We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
O Hotel
Ranked #139 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
La Verne, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel. Both Chris and Joe (at the desk) were extremely accommodating and engaged with us as guests. Our dealings with Joe were more than pleasant. Both times we were guests, Joe recommended restaurants at LA Live that he enjoyed as a customer. When he learned it was my birthday, he made arrangements to have a slice of cheesecake delivered to our room, with a wish for a good birthday from him and the hotel. Some of the larger hotels could take a lesson from your hospitality. You can be assured we will be returning customers!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin_O_Hotel, Director of Sales at O Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello,

It's always a pleasure to hear that our staff has gone the extra mile for our guests. Chris and Joe, as well as the rest of our team, love any opportunity to put a smile on the face of those who stay with us, and I'm glad they were able to do so for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The O Hotel in the near future!

Warm regards,

Erin Holness
Director of Sales and Marketing
The O Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    148
    139
    48
    20
See reviews for
42
132
51
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We just got back from a LA trip staying at O hotel. The location is central to a lot of transit and it's very convenient. The room was big and clean. but I felt the elevator and hallway was a bit dark. and there were way too many switches in the room to control all the different lighting. Joe at the morning frontdesk is fabulous and give excellent information and suggestions.

Commute to Disneyland: No. 460 bus stop directly outside hotel $2.90 one way. unfortunately, halfway through the trip, once it gets to Norwalk, the bus goes on local streets, so better plan for a 2 hr commute. (Knotts Berry Farm is also along this bus route) (coming back from Disneyland at night is a 1.5 hr commute and get off at 7th and Figueroa)

Commute to Hollywood: 1 block walk to 7th street and flower metro station. $1.50 one way, take the red line to Hollywood and Highland. (Universal studio is one stop after)

Commute to LAX: take the metro red line to Union Station at 7th street and flower for $1.50 one way. Go up to street level, Bay 9 take LAX flyaway shuttle bus, $7 per person.

Commute to Santa Monica beaches, pier, shopping district: 2 block walk to 8th and Grand, take the Big Blue Bus $2.00 one way. about 45mins bus ride. get off at final stop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin_O_Hotel, Director of Sales at O Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts in regards to your stay at The O (and for sharing the transit directions)! It's great to see that our guests are utilizing public transportation, as we are so close to the hub of public transportation in Downtown LA. I have passed on your comments to Joe as well, and he appreciates the positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The O Hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,

Erin Holness
Director of Sales and Marketing
The O Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked a substantial block of rooms here for a wedding and were promised a 25% discount if guests booked before a given deadline. But guests quickly discovered that the price they got was barely better than the price advertised on the hotel website for ordinary guests. Why? Because on any given day the actual rates they advertise and charge are, officially speaking, discounted between 10% and 20% off some imaginary "full" rate that, in practice, they never charge anyone. So our people were getting 25% not off the rate they would have gotten had they booked without the wedding discount, but off the imaginary "full" rate; which means that, in reality, the 25% discount was more like a 4% or 5% discount off of what they could have gotten just walking in off the street. Prior to arriving to the hotel, at least two guests called and e-mailed the hotel to get precise quotes on what their rates would be; e-mails were not replied to, and the people reached on the phone could never answer the question or find the reservation. It was like the William H Macy scene in "Fargo." And then finally, on top of all that, the final bills were larded with a $12 DAILY "Service Charge - Add-On" which, according to the contract, relates to things like the concierge service, daily newspaper, Wifi, gym, etc. - in other words, things they advertise as benefits of the hotel and that you would assume were included in the price.
Having said all that, it is a nice enough place as long as you get one of the rooms with a window that doesn't face a brick wall. It is very well located for a stay in Downtown LA, and the price you eventually wind up paying isn't terrible for a cute non-chain hotel in downtown (over a 9 night stay, all taxes and fees included, the price averaged $181/night, with the "wedding discount", for a room whose window looked at a brick wall). But the frankly deceptive billing practices did leave a sour taste in our mouth.

Room Tip: Pay more for a room whose window doesn't face a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This small "boutique" style hotel in downtown Los Angeles was a very pleasant surprise. The 2 desk clerks, we dealt with, Chris and Joe, could not have been more accommodating. While service is something you hope for, friendliness does not necessarily come with it. In this case, it did. They both went out of their way to not only assist our business needs, but to enhance our personal enjoyment of a city we were visiting for the first time. I will definitely add this to my "must stay" when I return to LA.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin_O_Hotel, Director of Sales at O Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hello David,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us regarding your stay at The O. Chris and Joe would like to say thank you for your kind thoughts as well!
Above all else, we take pride in the genuine love of hospitality that our team exudes. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm Regards,

Erin Holness
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our check in took two minutes, even though we were walk-ins without a reservation.

Upon going up to our room, and noticing that the AC was loud, we called the reception and were immediately upgraded to a suite with a better-operating AC unit.

Love the simple yet chic decor, as well as the experimental Google TVs in the rooms.

Way to go, O Hotel! Amazing staff and a property we will definitely recommend to others!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UmTareq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and me stayed at the O hotel on september 2011. We were advised not to stay around downtown area but after a two week trip we found this hotel to be a perfect choice for our budget. I was really impressed when we entered, I totally loved the decoration and the vibe of the lobby! The room was also very modern and clean, a little small but it didn´t matter to us.

The bed was very comfy and clean, the gym area is a little bit small but I was told I could go to the Gold´s gym. We had a car so access to subway and/or bus wasn´t important to us, but I noticed that in L.A. it is hard to get around the city without a car (I asked the front desk if we could get to Disney´s concert hall by foot or bus and apparently there isn´t a bus that would take us directly to it) so we decided to drive.

One minor con: the parking lot is EXPENSIVE! but that´s L.A., not the hotel

The breakfast was included and was ok..bagels, coffee and jam...just be careful with the bagels! It didn´t say what kind of bagel it was and after I took a bite (with cream cheese and strawberry jam) I realized it was ONION AND HERBS! hahaha I certainly do not recommend that combination!

The hotel is very close to a Subway (as in sub of ham and cheese) and an Ihop which was convenient, and there were other restaurants nearby so I liked the location.

I would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carogza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I found the hotel to be run-down and noisy and the staff not accomodating. I knew I was in trouble when I got off the elevator and there was no a/c (on a very hot day) in the hallway. The room was small, which was ok, but it also seemed dank and dirty. I don't think the management has spent any money on the hotel since it opened. The linens, etc. were threadbare and the carpet was dirty. The kind of place where you don't take off your shoes until you go to bed. Expecially the bathroom, which seemed permanently dirty. The television only had about 8 channels and the a/c turns itself off after a few minutes. The a/c units are in the wall like those cheap hotels you see in Europe. There was no view from the window. Just a dirty brick wall with trash thrown on the sills. The wifi in the room didn't work and be aware that you get no cell service inside the building. Kept having to go out on the street to use my phone. Really??

There must be no sound-proofing between floors. You can hear the folks upstairs clomping around as well as every door opening and closing on your floor.

The staff, what little there was, was what I would describe as "disinterested". There is no bellcap or concierage. Just a scruffy guy sitting at the desk playing Words With Friends on his phone. There are a million great hotels in L.A. I should have stayed at one of my regular places but I thought I'd take a chance and try something new. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#89 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#217 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#32 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#8 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#39 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Hotel

Property: O Hotel
Address: 819 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90017-4607 (Formerly Orchid Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O Hotel is an independent boutique hotel, featuring 67 modern rooms in a unique, historic setting. Built in 1925, The O was completely renovated in 2007, and now presents a warm, sophisticated experience, with a bit of vintage flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing