We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking Distance to Staples Center”
Review of O Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
O Hotel
Ranked #141 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Oceanside, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Walking Distance to Staples Center”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights after a trip to Mexico and to allow us to walk to the Bob Seger concert at Staples, super comfortable beds, modern decorating and a nice size refrigerator. Could not have been happier with the place, for the money you won't get a nicer hotel room in downtown LA. Parking garage right next door and lots of restaurants in walking distance..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    151
    144
    50
    21
See reviews for
44
136
53
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We chose this place because its only about three blocks away from the Staples Center, where we had concert tickets to see Katy Perry. We stayed one night, and the only complaint I have is the shower and bathroom. SInce this is a very modern designed hotel, our bathroom had a sliding "fog" glass door separating itself from the rest of the bedroom. It didn't feel as private as I would have liked. Also, the shower is small, without a door or curtain. If you tend to take long showers, beware of the excess water created on the ground, which will fall into the remainder of the bathroom floor. There's only a small step dividing the shower floor from the rest. I thought that was strange.

Anyway, enough with the negatives. Aside from the bathroom, we enjoyed the bedroom very much. Its spacious enough for two people (King Size), with enough drawers and closet space for luggage. The bed is comfy and soft. We lucked out and had a nice window view of the city too. Score! There is a bar/restaurant downstairs, but we didn't have a chance to check it out.

If we ever come to this LA area again, we'd most likely book this hotel again.

ps...This hotel is also located a short driving distance from The Walt Disney Music Hall:)

Room Tip: Park in the parking garage next door (directly left of the hotel). It's $11 flat rate fee. Be pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLover322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed here because we wanted to be close to the Staple Center to go watch the Kings game,we booked 3 months in advance and when we got there they didn't have 1 of the two rooms we booked so we had to sit and wait until they got it all sorted out and then they still gave us a room that we didn't want we needed 2 Queens,they gave us 1 King,it was a complete joke at check in.The rooms were the size of a shoe box and beds were hard.The only thing good about this place is the bar.This Hotel is in the location with the seedy people just hanging out 2 doors down by the Subway Sandwich Shop.It is not a area you want to be out late in

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LV_Kev009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_C_Asst_Mgr, Director of Sales at O Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Hello LV_Kev009,

We're sorry to hear your experience wasn't what you expected. In terms of your room, we do our best to have all rooms available by the 3pm check in. If a guest attempts to check in before that or turn over is high the night before, we try to either give you a comparable room or a complimentary upgrade (in this case a Flower King Room).

We are a boutique hotel in Downtown Los Angeles (Financial District), our rooms are just under 300sqft. Boutique hotels tend to be this way, I apologize for any confusion when booking with this hotel type. We do our best to listen to the concerns of our guests, the beds for the most part are well received but we will log this comment and look into the comments of the beds as a whole.

Otherwise, we are glad you had a good experience with our restaurant and bar: bar | kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at the O hotel, October 16-18th. Staff was helpful, rooms were clean, the bar was lively, and the internet was fast. A list of local restaurants with menus in the lobby would have been helpful, but we managed. i would recommend it for anyone looking to stay near the civic center in LA.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if available. Join their Stash hotel frequent traveler group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyPhan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_C_Asst_Mgr, Director of Sales at O Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Hello ChimneyCrest0,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We'd like you to know we listened to your suggestion and started a packet in the lobby as well as updated the one in the rooms.

Thank you for your suggestion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was our second stay at The O Hotel and it was awesome. It's a take off on the W Hotel chain or any modern boutique hotel. The staff and service are good. The manager Joe recomended a brunch restaurant called Little Dom's that was amazing. It is right near Griffith Park. The lobby has a nice relaxed feel and the food and drinks in the restaurant & bar are excellent. This time we did a room with a view of Flower street. It was very nice to have daylight and a view of the street below. The last time we stayed in an inside room that faced a cinder block wall. Interesting !!! But the comforts of the room made up for it. There is a great Mediterranean restaurant 2 blocksaway called Panini Cafe thats very reasonable, nice outdoor seating and great food. The Blue Jam cafe has the most interesting breakfast / brunch items ever. It's a 20 min drive in West Hollywood. Love the O Hotel -

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Nice but small rooms, more European in style. The staff was extremely helpful. Their small restaurant was actually great!

Room Tip: Clean rooms, more European in size. Bathroom sliding door is a poor design, but workable. Desk hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is quite lovely. Nice rooms and fantastic staff! For the price, you can't really beat it. However, a few warnings: 1) Don't waste your money on a CITY VIEW room. All you see is a building in front of you, not a city view. Plus it's really, really loud. 2) They have a hidden $12 service fee charge for things like "complimentary water." Usually, complimentary means free. So make sure and add $12 to whatever their rate is to not be surprised by how much you are actually paying. Their staff is some of the most competent and nice i have dealt with in a very long time and for a continuous traveler like me, this is a crucial part of a good stay. i would stay here again if i am in the area.

Room Tip: Steer clear of the "city view" rooms. There is no view and the rooms are crazy noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justanameOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#46 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,196 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 350 in Los Angeles
724 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#68 of 350 in Los Angeles
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#96 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,236 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
#81 of 350 in Los Angeles
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Hotel

Property: O Hotel
Address: 819 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90017-4607 (Formerly Orchid Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O Hotel is an independent boutique hotel, featuring 67 modern rooms in a unique, historic setting. Built in 1925, The O was completely renovated in 2007, and now presents a warm, sophisticated experience, with a bit of vintage flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing