Hollywood or santa Monica beach.
The only downside: breakfast is the same every day...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 476 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Walking distance to Staples/Convention Center. Cute boutique hotel but DON'T expect it to be spacious! Room is small, bathroom is a "closet". Building is older so a/c is just a stand alone unit in each room (no air in the halls so can feel stuffy/hot). Spa, fitness room, restaurant/bar on site! Close to downtown & many shopping/restaurant opportunities. Staff was always friendly & helpful!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carisha2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Bottom Line: I'd stay here again. The longer story: I really liked this hotel. It's right downtown by the Staples Center, and is a great value for the location. The rooms are pretty small, I stayed in the queen deluxe room which is probably not enough room for two, but I didn't spend much time in the room anyway. The bathroom also has this weird sliding glass door, so there's not much privacy for more than one person. The staff was very friendly and helpful and there's a great bar/restaurant on the first floor. I saw some other reviews mention the $14 daily charge on the bill, they explained this to me when I checked in so it wasn't a surprise, but I think if they just increased the price by $14 and did away with the extra charge it would be better received. I also saw some other reviews mention the showerhead being strange. It's strange. But I managed to get it angle down and not just spray straight into my face, so I won't count that against this place. One great perk was that there's free access to the Gold's Gym around the corner. There's a small fitness center on site but having the gym nearby was a nice luxury. The only con I'd say is that there's no pool, but it's a small hotel so that's understandable. The beds are really comfortable and the TV is a smart TV. There's lighting under the bed, which was cool. It's a small place, only 5 floors I think, so there's no great views, but again, I didn't spend much time in the room so it was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Perfect when visiting the convention center which is within walking distance. Also there are a lot of restaurants and supermarkets in the neighborhood.
The hotel have a bar and small restaurant on the ground floor. The burger was nice and reasonably priced.
Free wifi in the room with login.
Not much of a view from the room. (Alley wall)
Woke up from some construction one morning, but that can always happen in a city.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanononi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a work conference. I found the rooms small but very comfortable and clean, the restaurant served excellent food, staff were friendly and the filter coffee machine was very handy for the first morning cup. There was also an iPod dock which saved me needing to buy a universal plug to charge my phone. The breakfast was small but adequate with plenty of diners nearby if you want something more substantial. One downside was the wifi speed which made working from the room a little difficult, but fine for a holiday connection.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadeInAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was the 1st hotel we stopped in on a trip to LA, LV and SF. The cost of a taxi from LAX was just over $50 and took about 20mins. Good 1st impression. Pleasant desk staff. Red light in lift..buy hey its LA! Had booked 2 queen rooms without a view so knew that we would get a wall but was not expecting the room to be decorated in black. Lights had to be on even during daylight hours and was quite oppressive. The ensuite was functional and modern. The round stone sink was nice but not designed to have a plug so you could not fill a basin of water and due to the constraint on space there was no space to lay out your toiletries. The shower was nice and powerful. Housekeeping came everyday and were very efficient. The continental breakfast was very nice with plenty of fresh pastries and juice which was included in the price of the room. one of the best thing about this hotel is its location, just a block from 7th Street Metro with its easy access to all of LA.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracy1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Staff is great. Special thanks to Christopher S.!!
Pleasant, convenient, lovely,
Not very elegant but friendly and nice.
Close to the historic district.
Located at downtown.
Too many words are required by the advisor for a pleasant, simple review....

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aliza338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Freehand Los Angeles
Freehand Los Angeles
#91 of 358 in Los Angeles
79 reviews
The Mayfair Hotel
#241 of 358 in Los Angeles
523 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#64 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,369 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#111 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Hotel

Address: 819 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90017-4607 (Formerly Orchid Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $199 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O Hotel is an independent boutique hotel, featuring 67 modern rooms in a unique, historic setting. Built in 1925, The O was completely renovated in 2007, and now presents a warm, sophisticated experience, with a bit of vintage flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing