We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Blind date! Poor first impression, but after third/fourth date, would go out again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Los Angeles Century City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Los Angeles Century City
Ranked #20 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Blind date! Poor first impression, but after third/fourth date, would go out again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I rarely ever stay at an Intercontinental-seems like a dated chain! But when I had to stay in a hotel in Century City for a week, decided to test it out, after staying at the Hyatt many times. Was looking for a park and stay rate, but neither offered one. Other than that, base rate very similar. I decided to join Ambassador, figuring I'd like the comp upgrade, internet, water, etc, since I'm staying for a week, Requested early check in. Figured a 2p check in wouldn't be difficult, as a VIP-the front desk couldn't accommodate my early check in, even though the lobby wasn't busy or crowded. Didn't seem like much was going on! No one seemed to be paying attention to my request to check in early. Finally, I initiated a request, and told them I had to leave to make an appt, which I did. Finally, after fussing, they let me check in after 3p. After that I received two
separate phone calls, asking if my room had been cleaned? Then I ordered room service, which
was quite good, far superior to Hyatt. But after that, trying to rest and chill, I had two people
knocking on my door, when my privacy sign was on, one phone call from room service, trying to
deliver food again, and I was trying to sleep that whole time! Could you please get with the program???
After the annoying and not so accommodating check in, I had a very positive stay. Manicure at
spa was great, valet, pretty good, upgraded room, quite nice, but in all fairness, feel that the hotel
is dated and needs a redo.
But excellent, quiet location, nice lobby, public spaces. And decent service! After all that, I would stay again!

Room Tip: Joining Ambassador is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keentraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    511
    201
    62
    35
See reviews for
360
445
106
385
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have stayed here previously and the property now really needs refreshing. The bathrooms are tired and lacking the extra detail that I expect in this brand......moldy shower doors and missing caulking............cracked sink............certainly not expected. I am a Platinum Ambassador member and was not recognized and did not receive my fruit plate etc without having to ask several time. It seems all the investment has been in the lobby and meeting room area and i am sure they live well off the conferences. But when using my points.......its hard to beat!

Room Tip: If you get a deluxe suite make sure it is not a corner room as they are small and cramped..........h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Los Angeles Century City, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear malcolm h,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate issues with the room, and your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, and continued loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club member.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My new wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon after flying in from Australia. When we got there an irate guest was complaining in a very loud fashion at the front desk. He was yelling so loud I was like “what a rude guy.” Nope. Valid. We had just flown for almost an entire day and really just wanted a shower and to get something to eat when we got there. It was well after we were supposed to check in so we though no problem, shower and grab dinner at a nice restaurant. The front desk then told us our room wouldn’t be ready for hours, plural. My wife was upset at this as it was already over three hours after we were supposed to check in. The receptionist as completely unapologetic and made a snide remark or two before sending us to wait on one of the couches. We sat and waited with the steamed guest who kept saying to himself how ridiculous it was. Eventually, after about half an hour, we started talking. Turns out he had reserved ten rooms for a business conference and all of his clients had left because the rooms weren’t available. It was so bad he was afraid he might lose his job.

Finally we got to our room. A wheel chair room. The bathroom was ridiculous. It had handicapped fixtures everywhere and it was hard to take a shower due to the placement of all the fixtures. When you are over six foot and it’s designed for someone who is sitting down, showering is an adventure. I literally (not figuratively) had to almost get on my knees to wash my hair.

Well you probably get the idea by now. The service was horrible all around. Good luck if you want them to get you a cab. Good luck with room service. Good luck with a fast checkout.

Calling this place a five star (we had just stayed at a five star in Atlanta, Fiji, Sydney, and Cairns) is like calling dog poo a filet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsLAXHA, Dir of Room Operations at InterContinental Los Angeles Century City, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Mike T,,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your most valuable feedback. It's comments like yours that help us grow. We are constantly seeking feedback to help us improve both our product and levels of service. Please accept my apologies for your less than perfect experience. I want you to know we take our service levels very seriously and your experience has been escalated to the Executive Office. I would love the opportunity to communicate with you on as many details as possible. I have sent you a private message to contact me directly. Thank you again and I look forward to our future correspondence.

Sincerely,

Dir of Room Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a lovely and convenient place to stay in Century City, close by to Beverly Hills, Westwood, and reasonably close to LAX. All the service is first-rate, as you’d expect in the very best hotels. My room was immaculate, and I would stay here again.

I reserved a basic room (at a price just under top Beverly Hills hotels). When I arrived, I was told that even without my asking, they upgraded me to a small suite. There were 2 separate rooms, separated by a pair of veiled French doors. The outer room had a large sofa, armchair, coffee table, desk and chair, with its own small balcony large enough for a small table and chairs.

The bedroom had a king-sized bed. There was another, separate small balcony for the bedroom. One thing they did right: outlets. As every really frequent traveller knows, some of the fanciest hotels appear to have outlets only on the wall behind the immobile bed. There were 3-prong outlets available behind each of the bed tables and next to the dresser. The bed tables were thoughtfully placed about 4 inches from the wall, so I did not have to move the furniture the way I usually do in a hotel room. The room wasn’t perfect. The hotel thoughtfully provided a clock radio. But the mattress was 4 inches higher than the top of the table it was on. So I couldn’t read the clock from my side of the mattress. And, note to hotel management, please rotate your mattresses. The side near the bathroom sagged much more than the other side. The bathroom was large, with a separate bathtub and stand-up, if tight, shower. All the amenities are provided.

Be warned, there is one bank of elevators for a big hotel. The elevators were fast, but the walk to many of the rooms is really, really long.

I didn’t have the opportunity to eat more than once. I had a perfectly delicious hamburger with really good truffle fries and an excellent fresh salad. Service was great in the bar. I would have eaten in the otherwise empty restaurant, but the officious maitre’d made me feel completely unwelcome when I asked to see a menu.

Good job on the televisions, too. There's a flat screen TV in both rooms of the suite. The remote, as expected, is one that emphasizes the channels and movies you have to pay for. But to watch free TV, I just had to press channel up on the remote. A few were high def, most were not. There was an HBO channel that received no signal during my stay. Unlike my stays at several other luxury hotels, I did NOT have to navigate through endless premium-payment choices (movies, pay -per-view, porn) just to watch the local news. This is older, better technology. Thanks! It would have been nice to get a channel guide, and even nicer to be able to get a programming guide channel, but I found neither if they existed at all. For those who are interested, and since there was no programming or channel guide, there are channels in Spanish and Chinese and Japanese, and several channels in Arabic and maybe Farsi. There might have been others. Don't expect to get most basic-cable channels, however.

And a big, big compliment to the hotel for working climate control. When I was there for this visit to L.A., it was foggy with high humidity. The long, long walk to my room left me sweaty. It was 73F [22C] in the room. I set the thermostat to 64F [18C], and within moments, the air conditioner came on, with cold air and filtration pulling the humidity out of the air. Both rooms were comfortable within 15 minutes. This is impossible, for example, at the W hotel in Westwood, where their antiquated climate system is not able to do this.

I had one service problem, and one general hotel complaint. When I walked in to the hotel lobby from the entrance, my lungs seized up. The nauseating floral perfume air-freshener smell was overpowering. Ironically, the lobby had beautiful fresh flowers. This was not a quirk, and it was just as much of a shock every time I entered the hotel. When I went to my room, it too had the overpowering smell of floral air freshener. I walked the very long way back to the elevator and went to the front desk. Politely, I asked that an engineer be sent to my room to turn off the automatic air freshener. The desk person said, “Oh no, sir, we don’t have any automatic air fresheners.” I was thinking that perhaps she had lost her sense of smell in a horrible childhood illness, since she was working in a lobby that had a perfume smell much stronger than any perfume or soap store. I gently insisted, she repeatedly said there was nothing she could do about a problem that doesn’t exist. Begrudgingly, she phones housekeeping to turn off the automatic air freshener. They said..., not problem, they will turn off the automatic air freshener right away. The automatic air freshener that the front desk clerk insisted did not exist. By the time I got back to my room, the smell was gone. This story is partially about a failure of training, partially about not listening to the guest.

WiFi is $12.95 a day (3/2013) and it works. Parking is $36 a day.

Hold your breath as you dash through the lobby to the elevators. The smell makes it difficult to wait in the lobby or meet someone there. Note to management: it’s unpleasant, change it.

Room Tip: Get a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler2542b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsLAXHA, Dir of Room Operations at InterContinental Los Angeles Century City, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear 2542b,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to learn you enjoyed your overall stay and the Hotel's offerings. You provided great detailed information that allows us to celebrate our successes and improve upon our areas of opportunity. My deepest apologies regarding the guestroom scent. Your recommendation has been taken under consideration. For the guestrooms, we are working to provide a neutral/crisp scent. Thank you again and we look forward to servicing you again on your next visit to Los Angeles.

Sincerely,

Dir of Room Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went to LA for the weekend, and rather than staying at the usual spots, decided to see what deals I could find through Priceline's Hotel Pro application on my iOS device. I was given a price and shown the 4 or 5 hotels it would most likely be, and decided to pull the trigger and see what I got. I was immediately booked into the Intercontinental, and was happy about the choice, as I had previously stayed here before when it was the Park Hyatt years ago, and really enjoy the Intercontinental in San Francisco.

When we arrived at the hotel, I was pleasantly surprised at the luxury of the lobby, bar, and lounge areas. There was a wedding reception going on, so there was music playing loudly from that side of the lobby, but besides that, the valet service was fast, and the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Disappointment set in after that.

As we got to the elevators, we noticed that the elevators did not have the polish that the lobby did - the wood was worn, and there were noticeable blemishes and scratches throughout. We made our way up to our floor and as soon as the elevator doors opened, was immediately hit by a wave of stale cigarette smoke. Thinking it was an overzealous wedding attendee that had to have a smoke in the room, we proceeded down the twisty hallway to our room, only to find that the entire floor smelled the same way. It was like being in an old Reno hotel (Vegas hotels are much better at covering smoke these days). Once we got into the room, there was another smell, like a carpet cleaner that was too strong. As my fiance is very sensitive to smells, we immediately called down to the front desk to see if we could get a room change.

When we went downstairs to talk to the front desk, they were very gracious, but tried putting us into a room on the same floor as that was the only floor with a king sized bed available (really?). We accepted a room with 2 full beds instead and immediately were issued new keys and a new room.

On the way up, I was expecting the same experience, but as soon as we got to the floor, it had absolutely no noticeable scent. The room turned out to be an upgrade as there was a small office space that was separated from the room completely, but the room fixtures and furniture were all very old and outdated. The bathroom was alright, but could have been more brightly lit. Although there were no smells on this floor, the hallway did have some painters tape in certain spots holding wallpaper up, which was odd.

The bed was comfortable, and each room has a k-cup machine which was nice. There is a 32" LCD tv which is fine, but many hotels have larger screens these days. Called housekeeping to get some extra shampoo but they never came, which was a strike against housekeeping.

Overall, the stay was good - valet service was fast and the staff was polite. The location is good - you can avoid the 10 freeway by taking Pico or Olympic towards downtown, and you're within walking distance to the Westfield Century City Mall. There are great restaurants within walking distance and the hotel has a pool and spa (but I didn't indulge this time). Would I come back? Sure, if I get the same price again, but I wouldn't pay the rack rates or special rates on the website - check for deals - and hopefully the hotel will go through a full renovation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was my second time staying here, this time for pleasure. I got a great price on a king deluxe suite and the room was very nice. The suite itself was great, plenty of room and very comfy. Yes, if you want to be very picky the rooms need to be updated a little but nothing bad. The bathroom and bedroom were in great shape with newer furniture. The only bad thing that caught my eye was the baseboards need to be replaced. The service was great, as expected from an Intercon property. Yes, valet is $38, but that is about standard anywhere in LA.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxbizman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I made the mistake to book a two week business stay at this horrible establishment. Despite its lobby and the plush outlook, this is only the "window" to old and neglected interiors, even in the suite I was upgraded to. Everything was falling apart, stains on the carpet, a bathroom designed in the sixties and the brilliant idea of installing the noisy minibar in the bedroom, so you won't be able to sleep. The magnificent view of a vacant parking lot, stained my memory for weeks. Equally depressing was the bare balcony with terribly aging and drab garden furniture. The room service I used frequently (as a writer I stayed in working) is rudimentary and fit for a motel. But the quintessence of rudeness was displayed by a bell boy who brought my luggage down at check-out. I handed him a $5 note which he regarded with disgust, never said "thank you," then he pointed at the valet who had brought my car and said "aren't you going to tip this guy?"
If you like motel-style operations masquerading as four star hotels, book your next stay at the Intercontinental, Los Angeles.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsLAXHA, Dir of Room Operations at InterContinental Los Angeles Century City, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Nico M.,
I would like the opportunity to discuss with you your recent stay at our Hotel. We welcome all of our guests feedback in an effort to improve. The ability to provide premium levels of service is one we take great pride in. I want to assure you this matter is taken seriously and has been shared with the Executive Office. I sent you a private message to contact me directly. Thank you again for your time and I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Dir of Room Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Beverly Hills - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Mr. C Beverly Hills
Mr. C Beverly Hills
#26 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Los Angeles Century City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Los Angeles Century City

Property: InterContinental Los Angeles Century City
Address: 2151 Avenue of the Stars, Los Angeles, CA 90067-5004 (Formerly Park Hyatt Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#60 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Los Angeles Century City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Los Angeles Century City is a taste of true Hollywood style. Our convenient Westside address is within walking distance of 20th Century Fox Studios, MGM Tower, Beverly Hills Rodeo Drive and upscale shopping at Westfield Century City. A quick drive will take you to the Getty Center, Los Angeles city centre, UCLA or the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Los Angeles Century City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Los Angeles Century City Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing